We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,365)
Filter reviews
2,365 results
Traveller rating
1,653
554
113
28
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,653
554
113
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice lolliesbeach attendantsthe gapcold towelsone bedroom suitewashing machine and dryerrainfall showerrooftop poolfull kitchentapasliving areadover marketamazing hotelwelcome drinklarge bathroompool staffsun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 2,365 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2017

I have stayed in Ocean Two several times. The hard working team of Bajans led by Mr Paul Collymore are courteous, friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. Ocean Two is well located at the Dover end of the gap. It is approx a 15 minute walk, on your own or with friends, to Cafe Sol at the other end. Along the way you have a wide choice of bars and different types of restaurants where you can have a snack or a three course meal. At the end of the night there are plenty of taxis to take you home.
The hotel has a brilliant gym and on a Monday evening you can join the staff for yoga on the sun roof.
The beach facilities are excellent. Happy hour 3 times a day, ice lollies in the morning, coconut station 3 times a week, popcorn in the afternoon. You can choose to lie on the most comfortable sunbeds in the world near one of the three pools or lie on the sunbeds on the beach.
Dover supermarket is across the road. Alternatively you can catch the reggae bus or a service bus from St Dominic's Catholic Church (up the road) to Worthing (by the traffic lights) to shop in Trimart (where the locals shop) or Massy Stores which has a bank. A taxi will bring you back to Ocean Two.
There are three shuttle bus excursions organised from the hotel - Bridgetown, Limegrove and the busy Oistins fish feast on a Friday.
Wednesday night is Manager's Welcome Party where you meet the hotel staff and get to know the other guests while listening to Bajan music on the lovely rooftop terrace.
The local craftspeople display their hand made jewellery and all kinds of bags on a Friday morning in the lounge area.
Saturday night is buffet on the beach where you can sample delicious Bajan cuisine and try breadfruit and other Bajan food.
The spacious ocean bedroom suites are more like apartments with a lovely kitchen equipped with modern equipment - microwave/oven, hob, dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer, The lounge area has a dining table and chairs, plenty of comfortable seating and television.
If you want a relaxing and fabulous holiday amongst lovely, friendly people on a fantastic Caribbean island, Ocean Two is the place to stay in Barbados.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Delyth77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2017

Once again we had a fantastic holiday at the Ocean Two.

The staff are so friendly, the food is great and as for accommodation, well, the view of the sea is breath taking. We had amazing weather and look forward to returning soon.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 495shelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Ocean Two is a good hotel and rating it any lower that "very good" would not be fair. We did however have some issues, mostly with the location. It didn't really work that well for us, but that doesn't mean it won't work for other travelers. There are pros and cons with choosing this hotel, I'll start with the Pros first.

#1- Fantastic ocean views, you are directly ocean front here.
#2- Very nice swimming pools that are well maintained and like everything else at this hotel, VERY CLEAN.
#3- Plenty of very comfortable beach chairs , umbrellas and lounge chairs.
#4- Numerous bathrooms in the hotel and around the pool areas, as well as the gym.
#5- Very nice gym area, all equipment in perfect working order.
#6- Hotel staff were all very helpful and pleasant to deal with.
#7- Room was kept clean, plenty of water pressure and lots of hot water when showering.
#8- Kitchens were well stocked and fully functional.

Cons:

#1- Television malfunctioned every day and had to be reset. The staff were always quick to come up and take care of it, they eventually showed us how to reset the t.v. so we didn't have to call anymore. Still it would have been nice not to have to fool with it.

#2- Our clothes dryer wouldn't work, after the 2nd day and several phone calls the hotel staff put a new unit in. Both washer and dryer worked very well after that. Again though, it's nice when you don't have issues.

#3 - Our biggest issue with this hotel, the location.

While Ocean Two is directly on the beach you cannot really swim in the water here. My wife and I both like swimming and there are just too many rocks there to do that. We had to walk 5 - 10 minutes on either side of the hotel in order to reach a swim able beach. We also had to cross over large rock breakers and it was not really that much of an issue but it would have been nice to have swam in front of our hotel and not others.

In addition this hotel is located at the very end of St. Lawrence Gap, so you have some walking to do in order to get to the restaurant area. It's not that bad of a walk but it seems multiple vehicles park on and block the sidewalk so you're left to walk out into the street and dodge traffic. Ironically enough some of the very vehicles blocking the sidewalk are the cab drivers who then call out to you offering you a ride. It gets quite obnoxious. Expect to pay at least 20.00 US if you want to go anywhere in a cab.

You can take the buses on the island but you'll have to walk about 10 - 15 minutes up Dover Road in order to reach Maxwell Main Road where the bus stops are located.

All in all we did have a good stay, however if I had it to do over again I'd have chosen a hotel in a better location.

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank trav115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017

This hotel wasn't our first choice. Virgin Holidays changed the hotel as our original choice of hotel was under renovation and on reflection I'm glad they did. We had a one bedroom ocean view suite. Décor in the suite was very modern although a bit dark for my taste. I prefer light and airy colours when at a beach location. Our suite consisted of a lounge, kitchen area, bathroom with shower and a bedroom. Wasn't so keen on the bedroom as it didn't have any natural light. Large curtains covered what was a blank wall. Very dark. Stove, fridge, microwave, washer and dryer which was very handy.

All the staff were really nice - everyone had a smile for you. From Shani in Reception to Kevin and Aneke the waiter/waitresss, Rashid (?) - there were many others and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

Ice lollies were served most days at around 11:30 - very welcome on the hot days. There was a manager's cocktail party every Wednesday on the rooftop area with live music and snacks - more snacks please! BBQ on Saturday nights with tables on the beach.

We tried breakfast on the first morning and it was OK - they serve the full Monty which sometimes you don't actually need. On one occasion we asked if we could just get a couple of eggs on toast - the answer was unfortunately not and if we wanted that, we would still need to pay the full price of BBDS 60 each. I thought this was a little short-sighted as they lost custom on the days we went out for breakfast to one or two of the local cafes.

We were told that the hotel's beach was 'man made' and it did feel different to the beaches further afield. It was quite rough with lots of shells. Not the soft sand which is synonymous to Barbados.

Overall, we had a lovely time at Ocean 2 but we agreed that there was something missing as opposed to our original hotel. It could have been the lack of 'Bajan' flavour in the decor as you could pick Ocean 2 up and place it anywhere in the world. Bougainvillea (original choice) has a lighter and airier feel to it. But again it was lovely to try something different .

Room Tip: Room 207 overlooking the pool area was nice. No problem with noise as the bedroom was at the back of the suite.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gemini16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2018

Dear Gemini16,

We're so pleased that you've shared this review of your recent holiday with us!

It's always our intention to have all of our guests experience a hassle free, fantastic holiday and overall it seems as though you were able to do so. Your feedback is very valuable to us, as it will enable us to remedy any issues that can potentially alter the guest experience. Your comments will all be shared with the team as we aim to maintain our high standards of service and quality.

Thank you for choosing Ocean Two. See you soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

Absolutely perfect. The staff and the hotel were excellent. Especially considering our wedding day decided to invite a storm. The wedding was moved from off the beach to the penthouse. Not what we wanted but couldn't be helped

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2018

Dear Greg B,

We thank you for choosing Ocean Two for such a special occasion of your life. We enjoy creating beautiful memories for each of our guests and we're quite happy that you were able to make many!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future perhaps to celebrate your anniversary!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews