We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot say enough GOOD things!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Nova Scotia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cannot say enough GOOD things!!”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is our second vacation to this beautiful resort !! From the time we arrived to the time we left we had five star service!! The lobby reception was top notch!! Soo friendly and very accommodating and we had our rooms earlier than expected. Rooms were very clean!! Everything that you need. There was even a ironing board and umbrella in the closet. Not that I needed either. Beds were alright...not home, but not bad. Comfy pillows!! Beautiful bedding. We even had a flat screen television in our room. Food was great! My favorite was the pasta! I had it every night !! So so yummy!! That and my bread and I was set! I had fried eggs and toast in the morning. Great selection of food! The deserts were SO yummy!! Even had chocolate bar pieces one night. I was in heaven. Yes, you had to wait in the line to get your meal!! BUT we were on vacation and the chefs were top notch!! You wait for a few mins for the best pizza, pasta!! We looked forward every night to wait for our one of a kind creations!! SO worth the wait!! Drinks were a plenty and didn't have one that I didn't like. A lot of different tasting drinks and all were good!! I cannot say enough about the people ! This is why we LOVE CUBA!! Why we love Melia!! Beautiful inside and out xx ALWAYS!! The beach was a dream!! We stayed a couple days out on the peir snorkeling and chilling. Always a nice breeze. Water was like a bath tub! So warm and so inviting!! So blue!! There were no problems getting beach chairs. There were all new chairs too. So comfy. All the hammocks were new and changed every couple days. Hands down that we're my favorite! A nap in the hammock and waking up looking at all the palm trees gently swaying :) yes, I fell in love all over again! There were a large crew of us that all went down. Not one of us got sick, that wasn't self inflicted;) Not one of us had a bad experience! Cannot say enough good things about melia!! GO AND HAVE THE BEST VACATION EVER !!! You will not regret it!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LIsaCock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,915
    1,282
    570
    282
    159
See reviews for
1,091
1,862
115
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundas, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Our week in Cuba this April 6 - 13th at the Melia Cayo Guillermo was the best vacation ever. We travelled with 19 other people and the service here was fantastic. The best food ever and the service was excellent. My husband is a fairly big hunk of a man and he had trouble with the chairs being a little slim, so the only regret was the size of the dining chairs. If there was maybe 10 larger chairs for more full bodied figures the vacation would have been the cream of the crop. We are already saving to go back again next year to celebrate a very special couples wedding nuptials. There is no better place to start your life than at the Melia Cayo Guillermo. The rooms were fantastic as was the service at all the mini bars. The beach was my favorite spot and the life guard Rocky and Tiger were the best. We totally enjoyed our visit and will definitely return again next year.

Room Tip: the bungalow in 3011 was the best suite with huge bed, beautiful long bath tub, clean and the air co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selkirk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This was our 5th visit to Melia Cayo Guillermo and once again, the holiday was amazing!! We brought 18 friends and family (21 in total) this time to show them just how a holiday at Melia was all about. The staff accomodated our group by moving chairs in the restaurant and still providing excellent service. We were able to be together as a group or go off and do our own separate activities which we could choose from many. The boys played pool, table tennis, volleyball and never sat still. we chose the beach, the snorkelling which we could do right from the waters edge and saw many varieties of sea life. Roky on the beach always answered our questions about Cuba and directed us to where we wanted to go he made us feel truly welcome. Eidel ensured that all was ok, and always made himself available if we needed assistance. overall another fantastic holiday which I would recommend to anyone..

Room Tip: we really liked the rooms on the lower floors and the bungalows as we liked the close proximity to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karin_marks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We traveled as a family to the Melia Cayo Guillermo on April 10-17th 2012.

After reading all the wonderful reviews on this hotel we decided to choose the MCG, as we have always relied on the reviews from Trip Advisor, not to mention that we were also told from Red Tag Vacations that this resort has been rated a 4.5 star from Air Canada reps who have visited this hotel in the past.

This hotel is NO WHERE near a 4.5 star rating. We have traveled to many hotels around the Caribbean including TNT, Mexico, Dominican Republic, Hogin Cuba, and all I can say is that this hotel should more be rated a 3 star -if that!!

Upon arrival we were told that there was a “electrical problem" at the resort and half the people who were booked the MCG were being bumped to two other hotels nearby the MCG. We were split into two groups some were going to be downgraded to the 4* Iberostar next door, and some to the Sol Cayo Guillermo for 2 nights until they were able to repair the so called "Electrical Problem", more like the hotel was overbooked .The next day my family and I were moved to the MCG as we booked the MCG and wanted to stay at the MCG. I wish we never left the Iberostar as that was by far the better resort they rated themselves a 4 star and they were a 4 star unlike the MCG that rated themselves a 5 star and was more like a 3 star. The food and staff at the Iberostar were by far better and the staff friendlier in comparison to the MCG.

The food was the pits at the MCG and we are not picky eaters. The buffet was horrendous the food was cold never enough selection/replaced and the line ups were insanely long as they were always under staffed, in the buffet they had a pizza station, and pasta station, a grilling station and the cold buffet selection thank goodness there was bread – because the food was not edible. The a la carte restaurants were disgusting the Italian served pasta with no taste and undercooked pizza, the rancho was roncho- the food was tasteless and the meat was like chewing leather, the International a la carte was just as bad the potatoes were just add water and the chicken, pork, and beef were as tough as nails-not sure if we were even eating chicken or pork since we noticed a rabbit coupe in the back of the restaurant - the burgers at the pool bar were still alive the hotdogs and hamburgers were horrendous at the pool bar the meat in the hotdogs nasty more less the food at the MCG was so poor I wouldn't even feed it to my dog.

Thank goodness we still had our Iberostar wrist bands - as we would walk from our resort to the Iberostar to eat our meals. If were weren't double banded we would be starving for the duration of our 7 day vacay.

There were never enough lounge chairs at the pool or the beach as people would wake up at the crack of dawn to reserve there chairs at the pool and beach and I mean they would be waking up earlier than 7am to reserve chairs – it was always the older people who were doing this. I witnessed someone saving 6 lounge chairs in the sun at the pool then they went and saved 6 lounge chairs in the shade - what a joke. The lounge chairs were never stacked up at night then set out in the morning- to prevent this from happening like other resorts we have visited in the past. The beach was nice but never up kept- not once did I see someone raking up the seaweed or sand. There were plastic cups everywhere in the sand as there were no trash cans nearby for people to throw away their trash. If you go to cayo Gillermo make sure to vist Playa Pillar the beach is beautiful and well kept- however you have to pay 2 CUC pesos per lounge chair.

Every time we go away to the Caribbean we always bring gifts for the maids but never have we had someone approach us while away and ask for our clothes off our back or toiletries. We even witness one of the young dancers who put on the live entertainment at night selling herself to an older man at the resort, not only did we notice this happening but also three other couples who sat near us.

Overall, I would not recommend this resort, while speaking to other people that we meet from Canada, the UK and Montreal we were not impressed with this resort at all, if you want to go to Cayo Guillermo stay at the Iberostar, at least they rate themselves honestly.

You know a resort is going downhill when Thomas Cook is no longer a tour operator for this resort - as the resort standards aren't up to par, and when you have staff asking you for anything they can get and you have entertainment staff selling themseleves- I guess they too know the resort is going downhill when they try to get what they can from tourist.

Room Tip: Ground rooms are better unless you want to travel four flights of stairs everyday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mainstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

April 5-12th. Second stay at this resort. It's small and every thing is convenient. Vacation that was what I expected and more. There have been a few changes, bit of a refurbish last year. Grounds and pool are immaculate. Staff does what ever they can to make you happy.
First time travelling by myself, felt very secure and well taken care of. Great room, simple and very clean.
I was there to decompress and rejuvenate. The BEAUTIFUL BEACH is what I went for.
No problem with chairs. Lots of activities to do if you so choose on and off resort.
Made lots of new friends, even got invited to a beautiful wedding.
Food is good lots to choose from.
All in all it was once again a wonderful holiday.
I will go back.

Room Tip: I like top floor, although its a hike its good exercise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank geolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My husband and I went to this hotel with a group of friends from April 5-12. Over all we had a great experience, the hotel was beautiful, the beach was amazing (we had no problems getting chairs), the people were fabulous. It was a completely stress free holiday :) I celebrated my birthday while I was there and they went out of their way in the Italian restaurant for me, had a cake and everything . Thank you all for that.
The hotel was very clean, I had to wait in line for a couple of meals if I went to a fresh cooked station...but I was on vacation, where did I need to be? nowhere, I did not mind a few minutes :) the food was worth the wait, the pizza was good, the pasta was good, the chicken stir fry was incredible! The little restaurant by the beach served great chicken at lunch too.
There was a lady in the main hotel lobby bar Mylene (I think this is spelled wrong I am sorry) she was beyond sweet, made great capaccio and chatted with me while she worked (I am an early riser, not many people up and about that time of the day) Once she got the door opened so I could use the computer to speak to my Mom (priceless) We enjoyed quite a few of the bartenders again sorry for the spellings but Sergei, Edgar, the bus boy from the main lobby, lady in the pool bar & the fine gentlemen in the beach bar and the sports bar...kept us laughing all week.
We had one day when the water person did not get to us, we asked a staff member about it and they came right back with water and beer. I really have no complaints about my stay at all...the only things I could possibly complain about are there are small flies (like no-seeums) but that is to be expected with all of the fresh water around the resort, fountain in lobby and turtle pond close, I used my bug spray and had no problems after the first encounter, and the beds were hard to me.
My husband and his friends are return guests, I think I will be too :D
cheers!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aldtdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We have travelled widely both in the Caribbean and Europe and he have visited Cuba twice before (Varadero) and had wonderful holidays. This year we wanted to visit a different resort, and after reading various reviews we chose Melia Cayo Guillermo expecting a 5* premium resort. We have been left totally disappointed.
We stayed from Apr 2nd -12th. On arrival we were asked to take a seat in reception even though we arrived with only one other couple. After waiting about 15mins we asked if there was a problem and was told someone would see us shortly, eventually we were told that the hotel was overbooked and we were to be downgraded to the 4* Iberostar next door ! We spent 4 nights at the Iberostar before a room was found back at the Melia. We make special mention here of Carmen, who tried very hard to resolve the situation and remained cheerful throughout. We remain very grateful for her efforts.

The room we were given in the ground floor in block 1xxx at the Melia smelt when we first went in and did not seem to be fully decorated, although all the facilities worked OK and the beds and furniture were comfortable.
We mainly ate at the buffet restaurant but it seemed to be understaffed or insufficient for the number of guests. On some evenings, there were queues for the buffet restaurant waiting for tables to become available and even when seated we often waited several minutes just for water or coffee to be offered, and simple requests for such as a cup of tea often entailed a long wait or needed repeated requests. Meanwhile some other guests seemed to get 'star' treatment as soon as they entered. There was usually a wait of anything up to 15 mins at some cooking stations so we did not always eat together. One night we ate at the International restaurant and the meal was very poor; the pate starter was totally tasteless, a main vegetarian course of stuffed pancake was completely inedible (cold) and the so-called chocolate mousse was simply chocolate flavoured cream piped from a tube.
It was impossible to get a sunbed on the beach or around the pool unless you were prepared to get up before 7 am and put down a towel, the pool area was generally very noisy with little shade. There seemed to be no quieter areas to sit and relax either during the day or in the evening around the bars.
We will not be returning to this area...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossmore56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
20.6 km away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
20.9 km away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
31.1 km away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Sol Cayo Guillermo
#4 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,910 reviews
31.1 km away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
30.7 km away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Guillermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Guillermo

Property: Melia Cayo Guillermo
Address: Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Cayo Guillermo 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Cayo Guillermo is located one of the most beautiful and white-sandy beaches with more than 1300 palm trees, and swept by very transparent waters. The area was an inspiration for Ernest Hemingway, and fishing the great blue river, always on his Pilar Yacht, he created part of his work. The hotel is perfect for couples and families but also for diving, fishing. We also organize the wedding of your dreams in this paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Cayo Guillermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing