We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great beach, good food, clean room,...good value for your money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Cayo Guillermo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
montréal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great beach, good food, clean room,...good value for your money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I would say it was an overall very good vacation, except one thing: there where not enough chairs on the beach and by the pool

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne2837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel V, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear anne2837. Thank you for your visit and your positive review. We are working to have more chairs very soon. Please, let us know when you are coming back. Best regards. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,453
    1,262
    543
    288
    178
See reviews for
966
1,691
151
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montréal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We went to Sol Cayo Guillermo from April 1th-April 8th 2012. I would rate this hotel average except for one detail : on the Thursday, the hotel cut the water EVERYWHERE in the hotel from 10 o'clock in the morning to 8 o'clock at night because they had to repair a broken pipe. That meant the toilets didn't flush, we couldn't wash our hands, rince after the beach, take a shower, etc, etc... We kept going to the reception to ask when it would comme back and they clearly didn't care. No excuses, we couldn't see the manager about it, one of the staff members even laughed at our face when we asked about it. Very rude people at the reception and they barely understand english. Anyway, the water finally came back after a long day and the rest of the trip was ok, but clearly this situation put a cloud on the week we spent there.

Otherwise, the staff in the restaurants are very friendly and a lot of them even speak french very well. The food is good : good fish, fries, nice omelets in the morning, good bread, great cafe con leche at the main bar. Of course it is repetitive, but that is Cuba, they don't necessarily have the variety that we are used to have. One detail though : the dishes at the main buffet are really filty, we had to choose the less dirty dish. It is always covered with grease and finger traces... kind of disgusting.

The surroundings are very clean, the room are ok but a little old (our patio door had trouble opening and closing). The beach is SUPERB, the water is gorgeous and so is the sand. It is always a little windy, which is great because you don't feel like you cook under the sun. You can also see a lot of surf kites in the sky, which is nice and colourful.

The entertainment staff are friendly but not very present during the day... the dancers are very good and could compete in So you think you can dance kind of show. The disco is boring, no one is ever there because the clients are mostly families or couples in their 40s-50s (we were two 30 year-old girls).

All the tourists smoke, I don't know if it's like that everywhere in Cuba, but it was disgusting. I never breathed so much smoke in one week. It was everywhere : at the pool, the beauch, even in the restaurant Ranchon near the beach. It would be good to install a non-smoking policy at some places in this hotel because it is really not fun for the non-smokers. We went to Riviera Maya last year and it wasn't like that.

The drinks are not good. They are made with liquors instead of juice or coco cream, so it tastes artificial and too sweet. I drank only mohitos which were good, but I would have enjoyed a good pina colada if I could have.

To sum it up, it was acceptable but I wouldn't go back to this hotel in particular. Although I would probably go back to this location in Cuba (Cayo Guillermo or Cayo Coco) because the beach is so great.

I paid 1 035 $ for one week... I wouldn't have paid more than 900 $ if I had known. So check the other hotels too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the beach, it looks great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melanie_luce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel V, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear melanie_luce. Thank you for your visit and your feedback. I am sorry we could not meet your full expectations and be sure we will work hard to improve the areas you mention. Kind regards. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed here from 26th March to 9th April for my sisters wedding. I had the most wonderful time, the beaches are out of this world, the hotel rooms were very nice, big and clean. My first room was near the bottom at the river/lagoon and I had a lot of mosquito's in my room so I asked to move room and Yudi arranged this for me without any problems to a lovely new room nearer the pool, no mosquito's after that. I had stayed at the Paradisus in Guardalavaca before and expected the Sol not to be as good as it is only a 4 star, however the staff are just as friendly and warm as the staff in the Paradisus and the beaches at the Sol are so much more beautiful, especially for the children as they go out for miles of warm shallow water. Although the hotel occasionally runs out of things like certain food or drinks, it is normally quickly replaced and I think you have to remember that this is Cuba, and it is not as easy to get things here, however this is a small price to pay to get to experience such a beautiful country and the most friendly people you will ever meet. There is so much to do at the hotel, we went horse-riding and a trip to Moron, if you want to experience the real Cuba definitely go to Moron and you will see what it is like away from the resorts, it is a real eye-opener. We also went swimming with the dolphins at the new dolphinarium just 5 minutes up the road, which was one of the best experiences of my life. The hotel arranged transport to take us up and come back for us. They really do go out their way to arrange anything you need. The staff made my sisters wedding day very special and we had a beautiful private meal for all the wedding party at the beach restaurant. I could not get on the same flight as the rest of my family for the holiday so was alone with my daughter for the last four days when they left. I have to say I felt very safe here and thanks to all the staff who took their time to look out for myself and my daughter as they knew the rest of my family had gone, especially Carlos, Joni and Marlon at the main bar and Yubi from the animation team. I miss them all very much they were like my new family when mine left ! Also Hector the rep who was always checking everything was Ok for me.The children that came with us enjoyed the entertainment at night and some of the shows were very funny. Also Arenna the entertainer is who we enjoyed doing the dance lessons with, we had a lot of laughs with her trying to teach us the Cha Cha Cha ! I will definitely come back here as I love Cuba and all the wonderful friendly staff here at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ann-Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel V, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear AnnamariaGlasgow. Thank you for your visit and your nice words including your compliments to our staff. We feel very proud you had such great time with your family. Kind regards. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

we have just returned from Sol Cayo Guillermo we were at my son and new daughter in laws wedding and it was great , The hotel staff from the wedding co ordinator to the gardner coud not have treated us better. We were made more than welcome and we had a wonderful time. Everything was perfect we could not wish for better , I would like to return to Cuba in the near future. Thanks again SolCayo Guillermo staff for making our special holiday so special

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank violet k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel V, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear violet k. Thank you for sharing with us so special time in your life. Thanks to the compliments to Yudy, our wedding coordinator. We wish you all the best. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middx
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

What can I say about this hotel? From the minute you enter this hotel you know that everything will be perfect. Everyone greets you with a big smile, it's just one big happy family. We e mailed hotel to ask for a nice quiet room as we were going to celebrate our sapphire wedding anniversary and yudlekys sorted it all out for us, we had room 306 which was wonderful with lovely views of the ocean, she even met us on arrival and took us to our room, what a lovely lady. The new manager Manuel is the best, he is always around and likes to talk to his guests, he was also there when we left to say goodbye, have never had this service at any other hotel, also, the day we left we had a note put in our room with a bottle of rum!!!!!! Please try this hotel, we know you will love it, it really is great. I would also like to mention the restaurant, the staff are great and so attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Wish we were still there!! I could write pages about this holiday as it was wonderful. Thank you Manuel and all your staff and hope to see you for the third time very soon,

Ann and Mel llewhellin

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annmiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel V, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Annmiddx. Thank you for your visit and your recommendation. It was a pleasure to help and meeting you and your nice family. We hope you will come back soon. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
getaway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Went to this hotel for friends wedding, we were a group of 22 people including children. We all had a terrific time, From 22/3/12 to 5/4/12.
It has the most amazing beach I have ever seen. The grounds of the hotel are kept lovely and we had a bungalow set in among the palm trees. The maid Martha worked hard in keeping the place clean and always was very cheery. The gardener Sixto always past the time of day and was amazing with the little gifts he made for us. The bar staff are very helpful and Carlos of the Rum Bar is very funny, had everyone in stitiches especially doing his Scottish acsent and us being Scots kept him going. William, Joni, Lesy to mention a few at the main bar are really nice and helpful keeping your mugs well filled. The entertainment team work very hard to keep you occupied. Reception staff are very helpful and sort out your problems asap. Special mention to Hector the Thomas Cook Rep who is a credit to the company. The manager Manual is also on hand talking to everyone wanting to know if everything is to your satisfaction and wanting any new tips that could improve your stay.
Although they ran out a couple of day's burgers, pizza etc. there was always something else you could eat and anyway be good for the waistline lol.
The day of our friends wedding went fantastically well and the wedding planner think her name was Ynube did us all proud in helping keep the bridel party calm, beautiful day.
All in all this is a very nice hotel, rooms maybe basic but they are adequate and anyway you are only in them mostly for sleeping as you just want to get outside to the beach and surrounding area. Beds are comfortable and huge and at night I sprayed the bottom of my door with bug spray and also placed a towel at the bottom of the door and had no unwanted friends.
Thankyou to Manual and his staff for amazing holiday. Rm 424 is a lovely room.

Room Tip: Room 424 is a lovely bungalow. Spray bug spray along the bottom of the door and at night place a to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank witchypoo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel V, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear witchypoo46. Grettings from Cayo Guillermo, thank you for your visit and we hope you will come back in the future as many other regulars. Best regards. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at the sol cayo guillermo for 2 weeks from march 23rd till April 5th. My family and i had a lovely time here. They really looked after every detail for my wedding and made my day so special. The hairdressser made myself and bridesmaids hair look amazing. Yudi was a fantastic wedding coordinator and made sure our evey need was met. Also Hector the Thomas Cook Rep was excellent. I cannot praise the staff enough at this hotel. I definitely chose the right place to get married. We even had amazing dancers at our evening meal which was a wonderful surprise. i would also recommend some of the excursions. We really enjoyed the jeep safari and the speed boats. There are other activities available e.g. horseriding and snorkelling at the reef. I hope to return here in the future. The beach is absolutely fantastic(make sure you bring your snorkel). There is a good variety of food available. The earlier you go for dinner the better as it can get a little busy later on. Our rooms where also cleaned everyday. Thank you sol cayo guillermo for our wonderful wedding and holiday!!!

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are really good. no bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luckyLeeGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel V, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear luckyLeeGlasgow. Thank you for choosing us for your wedding. It is always special for us to organize a ceremony like this. Thanks to the compliments to Yudy and the staff. Take care. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
21.2 km away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
0.0 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 km away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 km away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Guillermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Guillermo

Property: Sol Cayo Guillermo
Address: Jardines Del Rey | Cuba, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Stars All Inclusive Resort with 268 rooms. Located in Cayo Guillermo,Cuba, in one of the most beautiful beaches, in the archipelago Jardines del Rey, near Playa Pilar and near one of the most beautiful coral reefs in the world. Known for its romantic and lush tropical vegetation. Recommended for families, couples, weddings and honeymoons.268 rooms: 135 standard, 96 Standard Ocean View, 37 Superior Standard 3 Dining Restaurants (Buffet),4 bars.An incredible natural paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sol Cayo Guillermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Sol Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Sol Hotel
Sol Cayo Guillermo Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing