We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Patti P
Woodstock, Canada

Another Awesome Visit to the Melia Cayo Guillermo

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 22, 2014
We were at the Melia Cayo Guillermo the last week of November 2014 and again very pleased! There were many changes, all for the good. There were many nice scrumptious surprises on the buffet each day and the changes to the menu at the al la carte restaurants we well received. Kudos to the new chef!!! We were in a bungalow this visit and it was very nice. Quite spacious and a treat to have our own little enclosed sitting area. And of course the view of the ocean. Firstly, we would love to say thank you to CarmenYamely Aguilar Martin for her dedication to the hotel and always there to assist with questions, concerns or a smiling face welcoming you. And lets not forget Mary in Customer Service. As I mentioned, we were in a bungalow this year and what a treat. Our chambermaid was the best and very accommodating. Our evening strolls always included a visit with Jose at the Pool Bar what a pleasant man. And of course the regular bartenders at the pool bar and lobby bar during the day are exceptional, Anna,Tommy, Luis, Arland. Breakfast and lunch would never be the same without being greeted by Edel!!! What a treat to walk in and feel like you are the only two people in the buffet when he greets you with a smile and hug. And let's not forget Maylie! And if you want to see the sights and the other resolrts the guy you want to hook up with is Glabor. He has a horse and buggy and what a joy to have him take you around. What can I say, all of the people working at the resort, from the reception, bellboys, bartenders, chefs....I could go on an on. And if you find yourself wondering around on the beach, you can always feel safe with Rocky there looking out for you. I apologize if I forgot anyone, you are all the best and we always look forward to returning. It isn't just a piece of paradise, it feels like we are coming home. See you in February!!
Date of stay: November 2014
Room Tip: We always like to stay on the main level and walk out onto our own little patio. I have found any...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jesus T, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this review
Responded Dec 23, 2014
Hello Patti

Thanks a lot for such a wonderful review. I think that when you got married here you not only married Ian but us as well. LOL. It is so nice to know each time you come back you get new surprises and make new wonderful memories!.

I will pass your praises to all the staff you mention and i am sure they will be very happy to know that you remembered them. Also the new Chef, Miguel, who has been a real asset to our resort.

I am sure you will come back soon and as usual we will be waiting for you!.

All of us, and of course, Anna,Tommy, Luis, Arlent, Edel, Mayelena would like to send our best Christmas wishes and happy new year and will be waiting for you in February fo another wedding anniversary!

Regards,

Carmen Yamely
Sales Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
    2.3 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
    C$100
      79.8 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Beachfront
      Restaurant
      Saleta
      C$49
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Vio.com
      53.0 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Restaurant
      • Expedia.com
      53.8 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Restaurant
      Alojamiento Maite
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      53.0 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Pool
      Restaurant
      View more hotels in Cayo Guillermo
      Reviews (5,829)
      Filter reviews
      5,829 results
      Traveller rating
      2,751
      1,627
      711
      409
      331
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      2,751
      1,627
      711
      409
      331
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1,249 - 1,254 of 5,829 reviews
      Reviewed December 21, 2014 via mobile

      My wife and I travelled to the MCG Dec 12th to the 19th. Seeing as we had been to the Iberostar Daiquiri on 2 other occasions and had a great time, we figured we would give the MCG a try as it was rated a "5 star".

      A five star it is NOT! I will keep it short and sweet. We arrived to the entire resort not having hot water which lasted for 3 days!! Yes cold showers were had!

      Rooms are run down, in serious need of upgrading and repair as is most of the resort. Absolutely no water pressure in our rooms and appears the entire resort as we had many conversations with people about this. Ceilings rotting and in serious need of repair throughout the main buildings including what appeared to be termites in the ceiling of the buffet.

      Food wise, I'm not a picky water and was able to find something I enjoyed at every meal. KIKI is the best cook on the resort and we found that the best meals were had at the restaurant by the beach. Calamari are amazing in there!

      Beach was beautiful but not as well maintained as I remember it. No raking during the day and no service at all on the beach.

      Nightly entertainment by the lobby bar is HORRIBLE!!! Piano player playing "put me to sleep" songs. In Cuba I expect some liveliness. At the Iberostar we were treated to live local bands who made every evening remarkably memorable. Not so here.... At all!

      To conclude, the thing that drives this hotel is it's staff!! With the exception of front desk who have terrible customer service and appear to be bothered when they see guest approach their counters. The cooks, animation and most of the bar staff are phenomenal! Special mention to Geraldo "Gerry" from animation and a few others who made our stay delightful.

      This hotel needs a lot of work, serious investment on the Melia Chain's part and unfortunately, I would not recommend it to my friends. I love Cayo Guillermo but will probably wait until the new Iberostar is completed before I return. In the meantime, if you are thinking of going to Cayo Guillermo, stay at the Iberostar Daiquiri which was recently renovated.

      Date of stay: December 2014
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      6  Thank star_sun
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Jesus T, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2014

      Hello Star_sun

      First of all, we would like to apologize for all the inconveniences you had during your stay. We are very sorry that you had issues with the hotel water supply but i can tell you we don't have that problem now.

      Regarding the beach, as you know, )because you have been here before, the same beach covers Iberostar and us), it is cleaned twice a day when the tide allows it. If we have high tide, in the morning, the machine cannot clean it as the water reaches almost the wooden paths. It seems you were here in that week and we are very sorry for this. About the Reception, we would like, if possible, if you contact us and give us more details so we can act and better our services.

      We will pass your compliments to Kiki and Gerald. And will reconsider the options of the music and the bands and review it. For the near future the hotel has planned the updating of the rooms and we would like to have you again with us so we have the opportunity to change your opinon about the resort and have the chance of earning your trust back.


      We would like to send you and your family Merry Christmas and Happy new Year.

      Regards,

      Carmen Yamely
      Sales Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed December 21, 2014

      Great stay and perfect for families! Thank you to Noelkiss and Galy at the kids' club for making our 3 year old's vacation stay a fantastic A terrific time and an absolutely Perfect stay - thank you all! Staff are wonderful resort is clean and service is exceptional. Open air restaurant at the beach is wonderful the a la carte selections are great. Snorkeling right off of the beach is a treat. Will definitely return.

      Date of stay: October 2014
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Service
      2  Thank Samantha J
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Jesus T, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2014

      Hello Samantha

      Thanks a lot for your nice comment. I am happy to see your child had a great time with our nanas Noelkis and Galioska, they are very good for kids and all love them!.

      I am also glad to see your general expereinces of the hotel were good ones and will take this opportunity to tahnk you for recommending us in this site.

      Feel free to contact us any time and let us know when you will come back.

      Merry Christmas for all of you and Happy new year!

      Regards

      Carmen Yamely
      Sales Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed December 21, 2014

      Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location . A couple of negatives for us we both got food poisoning from the pre-cooked food and bitten to pieces by the mosquitos. On the plus side Diddier in the lobby bar is fun. Tamara who looked after our room went the extra mile. We looked forward to her towel sculptures and nighty arrangements. Stick with the chef cooking, smoothies and poached eggs in the morning, fresh fish for lunch and incredible banana crepes for pudding at dinner. If you want to explore further the "Cuba now" excursion is brilliant and real value for money felt like I was in a James Bond movie racing down those mangrove canals in the powerboat. Loved the art studio in Moron where they were making jewellery and sculptures out of old cutlery. pity I'd left my bank card at the hotel. The entertainment was first class, loved the aqua ballet. Room was very beautiful and spacious. Enjoyed our daily morning walk to Ernest Hemingway Bridge to see the flamingos
      I look at star ratings as an indicator of where I want to say but then look at price. Two weeks all inclusive for £1050 each is incredible value for money so if you want some fun in the sun
      go for it!

      Date of stay: December 2014
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank mgroamer
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Jesus T, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2014

      Hello mgroamer

      Firts of all i would like to than you on behalf of our staff for taking the time in writing this good comment. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and made friends her. I will pass your regards to Tamara and Didier and i am sure you will be coming back to see us.

      The gallery you visited in Morón is a branch og the Pauyet Group. The main Gallery is in Ciego de Ávila,they have lots of awards in Cuba and abroad for their oustanding jobs and creations. Next time you come, if you visit either Ciego or Morón, do not forget your card. It will be an unvaluable souvenir as sculptures are unique, they oney make one of each kind all by hand.

      Thank you very much for recommending us in this site and we will look forward to having you with us soon.

      Happy new year!

      Regards

      Carmen Yamely
      Sales Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed December 21, 2014

      we were at the Melia Cayo Guillermo between the 3rd and 17th December 2014

      check in was as always quick and efficient, the bell boys had our luggage at our room within 10 minutes . Great service.
      Food in the buffet restaurant was mostly good, Breakfast a good mix of food always available only concern is that it was not always hot unless you had eggs or omelettes glad to see they eventually got a new toaster, Lunch similar to breakfast a good selection but not always piping hot unless you had fish or chicken. Dinner again as the previous meal times unless you had the pasta pizza or meat cooked for you,
      The a la carte Retaurants were very good
      The international was as always exceptional the Lobster Bisque was to die for as was the oxtail, Jose and Jesus were so efficient in ensuring the food and service was very good
      The Italian was also quite good but at times you felt rushed as they always seemed very busy but Jesus did his best as usual.
      The lobby bar again the service was very good and the Irish coffee and Pina Coladas were yummy.
      Pool Bar, Barbara gave a great service to everyone and was always very charming
      Reception, Linet was very helpful as always and it was great to see her again
      Entertainment, Jimmy and the guys around the pool were always there to entertain you
      Gardners, Julian was always walking around with his bucket ensuring the gardens were in good order,
      Pools. always kept nice and clean, always plenty of loungers available,
      A Big thank you To Milsa, Yaniris, Ari and Carlos in the main buffet who made our meal times very entertaining.

      Rooms, we were in Bungalow 1010, this room needs updating the wardrobe doors don't close properly, the bathroom door does not close, the drawers on the chest of drawers are hard to open and close,the patio door only locks using a brass bolt, the room needs painting as the walls are dirty

      Beach, disappointed at the amount of seaweed that is stockpiled between the Melia and the Daquiri, and also between the Melia and the Sol

      Pier, this structure is in a bad state and is in need of urgent repair so many loose and rotting timbers.

      Timber Walkways near the cubanito and childrens club accessing the beach in general need urgent repairs.

      Overall we had a good holiday but were disappointed with the lack of maintenance since our last visit in 2013,

      Hopefully we will return in December 2015

      Room tip: Bungalows are very good
      Date of stay: December 2014
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      2  Thank HERBIEMANCHESTER58
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Jesus T, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2015

      Hello Herbiemanchester

      Hope you are well. First of all, thanks for taking the time and make this review of our hotel.

      Be sure that i will pass your greetings to Jesus, Julia, Yimmy, Barbara, Ari, Milsa, Yaniris, Carlos and Linet. They will be happy to know they were mentioned in this site.

      On the other hand, i wanted to tell you we are going to do some reapis on the pier and the wood paths and we are doing some maintenance in the rooms. I am sure that you will see changes when you come again this year.

      Th new Chef of the hotel will be happy to know you appreciated the changes in the menu and the options in the restaurants. The lobby bar staff will be happy too.

      I wish you a very happy 2015 and see you again in December.

      Feel free to contact us any time, we are at your service.

      Regards

      Carmen Yamely
      Sales Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed December 20, 2014

      We stayed at Melia Cayo Guillermo week of December 5-2014

      This is their winter and the beach can get a little windy. Great for the Kite surfers on the beach.

      this was the second time at Cayo Guillermo but first time at Melia Hotel in Cayo Guillermo.
      We stayed in room 2335 (3rd floor) and was able to see the ocean from the Balcony.

      The Hotel is showing some signs of ageing but it was minor. The resort is beautiful
      and well designed. It has an open concept and the main lobby gets alot of light.

      The food however could have been slighty better at the buffet and was repetitive. We did not eat at the 2 restaurants.
      There was fresh Juices and fruits everyday.
      At the Buffet There was always fish, chicken, pork and beef at lunch and evening.
      Twice in a week they had whole fish but by the time you take a piece of fish , it was cold.
      There is no heating light to keep it warm. The second time i did not even try it even though it was a different type of fish.
      We notice that the Pork legs for people to slice off as much as they wanted was not cooked properly. looked a bit raw.

      One night there was suchi for supper but there was no labels indicating between the vegetable succhi and the fish or seafood succhi.
      therefore we did not eat it since we did not want to take the seafood succhi and was not sure which was what.

      The pasta station and Pizza station was a popular choice for us since the food was for sure going to come out hot and custom
      made for our choice. Along of course with the meat or fish done from other stations cooked as requested.

      Overall food was good but needed some improvements and labeling in the case of succhi.

      thanks to Ramberto who made our custom pizza. Always smiling and great service.
      All other staff was also very pleasant.

      The Cigar lounge was great and as long as you are smoking you can have higher quality drinks at no extra Charge.
      This is a great idea. Kudos to the Manager. Thanks for the great time and service Sergey at the Cigar lounge gave us.

      We met Elvis the baby Pelican at the Pier which was fed fresh fish from the tourist fishing there.

      There are two beautiful cats there that were so nice to pet and also Peacocks roaming around and some Hawks.

      24 hour Snack bar by the pool. Tuna sandwich with fries etc ... fast food.

      The Ranchon also server food at lunch time and next to it outside is a grill.

      The wine and beer were as i would say on the weak side. However you can buy better wine or even Corona Beer for 1 Peso.

      The Beach is amazing. Water is a little on the cold side in December but the low tide is simply beautiful.

      if like you can be a lot of walking to do on the beach and there aren't many waves.

      There are pedalos and Hobbie cats to do for free. Just a small tip would be greatly appreciated.

      I did not go see the main nights shows at 9:30PM but around 8:00 PM they had great entertainment outside just next to the main lobby Bar.

      Solo Guitar player DANIEL HERRANZ was just amazing. And the other singer/guitar player with his wife was also very good.

      There is a piano lady every evening in the lobby keeping things going and relax.

      At the room: In our case we got a good room. AC worked except for one night it was off.

      Hot water and pressure was always available for us. But this may differ from other units.

      I tip as much as i can and gave gifts. Toys - soap - money - shaving blades - shaving cream etc ...

      The Grounds have some nice ponds with turtles and fish and a nice swimming pool very clean,

      maintained by the staff.

      Overall i love this place , Beach and surroundings are just amazing.

      Will like to go back in the summer.

      Room tip: Third Floor left side away from the Theater. More quite and View of Ocean.
      Date of stay: December 2014
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      2  Thank Joey_Montreal
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Jesus T, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2014

      Hello Joey_Mont

      First of all i would like to express our thaks for your review about our hotel.

      We can see that overall you had a good time and are planning to come for the summer, however, the points you suggest about the big fish, the pork leg and the sushi have been looked into. We hve the heating system working now on the fish exposing area and we have labels for the sushi. As for the roasted pork, we are taking your comments very seriously and verifying everything on daily bases.

      I am sure by the time you come back to visit in the summer you will see the difference as soon as you arrive.

      We will pass your regards to Remebrto, Daniel and Serguey. And thanks for the praises about the cigar bar Compay Segundo, we agree that it was a great idea and many clients appreciate it.

      Finally, we want to let you know that we will be awaiting your return next year and that you will be always welcome in our hotel, any time.

      Happy new 2015!

      Regards,

      Carmen Yamely
      Sales Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews