We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three fantastic weeks”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean 15 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean 15 Hotel
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Three fantastic weeks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

After spending two weeks here last year we just had to come back this year for three weeks with our friends Mike and Carol and we were not disappointed,Cheryl and her staff were great they looked after us so well we just did not want to leave. Ocean 15 has everything going for it, you don't need these hotels were you are just a number, here you get the personal touch we certainly would not stay anywhere else when visiting Barbados. Once again I would like to thank Cheryl,Lisa and the Niles family, and of course the staff for a wonderful three weeks we look forward to seeing them all again. Please take care of our friend Paul.
All our Love Ken and Jane

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southeners011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
You guys will never be just a number at Ocean 15!! We certainly enjoyed hosting you again and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks for joining us at the Manager's cocktail party - an opportunity to get to know you better and to understand how to serve you better. The Ocean 15 family is complete with guests like you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    67
    23
    4
    13
See reviews for
40
59
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Ocean two which is basically across the street. We were trying to save some money so we found Ocean 15 for coffee in the a.m. We tried it for dinner and then again and then again. Then for lunch and once for breakfast. Seriously, yummy food for a good price. There are residents around, but I don't know what the hotel is like at all. They keep it clean.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank davidsonknoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed our Coffee Bar and Restaurant.
On Thursdays, in addition to our Jazz nights, we have started a buffet and due to its popularity, will be commencing a Saturday BBQ Buffet from this Saturday.
We are pleased to announce that our Head Chef Janelle Crawford was adjudged #1 Pastry Chef in the recently held Barbados National Chef & Bartenders Competition. Javon Cummins, our other full time chef, was judged to be #1 Junior Chefs.
We are proud of all of our chefs - the food is great and it is excellently presented.
Hope to see you again at Ocean 15 Hotel - ask for Marlene, Sharon or Teri and they will organize for you to see a room if unoccupied or at least the rest of the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I would rate this as more of a 3.5 star place, but that's not an option here. The hotel is fine, our room (a studio) was very small, but about what we expected. You're a block or two from the beach and a 10 minute walk from the main part of the Gap. The restaurant in the hotel was OK. The food and drinks were decent. Some of the bar staff was good and some seemed like they really didn't want to be there. The hotel has a nice looking pool, but we didn't use it (we're more beach people).

You're in a quieter area of the Gap here so no club noise keeping you up at night, but at the same time you've got a decent walk to get to that main area. If you're looking for a relatively inexpensive place to stay near the Gap, this is a good spot for the price, but if you're looking for ocean front or ocean view, then this isn't the right place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zedsdead_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thanks so much for your kind review. We consider our location "at the quieter end of the Gap" to be prime as our guests get to enjoy the best of both worlds.
Our guests also enjoy the proximity of the hotel to the beach (within a five minute walk to the Dover Beach).
We look forward to your next visit to Ocean 15 and Barbados.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Well 10/10 accommodation, food 10/10, atmosphere nothing, manager of ocean 15 a wonderful lady she will go far always a smile, bar staff nothing I am sorry but that is how it was please focus and ask yourselves why most nights empty , I would recommend ocean 15 to anyone a massive improvement from ocean 11 but if you could re create the personalities they had behind the bar you will have the best place in the gap .

Room Tip: All excellent except room 5 studio no view due to canopy too high
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladyflann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
10/10!!!! Thanks so much for your review!
As a young hotel (almost two years under the new ownership), we have made major strides in our service. We continue to work on improving that service as we seek to achieve a 10/10 rating in all areas! Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again at Ocean 15.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Been going to Barbados since 1996 and have stayed in many places.Stayed here when it was Oceans 12 and through ownership change,was very worn out. Stopped by January 2011 after the renovation was done and WOW what a difference and the new owners are very nice.
The wife and I are returning for the month of February(2012) , can't wait , minus 31 here in Canada now.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbadosrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Kudos to the Canadian possee!!!
Thanks for choosing us over and over and we are glad that you are enjoying the new and much improved Ocean 15 Hotel. De Luxe for less!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I spent four(4) nights, at Ocean 15 Hotel. It is a small but well equipped, well located hotel. It is amidst the larger hotels like Ocean 2, opposite Turtle beach and Almond beach yet you'll see guest from nearby hotels visiting the restaurant/bar.
The rooms are big and clean with private balconies, there is a small pool with a swim up bar, however if you want peace and quiet do not stay in a room on the first floor, facing the road and/or close to the entertainment area, as I did. The beach is just 2 minutes from the hotel.
The manager, receptionists and other staff are quite friendly and accommodating. I needed a special arrangement because my husband had exams at Cave Hill so could not stay over every night, I thought this would have been a problem but it was not. The cleaners are timely, too timely if you want to sleep late. i would recommend the fish and salad. I'll be back.

Room Tip: If you do not want to be in the limelight, don't choose a ground floor room, but if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed our rooms, staff and overall Ocean 15 experience. Our small size allows us to relate closely to our guests and to seek to cater to their personal needs.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope that your husband has been successful in his exams at UWI, Cave Hill!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Ocean 15 from Nov 30th - Dec 5th, based on a recommendation from one of my friends and I must say I was not disappointed at all. When we got into our room which was room 1 the place was so amazingly clean I thought we could have eaten of the floor, just to give some indication as to how clean it was. They also have daily room service which will come and neaten the room, change the towels and wash the dishes.

I must admit that the room was not very big but its just the right amount of cozy. However, room 1 is situated right by the bar area which can get somewhat noisy as they have jazz Thursday nights and karaoke on Friday and Sunday nights which usually go up until midnight and on some occasions may run a little later, but the front office will call to see if its bothering you or if it is ok for it to continue, which I found was very nice of them. So just for future reference if you like it quiet in the night ask for a room far from the bar area.

Next there is the food which was really good but I think my favorite part of the meal was the wonderful service you got from the bar staff. They were just so polite and eager to help and it just made the meal that much better. I also enjoyed the coffee bar which have a really nice caramel drink which does not have coffee in it.

Finally I would like to say that there are so many things good I could say about Ocean 15 like its great location, the nice pool that allows you to access the bar for drinks or the fact that all rooms have wireless internet access (and from what I've heard internet access in your room from other hotels is not standard so that was really good) but I wanted to end on what I saw to be a major positive factor pertaining to Ocean 15 and that is the three lovely ladies I met in the reception office. They were Terry, Cheryl and Kelly all very polite, pleasant and helpful individuals and I just loved the hospitality I got the entire period I was there. Even the security guards were amazing.

So i would DEFINITELY stay at Ocean 15 another time. It was nice!!!!

Room Tip: Like to be close to the action request room 1 Like it quiet and more private request a room upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy-AnnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Thanks ever so much for your very positive review of Ocean 15!
All the aspects which you highlighted are areas in which we aim to provide excellence of service in order to make your stay with us a memorable one.

We look forward to seeing you again in Barbados and at Ocean 15.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.4 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
0.4 km away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.8 km away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#27 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.0 km away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
4.0 km away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean 15 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean 15 Hotel

Property: Ocean 15 Hotel
Address: Dover Gardens, St. Lawrence Gap 15028, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean 15 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean15 is a family owned property offering traditional Barbadian warmth and hospitality. Recently refurbished, the hotel offers sixteen (16) impeccably furnished, luxury lifestyle rooms reflecting fine Barbadian decor, simple elegance and comfort. It is an excellently appointed facility designed to embrace families and business travelers, the adventurist or the individual looking for solitude. We are less than 5 minutes walking distance from the white sand and turquoise waters of Dover Beach and are located in the center of the renowned St Lawrence Gap, famous for its lively night life, wide variety of restaurants and bars and duty-free shopping. Within the Barbadian context, where luxury high end hotels are typically located on the West Coast of the island, the hotel has been described as "a West Coast experience on the South Coast." As such, we live up to our maxim "De Luxe for Less!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean 15 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 15 Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing