We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like it used to be-what a shame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Chateau de Cocove
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recques-sur-Hem
kent
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be-what a shame”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I have been coming to this hotel on our way back through Europe for 9 years now and were extremely disappointed this year. We chose not to stay as I have long believed the rooms overpriced in the main but we always have dinner here as the food has always been fantastic and accompanied by lovely service. Not so in October 2011. We ordered drinks at the bar and a bottle of wine. When we went to our table for dinner we had to ask after 15 mins and finally getting the staffs attention would they bring our wine. It didn't bode well. What a huge disappointment. The food was nothing like the usual standard and quality i wonder what has changed? This really was a favourite of ours. I sincerely hope the owners read these reviews and take note.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peanut2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    169
    76
    46
    20
See reviews for
57
305
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London England
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We were looking for a night away and wanted somewhere close to Calais that was a bit more than just a room and Le Chateau de Cocove fits the bill.

We stayed here in October so it was a bit chilly to sit outside in the late afternoon but it was so pleasant and picturesque that we decided to enjoy a bottle of champagne while we chased the setting sun around the courtyard – that was a giggle as first we moved our table then other guests followed and that went on several times until the sun disappeared and we all gave up.

The Chateau is typically “Old French” its decor is a bit dated, its rooms a bit small and its corridors a bit cold but you know as you walk through the door it has history – including family tragedy and Germans building fortified bunkers under the lawn during WWII.

The outside is nicely maintained with a walled herb garden and a large lawn area. You will find rabbits and chickens running around the grounds. Our room was on the ground floor – it was a little musty when we first arrived so we don’t think it had been used recently, but once the heating was on it was cosy and inviting if a little small! The shower room was a good size with a very nice walk in shower and plenty of hot water. The food was very good as was the choice of wine. Talking of which there is a wine cellar which if you ask nicely they will open up so you can look around.

In summary, an enjoyable night away in an old French Chateau - yes it was not perfect but if you don’t go expecting too much you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Have stayed here several times and always enjoyed it. Room 17 is our favourite.

Room Tip: Room 17 overlooks the garden, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Stayed for a birthday trip for 3 nights in December. Can't agree with any of the previous negative comments. We had an enormous sunny well decorated deluxe room on the first floor above the entrance with nice view of the grounds. The bathroom is a little tired compared to the bedroom, all functions fine though. The staff were all extremely pleasant and professional, not surly, it all felt typically French, we were the only English people there for 2 nights which suits us fine.
The food was very good especially the monkfish in honey, timbale of crayfish, scallops and the chicken. We ate from all 3 menus and enjoyed it all but I imagine it could feel a little repetitive if staying for longer. We thought the cheapest menu at 28euro represented the best value. Breakfast was the usual fare in France, croissants, cheese, ham, fruit etc, a little more variety could be offered but for 3 days this was fine, a wider croissant selection appeared on Sunday morning but not the other days which was a shame as I love the chocolate ones!
Its in a nice quiet peaceful setting with chickens roaming around freely! Its about 30 minutes from the tunnel so very useful to know for the first or last night stopover.
We will visit again I'm sure and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Sunny well decorated deluxe room on first floor is massive, overlooking front garden and entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Having spent a couple of nights at absolutely wonderful chateau in champagne reqion we were looking forward to a last night at this one near calais. we were extremely disappointed. the reception was unmanned and we waited ages to be greeted and shown our 'deluxe' rooms. we picked up on a nasty smell of drains/sewerage which permeated the hotel. the rooms themselves were dreary and stale (though the ensuites were very smart, weirdly enough). The service was generally rather sullen and there was no atmosphere. The food and wine were quite good. This place needs huge investment and a major overhall to meet expectations, but a better attitude by the staff would help. Also extremely overpriced for the quality of accomodation. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTandPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We thought this looked a good place to eat after a Euro Tunnel day trip to France, being close to Calais. It really wasn't. The restaurant was insistent that we had booked our table for a much later time, even though I had an email to prove the booking, although eventually relented presumably because they knew the restaurant would be almost empty.
We should have known how poor the food would be before we started eating, given each course had an obligatory heavy sprinkling of paprika, a cherry tomato and a piece of wilted parsley in the middle of each plate. My scallops with julienne of vegetables seemed microwaved, with none of the lovely caramelised edge you get with being cooked in a more traditional way e.g. butter, and the julienne was soggy and cold, lacking in colour, grey/orange dollops of nothing resembling vegetables. My main course, described as a filiet mignon of wild boar, comprised a tough old bit of stewing steak rather than the cut promised (and indeed suppported by the cost, it being the most expensive dish on the menu), with warm over-cooked tagliatelli and a big dollop of mashed potato. Why you'd put mash with tagliatelli is beyond me. My husband had monk fish with honey, four small pieces of burned and greaty overcooked fish as tough as boots, just like the boar. We fled, we couldn't even face our cheese course, it was all so poor. Staff don't want to be in the dining room as it might mean having to do some work, although they are pleasant. They did make us wait 15 minutes in the hotel bar when we arrived however, before thinking that they should come and find us as, being a bar, we might actually like a drink before our meal. Please don't come here to eat, there are so many other lovely places in France, the food here is really poor and I don't want anyone else to be as disappointed with the end to their day. I have never had French food so poor. We would have complained but our French isn't great so would probably have all got lost on them/us. I'm not a fussy eater but I do know what bad food is, and resent being lied to about what I am going to be served with. Fillet mignon is not stewing steak.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just had a stopover here and while the location is great, sadly nothing else comes even close to being good enough, our room was at best tired, the en- suite pretty awful and the food average, for your money you could do a lot better

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belvoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recques-sur-Hem
12.5 km away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
722 reviews
32.9 km away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
611 reviews
13.7 km away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#1 of 2 in Lumbres
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#4 of 12 in Saint-Omer
181 reviews
33.1 km away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
618 reviews
21.3 km away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Cocove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Cocove

Property: Le Chateau de Cocove
Address: Avenue de Cocove, 62890 Recques-sur-Hem, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Recques-sur-Hem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recques-sur-Hem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau de Cocove 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chateau de Cocove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Cocove Hotel Recques-Sur-Hem
Chateau De Cocove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing