We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Raymond B
Seahouses, null, United Kingdom

Lovely place

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 10, 2014
I have stayed at this hotel for the past 11 years don't grade this Cuban hotel with any other 5 star hotels you will be disappointed it is 5 star by Cuban standards and fantastic value hard working staff keep the place spotless nothing is to much trouble food is excellent catering for all tastes beach is to die for bathrooms need upgrading quickly all in all a fantastic hotel and staff thank you melia cayo guillermo
Date of stay: November 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jesus T, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this review
Responded Dec 11, 2014
Hello Ray

Thank you very much for such a nice and heartfelt review. As you know, we are working towards updating the bathrooms in the rooms as soon as possible and your suggestion won't go unattended.

We are very happy to realize that you keep enjoying our hotel and services after 11 years and we are sure that you will continue to visit us in the years to come as you are one of our faithfull and well loved clients.

We want to take the chance and wish you, your family and Douglas, Merry Christmas and happy New Year.

Hoping to see you again very soon,

Carmen Yamely
Sales Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
    2.3 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      79.8 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Beachfront
      Restaurant
      Saleta
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Vio.com
      53.0 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Restaurant
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Vio.com
      53.8 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Restaurant
      Alojamiento Maite
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      53.0 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Pool
      Restaurant
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      52.0 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      53.0 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Restaurant
      Bar/Lounge
      View more hotels in Cayo Guillermo
      Reviews (5,829)
      Filter reviews
      5,829 results
      Traveller rating
      2,751
      1,627
      711
      409
      331
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      2,751
      1,627
      711
      409
      331
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1,259 - 1,264 of 5,829 reviews
      Reviewed December 10, 2014

      Firstly let me say that I am not one to visit the same resort twice But there is just something about this place that made me want to return. It is peaceful here, the beach, the grounds, the people, all so beautiful.
      We came here the first time Feb. 2012. After almost 3 years away, one can see the decline in the facility itself. The rooms need sprucing up as does the pool liner. Having said that, the room was clean and comfortable.
      There is great improvement in the food. I was pleasantly surprised at the wider variety at the buffet and really enjoyed my meals this time.
      So, what made me want to come back here? It is the staff. Plain and simple. It is receiving a smile and a hug every morning at breakfast from Eidel and Maiyelena as they ready your table and pour your first cup of coffee. It is Ariana and Mileydis, busy at the lobby bar, still making time to have a laugh with you. It is the gardeners Julian and Eduardo. It is the animation staff putting on their nightly shows and listening to music performed in the courtyard. All of these hard working people go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and cared for.
      If you want to relax and forget about your worries for a little while, then Melia Cayo Guillermo is the place to go. It is a diamond in the rough.

      Room tip: we stayed in the 1200 block. quiet.
      Date of stay: November 2014
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank kat004_11
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Jesus T, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2014

      Hello Kat004_11

      Thank you for your nice comments about our resort. We are happy that you have so many friends here and value the services of our staff. We will pass your compliments to Edel, Mayelena, Misleidys, Ariana, Julian and Eduardo. We are sure they will be very happy to see that you gave credit to their good services and friendlyness.

      We will also pass on your good opinions to our New chefs, they are doing a great job with thier staff, specially in the buffet.

      We are sure that you will ome back soon and we would like to express our gratitude for recommending our resort to other people in this site.

      Have a merry christmas and happy new year! see you soon,

      Carmen Yamely
      Sales Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed December 4, 2014

      After visiting this resort last May by myself, I liked it so much that I couldn't wait to go back and share it with my husband! The amazing beach, the wonderful staff, the quiet and cozy resort...we were both very happy with our stay! Thank you Mayelena. Edel, Ariel at the buffet, aA nd the others whose names I unfortunately forgot: the nice ladies at the lobby bar who made our cappuccinos and espressos in the morning, the pepos who served us at the repeat guests dinner...We felt so welcome by everybody!
      We enjoyed the food, especially the fish at lunch at the Ranchon, the fresh omelets and pastas at the buffet...
      The resort was less than 50% full so no problem getting a good spot on the beach!
      The only reasons I can't give 5 stars: the rooms are in need of some renos (planned for next year I'm told), the public washrooms are frequently missing toilet paper and hand towels, the toaster at the buffet is exceedingly slow...
      But we were very happy with our room (1328): quiet and well located, and loved the mojitos with fresh mint! (Grown on site). I have not enjoyed that in other resorts in Cuba, and it's not that hard to grow a patch of mint!
      It's no wonder we met so many returning guests (papa Stan! Adorable!). Another frequent guest (Ian) told us it's the best kept secret in Cuba And he's right!
      As I said to friends: you go for the sun and the beach. You come back for the people! And I can't wait for my next visit! Thanks to all the staff for our great vacation!

      Date of stay: November 2014
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank Lovecaraibes
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Jesus T, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2014

      Hello Lovecaraibes

      Thank you very much for a nice review about our hotel. You are right regarding the rooms, we will be updaiting them as soon as possible without disturbing the clients, it will be done step by step. As for the public toilettes, i am happy to say that we already created a system to maintain them stocked and cleaned 24 hours.

      We will be happy to pass on your regards to Edel, Mayelena, Ariel and the rest of the staff. I can also tell you that Papa Stan is coming back soon and Ian is planning for a next visit too. It is true that our greatest strenghts are the staff and the beach.

      I am sure we will be seeing you agian in no time too. It seems the best kept secret in Cuba is beginning to stopped being so secret after all as our family of repeat guests is always growing of which we are very proud.

      Once again, tahnk you very much for writing about us in this site, we wish you Merry Christmas and Happy new year!

      Carmen Yamely
      Sales Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed December 4, 2014

      I have stayed at this hotel 4 times now, It has to be said that the season has not really started yet so there is still a bit of work going on to get it ready but I knew this going out.
      It was as I expected that includes the food the grounds and the facilities available but the thing that makes this hotel for me is the staff, cant do enough for you, they know things sometimes go a little bit haywire or not to plan but to their credit it is fixed straight away.
      If you want a holiday with all the razzamataz of the big city if you want all whistles and bells then this is not the resort for you, however if you want a calm relaxing holiday where if you want you don't have to do anything, but there are plenty of trips and events you can go for then this is the place.
      As Arnie said "Ill be back" Thanks to Judith Alfonso Guilarte for her help pre holiday and a special thanks to all the guys at the bar.

      Date of stay: November 2014
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank derekbarbara
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Jesus T, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2014

      Hello derekbarb

      Thank you very much for your comments in this site and for in your very own personal way, recommend us to other people, wanting a relaxing and nice holidays.
      I will personaly pass your regards to Judith, our Booking Manager, and i am sure that she will be very happy for it. Also to the guys at the bar.

      You are certainly right that our staff is the best asset we have and we are very proud of them.

      We are sure that we will be seeing you a 5th time very soon indeed and that makes us very happy.

      We want to send you a special Merry Christmas and a wonderful and successful 2015!

      See you soon,

      Carmen Yamely
      Sales Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed December 4, 2014

      I returned from staying at the Melia Cayo Guillermo last week - this hotel is not star the rating given by Thomas Cook in their brochure

      when we arrived at the hotel, only some of the rooms had air conditioning & half of the hotel was shut due to this, the room we were given was old fashioned & one evening we had water pouring through the ceiling and some days no hot water, the food in the buffet was poor and was sometimes cold and the service was not good, the staff could only be bothered with you if you they knew they would get a tip
      Also there were not many staff working in the hotel, so when we wanted to do the water activities included on the beach in the hotel,such as hobie cats and pedalos there was no one there on several days to help us

      Also, there is a cigar smoking room in the hotel and this was out of action, my partner asked for this to be opened several time so he could buy a Cuban cigars & have a Rum , we were given several excuses by the hotel, there was no staff or they did not have a licence to open this room.

      Also the 24 hr pool bar, there was no menu and all they served was toasted sandwiches & ice cream and on our 2nd week they began to serve french fries, also they did not serve any hot drinks or hot water, this is poor as not everyone wants beer or spirits or fizzy drinks all the time and the staff were not helpful

      The Cuban Rancho Restaurant, the food was awful and the menu was the same everyday with no other choice & service very poor

      The Italian a la carte restaurant was also very poor quality of food & most people left theirs & the service was poor

      Also, the beach bar, only opened from 10am - 4pm and they did a bbq lunch of pork most days which was fatty & again service very poor

      Also, its seems like we were on rations for the drinks in our fridge in our room - we had to ask customer services several times for drinks to be put into the fridge

      My partner went on a fishing trip & asked the hotel for a packed lunch, the lunch they provided was awful and not edible & he could not eat it

      Also the Thomas Cook Rep - Ivan was pretty useless & was only interested in selling excursions & not with the problems we were having in the hotel

      myself & my partner were not the only people having issues with the hotel & Melia

      i would not recommend this hotel at all & would never return to this hotel

      I have been to Cuba several times but this has been my worst experience!!!!!

      do not book this hotel!!!!

      Date of stay: November 2014
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Service
      5  Thank michele c
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Jesus T, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2014

      Hello Michelle

      First of all we would like to thank you for this review as the feedback from our clients is the best way to improve our services, after all we work for your comfort.
      We are sorry to know that your experiences didn't fullfill your expectations and that you had problems during your stay.

      We can tell you, however that we have now a new Chef in the hotel and we have changed all the menus, with a high rate of acceptance. You could realized there have been a good change regrading the offers, services and temperature of the food. Also, we have reached the staff once more and remind everybody that our goal is the satisfaction of the expectations of our clients ate any cost, it has never be a policy of our company to link the good service with the tips and we will be even stricter in the following of this rule.

      It is tru that we had sevral days with bad weather and even in days when people cannot notice beforehand that the sea is in bad condition, we are facing the old channel of Bahamas and the current can be very dangerous when ther is some strong wind, in days like those, even if it is hot and sunny, all nautical sports are forbidden by the Marina for safety reasons and that is why we do not offer hobbie cats or pedaloes or similar.

      About the Cigar Bar, we had some technical issues there for a couple of weeks which is already solved now and we couldn't open it. This is a new added service we started in the hotel veyr recently, however, we do have a Habano House in the hotel, opened from 9 am till 9 pm in which we sell all kind of brands of cigar so you can buy them there, near the lobby bar and either smoke it in their smoking room or take the cigar to the lobby bar and smoke it there.

      The services at the snack bar have been updated, they have now sandwiches, salads, icecream, drinks, frech fries and tea, hot chocolate, coffee and similars.

      The menu at the Ranchon includes chicken, squids, frsh fried fish, fish filet, beffe and pork ribs, soups, salads and desserts, among other options, as for the BBQ, we have pork ribs and sausages, hamburgers....

      There is a new menu in the Italian and the International Resturant that we are sure would be of your liking.

      We would like to ask you to reconsider coming back for a visit again, with all this changes and improvements, the whole hotel without any air conditioning problem and all bars opened. I am sure that if you give of an oportunity we will be able to earn your trust again.

      We would like to send you and your family a Merry Christmas wish and happy new year!

      Regards,

      Carmen Yamely
      Sales Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed December 3, 2014

      My husband and I stayed at the MCG November 21-28 2014 and had a wonderful time. We have previously travelled to Mexico, but this was our first trip to Cuba. We chose MCG because of it's ranking on TripAdvisor as #1 hotel on Cayo Guillermo. We were a bit nervous prior to the trip as friends and family kept saying "you go to Cuba for the beach, not for the food" and "you go to Cuba for the beach, not for the entertainment". I am happy to report that MCG exceeded our expectations. I can honestly say that photos of the resort don't do it justice. It is absolutely beautiful. The landscaping, pathways, resort layout, pier, and low-rise buildings are designed for those wishing to relax in a friendly, pleasant place. We are glad that we went before high-season as we did not have problems finding sun lounges around the pool or on the beach during our visit; but suspect it could get quite crowded quickly (especially around pool).

      PRO: The customer service can't be beat. The staff in all areas of the operation are unfailingly friendly and go out of their way to assist you. The pool area is great; having the children's area separated from the rest of the pool is ideal. The Aquatic Ballet show was great entertainment. The snorkeling around the pier was wonderful, and the kite surfers provided an ongoing source of entertainment. Our room (1225) was large, clean, and had plenty of storage space. The musical entertainment in the lobby bar in afternoons/evenings added a lot of ambience. The scotch and cigars in the cigar lounge were a great way to end an evening. The food in the restaurants, especially the buffet, exceeded our expectations. In particular the pasta station, pizza station, and plantain flambe station were favourites. The resort's ponds, private gardens, patios and landscaping are the nicest and best maintained on the island compared to all other resorts.

      CON: The week we were there was windier than usual. As a result, there were more jellyfish than is normal and sometimes the beach was too windy to be comfortable for sun bathing. The lobby bathrooms (toilets did not flush properly) and the bathroom in our room (shower rod fell down every day) need some work; but nothing major. The a la carte seafood restaurant was not open the week we were there, and the cigar lounge in the lobby only opened on our last night at MCG (these were disappointments as they were factors in our selection of a resort).

      Overall, we feel that we received good value and (more importantly) we had a wonderful time. We will recommend the MCG to friends and family. As noted in so many other reviews, the staff are what make this resort really stand out (wandering peacocks don't hurt either-so pretty!). Special mention to gardener Ireno, buffet staff Edel, Carlos, Marile, and waiter Jesus.

      Room tip: Room 1225 is spacious, beds are comfortable, located close to pool and buffet. Good location for early to bed/early to rise people as it is far enough fron bars that you can't hear them at night. The balcony overlooks a very pretty private garden area. Only concern is that shower curtain rod tends to fall down :)
      Date of stay: November 2014
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      3  Thank shannon b
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Jesus T, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2014

      Hello Shannon

      Thank you on behlaf of our staff for such a nice report. I am sorry it was so windy when you were here, but Cuba weather can be very umpredictable.

      We are sorry that you had some little issues (as you said) in your room and we will take note and review it in order to solve them immediately.

      We have two a la carte restaurant: The Italian, Bonasí, and the International, La laguna. We would appreciate if you can contact us and let us know which one you refered to in your review, that was not opened while you were here. We would appreciate it if you can email us directly.

      We also express our apologies about the Cigar Bar. Right now, it is opened reguraly from 4 pm to 11 pm.

      We are very happy that in general you had a great time while you were here and hope that this first visit won't be the last.
      We will pass your regards to the friends you already made here: Ireno, Edel, Carlos, Marile, and Jesus.

      Let us know when you come again and we will do our best to make your next visit an even better one.

      Merry Christmas and Happy 2015!

      Carmen Yamely
      Sales Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews