We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous villa, beautiful setting, made all the...”
Nelson-Gay-011-HR.jpg
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nelson-Gay-011-HR.jpg
Living-room-rear.jpg Gazebo--.jpg
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Nelson-Gay-011-HR.jpg
Living-room-rear.jpg
Gazebo--.jpg
Gazebo-Seating.jpg
Nelson-Gay-006-HR.jpg
Nelson Gay 004 HR.jpg
New-living-room-with-chaire.jpg
NG Boatview nu-sky.jpg
nelson-gay-3.jpg
nelson-gay-5.jpg
Nelson-Gay-001-HR.jpg
Erte-Room.jpg
Nelson Gay 011.jpg
New-Master-Angle.jpg
chattel house.jpg
Loungers-Garden.jpg
Nelson-Gay-022.jpg
newdining.jpg
NGStaff2016.jpg
Pool-to-Villa-Night.jpg
Pool-to-Sea-Night.jpg
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stacey C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous villa, beautiful setting, made all the more special by the wonderful team who look after your every need.”
Reviewed August 18, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We absolutely loved our 10 days at Nelson Gay! The villa is just beautiful with the most idyllic setting overlooking the beach just south of Speightstown. The bedrooms have the most comfortable beds - great sumptuous mattress toppers and top quality bed linen - and whilst the bathrooms may not be the most modern, they are very effective. Add then the friendly and attentive staff to this perfect set-up and you really do have a fabulous holiday. Tyrone and Winston cooked wonderful meals for us, sourcing the best quality ingredients and pitching the flavouring to perfection. They had lots of ideas which we readily embraced - Bajan themed night, Mexican, lavish bbqs etc and despite us eating out at Tides, Lone Star and the Fishpot, our best meals on the holiday were those at Nelson Gay. They organised a steel band for our last night at the villa, and the owner kindly paid for half the band fee and very thoughtful and impressive birthday cakes for 2 of the children who had their birthdays whilst we were there. Billy and Shauntell were always so welcoming and attentive , and when Kerry took over as security in the evening, he was also the right balance of discrete and yet caring to step in if needed - he went above and beyond keeping an eye on the smaller children when we went out for the evening , and fixing AC issues very quickly for us. The owner phoned me personally to check everything was good. And the team at Blue Sky Luxury were equally happy, friendly, welcoming and attentive. And even when we left Nelson Gay to spend our final week in another large villa down the coast (sadly Nelson Gay was already booked for that week) , the team assisted us on a couple of wine and grocery matters and hand delivered an item we had left behind to our new villa. The superb service at Nelson Gay was accentuated even more when we discovered the complete opposite at the new villa (St Helena) where there was a complete lack of friendliness and attentive service. We missed Nelson Gay and the fabulous team there so much during our final week on the island!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2018
Hi Stacey, thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely and detailed review on your recent experience at Nelson Gay! We are thrilled to hear you had such a great time and enjoyed all those delicious meals prepared by Tyrone and Winston! The staff really do make a huge impact on the vacation - so happy to hear it was such a positive one! We look forward to seeing you at Nelson Gay in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheriff75...
Easley, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“The pictures don't do it justice because you can't feel the ambiance.”
Reviewed March 18, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The home is so wonderful because the staff makes it that way. Nelson Gay has character and is well appointed. It has wonderful outdoor space and everything is available for your pleasure and relaxation. Thank you so much for sharing Nelson Gay with us and allowing us to enjoy a fantastic, relaxing week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2018
Thank you for your review on Nelson Gay! Happy to hear you had a great stay with us and we greatly appreciate your kind words! We agree, the staff in the home make the stay just so special. We hope to welcome you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longseaco...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise Found!!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The house and staff were perfect. The location is spectacular. The concierge took care of our every need. We have happy memories to last a lifetime. Thank you everyone associated with Nelson Gay. We will be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2018
Thanks so much for your review, we greatly appreciate your kind words about Nelson Gay and the staff! We agree, the location is quite spectacular. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnrZ487...
Cleveland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 24, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Charming and relaxing. Right on the beach. Staff is wonderful. Short walks too restaurants and nite life. Explored just about the whole island. If there is someplace nicer we did not find it. We had 12 in our group and had more than enough room for all of us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2018
Thank you for your review, John! We greatly appreciate it and are thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us. Nelson Gay definitely is a special place in a great location. We hope to see you again in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrin611
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed January 5, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

It was a wonderful experience. What you see on the photos is what you get.
The house is big, high ceilings, has great size of rooms, space and nice atmosphere.
The pool is heated, the garden is beautiful, with a variaty of trees, bushes, flowers beautiful.
Access right at the beach with a sunset corner to have your drink while admiring the sun set
The staff is welcoming, warm, professional. They were there when needed and knew how to be discret.
You feel at home for your stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2018
Thank You so much for your review, Katrin! We greatly appreciate it and are so glad to hear you enjoyed Nelson Gay and the beautiful sunsets. I will pass on your kind words to the staff - they are sure to put a smile on their faces. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie D
1 review
“Nelson Gay”
Reviewed December 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Absolutely a wonderful place to stay! The staff is awesome and you are feet away from the ocean. Love the Nelson Gay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2017
Thank you for your review, Debbie! We are so glad to hear you had a great time and hope to welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mctaguesb
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely beach location and wonderful staff... Caribbean paradise”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Such a lush, beautiful charming beachfront villa with plenty of room for the 9 of us. The staff is so friendly and accommodating and honestly the food served was the best we've had among the different villas that we have rented on Barbados. Loved that the pool was the central focal point of the grounds. Also loved learning the history of the house which you can find in their welcome book. We usually stay in St James parish and I have to say this location on the beach is a lot quieter. Not as many loud catamarans and jet skis in front of the villa all the time. Will probably rent again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of Nelson Gay! The grounds and pool are definitely one of the best features of the villa, and as you say the beach out front is a perfect retreat from the busier beaches down the coast. We will be passing on your kind words to all of the staff - especially the cook! Look forward to welcoming you back to this little slice of paradise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing