We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best friends Wedding!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best friends Wedding!!”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed from 26/1/12 - 9/2/12 .... Such a lovely place with the most breath-taking beaches, My friends couldn't have wished more for their wedding it was perfect!! All the staff were so welcoming and friendly, Would definitely recommend doing the horse riding and speed boat activities although I wish that we had done more :o)

My only complaint is that I have e-mailed the hotel twice now regarding a missing camera and have received no reply!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoonKat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,954
    1,310
    594
    297
    172
See reviews for
1,133
1,919
116
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We have now been to the Melia Cayo Guillermo 3 times. On each occasion there has been a very warm welcome. Can you imagine our surprise when we went to breakfast the very first day of our last holiday and a waitress ran up to us and welcomed us back. She must have had thousands of clients during the season but remembered so much about the family it showed she was genuine. Same with the chefs. The entertainment staff commented on how the children had grown, it made us feel so special and welcome. We noticed a few changes for the better, some in the restaurants some in the rooms. When we had to leave on our first trip I cried it had been such a wonderful holiday, and again on the second and third visit. It really is a magical place

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Our fifth holiday in Cuba, first at this hotel. I had emailed in advance requesting a room with easy access- many many thanks to Eidel, our room 1130, couldn't have been in a better position. easy access to the beach, pool, restaurants and bars and in addition a wetroom which made bathing so much easier, thankyou again.
Once again all the staff were exceptional, providing an excellent service to all their guests. Even when we had a problem with the toilet, we reported it before going for dinner, returning to the room at about 10.30pm to find two maintenance lads fixing the cistern!
Rooms were kept clean daily by our maid Yenny- thankyou.
Bar staff at the pool and lounge bars were always happy to provide drinks and snacks, always with a smile on their face. Chefs, cooks, waiting staff, gardeners and maintenance all carry out their jobs in a professional manner, always with a smile and happy to talk to guests.
We noticed an improvment in the variety of food available since last in the Cayos 4 years ago, there was enough choice to have something different in the buffet every night, as well as the speciality restaurants.
Only one negative-
It was unfortunate that during our stay a very large overpowering group of tourists arrived and spoiled the generally relaxed and peaceful atmosphere of the hotel. Not the hotels fault, but their rudeness and tendency to takeover areas of the restaurants, bars and pool became overbearing during our second week. it was a shame, as many repeat guests told us it had never been like that before!!

Despite this we met some lovely people from around the world, including a lovely family from Chile who have given us ideas for our next holiday, and we will return to Cuba again, a different hotel only because we like to travel and try different resorts. For those who want to try this hotel, look out for other tour operaters as Thomas Cook UK are withdrawing after April 2012.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel direct with disability requests, they are very helpful. 1130 on the ground floor h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Back one week already and missing it so much. Everthing from the resort to the amazing staff, starting from the front desk all the way to the gardeners, very friendly happy people. Who were very willing to help when you needed something.Our room was very nice and very clean and well kept by yuya, who by the way was very sweet. The a la cartes were excellent, buffet and snacks were great. Drinks were exceptional. The gardens were well kept, pool was well maintained. But the beach was breath taking, fell in love instantly Wow. We are both still talking about this place to everyone and the people we met were great.Will be back again for sure in future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank palmtree1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco B, Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Palmtree

Thank you very much for your comments, you are right, Yuya is very sweet and a very good made, in general our mades are very Client oriented and they work for you.

Hope to see you again soon

Regards

Paco Benito
General Manager
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Firstly, no review can describe how good this hotel and location is. First Class is not a good enough description. Hopefully our words of thanks can describe how much we loved it.

After much deliberation, we chose the Melia Cayo Guillermo, Cuba, for our wedding location and holiday. There were 11 people in our party, including our four year old son. We were all treated to some great hospitality, excellent food and some great memories to share.

On arrival, we were informed by Norma, the excellent and more than helpful, Thomas Cook rep, that the wedding coordinator would meet us in two days, to organise our wedding day.
This brought a hint of panic to my fiancee's face, but as visitors to cuba will understand, you are in "Cuban time." Nothing is rushed.
We met Eidel, two days in and was immediately impressed with his efficiency and organisation of our wedding. He gave us options to make our day as perfect as possible, but never pushed anything on us, unlike some reports we heard of wedding cooardinators elsewhere.
Our big day came on 1st Feb 2012, everything was perfect from the beach gazebo decorations, to the lovely meal at the international restaurant at night.
The photographer was professional and delivered our photo's and dvd two days later.

The hotel gave us a day we will never forget and a holiday, our close friends and family will always remember.
All the staff, from friendly gardeners, to efficient restaurant and bar staff, deserve big thanks.
but extra thanks go to the following, Our maid, we didn't get her name, but our room was 3236, Maceo, great eggs. Remberto, lovely pizzas. Tommy and co in the pool bar. All in bar Las Orquideas (Main bar), great cocktails and great service. Especially Arlent and Sergey, treated us all to a warm, friendly service, delivered with a touch of humour. Sergey you are a gem!
Most of all, we wish to express our sincere thanks to Eidel, he gave us a perfect wedding day and delivered everything we asked and much much more, a true professional and a perfect gentleman in every way, from the day we met him, until the day we left. Thanks again Eidel.

This hotel cannot be recommended more highly by us and as with all holidays, there is just one down side. Apparently, Thomas Cook are removing this hotel from their brochure, Big mistake. Hopefully a sensible UK tour operator will take this holiday location on. We don't usually visit the same place twice, but for my wife, son and I, we have discovered not only a country, but a hotel, we wish to visit again and again.
Rick and Vicki Bain

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco B, Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Vicki

First of all Thank you for your wedding and sharing it with us.

We have many weddings during the year and we know how important that day is, that's why we try to do our best, so if you enjoyed that day we got our goal.

I hope you and your husband are very happy forever and welcome to the family Melia Cayo Guillermo.

Congratulations!!!

Paco Benito
General Manager
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We've just returned back from yet another fantastic two weeks at the hotel. We can only endorse and repeat all the positive and wonderful comments about this hotel. The staff are flawless and have to be rated as one of the best in the world when looked at overall. Nothing is too difficult for them and their courtesy is beyond reproach. Paco - thank you once again for a great holiday. I did thank you personally on our departure day last Thursday and now I'm publicly doing it - you and all your staff deserve a gold award - it's your commitment to providing an excellent service all the time that makes a holiday at the Melia a wonderful experience. We will mention some of the staff because they were the ones that we more often than not had the pleasure of being served by but ALL the staff are just so brilliant!! Ok, so in the lobby - Edgar (always looked calm and never phased by anything), Arlent, Yosvaney, Serguey and last but definitely not least - Mayelin (how do you manage to maintain such a bubbly, happy attitude ALL the time??). Main restaurant - Abel, Edel, Pedro and Milay (all our love and best wishes for a beautiful baby in June). Italian restaurant - Vania (what a wonderful and charming young lady. Sorry we didn't get to see you prior to our leaving this time Vania - it wasn't intentional! Lastly our cleaning lady - Sahily - -you were wonderful - thank you for a very efficient service and always with a smile! The Thomas Cook rep (Norma) - what a fantastic lady!! Very knowledgeable, charming and helpful. Thank you so much Norma, you are a credit to Thomas Cook and to Cuba.

Ok, so as for the hotel's facilities etc: We had one of the chalet type rooms down near the "Marlin" lodge (Room 1004). Excellent room although we did have a few problems with the door lock. It was very intermittent with its recognising the card when trying to enter the room. Even the cleaner had problems trying to get in on most days. I did report it a couple of times but the problem still existed on the last day - but it didn't spoil our holiday at all. As always the food and drink was excellent, for those of you who complain about it - get a life!! There is always plenty of choices and we were never bored with any of it. The pool and the beach are fantastic (as always) and the weather typical for this time of the year! I'm not complaining about my suntan!!

Now, the only downside that we noticed this time and it has absolutely nothing to do with the hotel or the staff was the behaviour of some of the guests. There was a large group of English people who travelled the same time as us and stayed at the hotel. Many of the other English guests that we spoke to had also noticed this group, initially at Manchester airport on the day of departure. Suffice to say that their overall behaviour and language could have been better. On one occasion, one of the male members of the party called another male guest at the hotel (not English) a d***head and made the visual indication as well!! We, along with other English guests were embarrassed to say the least. The other guests that caused a bit of a problem were the huge number or Portugese Canadians that suddenly appeared at the hotel during our last week there. A lot of them were downright rude and arrogant, not only to other guests at the hotel but to the staff as well. Their manners at the various restaurants were not acceptable either! However, I will not dwell on that, it had nothing whatsoever to do with the hotel staff and I don't want to give the the wrong impression of the hotel.

Once again Paco - thank you for an excellent holiday - we would love to come back again but because it appears that Thomas Cook have pulled the plug on your hotel (that's another story - what the heck are you playing at Thomas Cook??), we might find it difficult. We are looking at alternative ways but the cost could be a deciding factor. Keep up the fantastic work, you have a great hotel!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CeePee2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco B, Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Cee Pee

Thanks again for sharing your holidays with us, I am just what my staff makes, so it is everyones job.
We will try to be even better the next time.

Hope to see you soon.

Best Regards

Paco Benito
General Manager
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Returned this morning.......Absolutely brilliant hotel.
First time in Cuba.Not sure what to expect.
Hotel fabulous,we had a bungalow.Beach beautiful,with very few flies at all(as some people report).Food excellent and bar staff so friendly.Cleaners and gardeners all friendly and efficient
and entertainment first class.Activities during the day were great fun.
So who do we remember?
Edgar,the cutured barman who makes a great cocktail!!
The management are friendly and helpful,viz.Paco and Sandor.
Entertainment,Orlando,piano..Lily and Johan..violin and Joel...dancer are exceptional.
Tennis...Fidel (but watch out for his dodgy line calls!..only joking).Activities..Wilber.
Gardners,Lazaro,Orlando and Erranio and Yoa who does flower arrangements.
Norma the Thomas Cook rep. could not be more helpful.
All in all a GREAT holiday.........go along and see Pilar beach.Paradise.
Highly recommend Cuba and The Melia Cayo Guillermo.

Room Tip: We had a bungalow....100 yards and you were in the sea!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank gordiebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
0.6 km away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,967 reviews
20.9 km away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
20.6 km away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Sol Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,988 reviews
31.1 km away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,190 reviews
22.6 km away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Guillermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Guillermo

Property: Melia Cayo Guillermo
Address: Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cayo Guillermo 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Cayo Guillermo is located one of the most beautiful and white-sandy beaches with more than 1300 palm trees, and swept by very transparent waters. The area was an inspiration for Ernest Hemingway, and fishing the great blue river, always on his Pilar Yacht, he created part of his work. The hotel is perfect for couples and families but also for diving, fishing. We also organize the wedding of your dreams in this paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Cayo Guillermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing