We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Stephen C
Newport, United Kingdom

Great hotel for a couples holiday

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 13, 2017
The hotel has a real Cuban colonial feel about it. It is right on the beach.
The Coca Diving Centre is located on the Hotel Site so you can spend more time scuba diving and snorkelling.
Could not fault the quality and selection of the food at the buffet restaurant and other specialist restaurants. The staff are friendly helpful and welcoming.
Could not fault our holiday at this hotel. Will go back in the future.
Date of stay: June 2017
Room Tip: There may be lots of stairs and no lift. The tiled floors can be slippery when wet.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director_GeneralMCG, General Manager at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this review
Responded Jul 14, 2017
Hello Stephen C,

Thank you for your comments and we hope you will come back many more times to enjoy the charm of our hotel, it will always be a pleasure to welcome you in our facilities. The dive center does not belong to the hotel but we have the best relationships with its staff, and we often share so we are also like families. We are waiting for you on your next visit !!!

Best regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Saleta
C$48
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
53.0 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
Restaurant
Alojamiento Maite
Contact accommodation for availability.
53.0 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
Pool
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
53.8 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Reviews (5,830)
Filter reviews
5,830 results
Traveller rating
2,752
1,627
711
409
331
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,752
1,627
711
409
331
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
660 - 665 of 5,830 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here - 21st June - 5th July. Although we enjoyed our Cuban experience, there are a few points you must be aware of if staying in this resort.

Hotel Facilities and Services - The hotel facilities are good. Decent sized pool, clean toilets in the lobby area, good variation of drinks, friendly staff, plenty of seating in the lobby (bar) area, good wifi connection and immaculately clean rooms (the maids do an amazing job of keeping rooms spotless daily)!

Star Rating - So the hotel claims on its official website that the hotel is a 5 star. However, we later found out that this information is incorrect and the hotel is actually 4 star. This is exceptionally misleading and untrustworthy; we were not happy about this lie.

Rooms - Although the rooms are in need of a renovation, we cannot fault the excellent cleaning services from the maids who came into the room to clean daily. When changing towels, they made creatures using clean towels. This is something we enjoyed coming into after a day outdoors. The TV has quite a number of channels, including an American news channel and a discovery channel. The pillows didn't smell great but the bed was quite comfortable. Air conditioning in the room was great and worked really well. We were more cold than warm in the room, but were able to adjust the air conditioning. Each day a member of staff will put a new 1500ml bottle of water in the fridge in your room, and a few cans of pop and beer. Every morning we were woken up by builders knocking down walls and balconies (from about 8:30am).

Beach - As mentioned in previous reviews, the beach is simply stunning. White sand, turquoise waters, shallow seas. This view is particularly amazing when the sun is going down. Sometimes, the hotel will do a BBQ on the beach, bringing lots of chairs and tables down onto the beach. This is a great atmosphere and you are encouraged to sit with and socialise with other people.

Staff - The staff at the hotel are mostly friendly and helpful wherever they can be. We were very dissatisfied when after a long day out, we came back to find our room door wide open. We didn't leave our door open and after checking that all our valuables and belongings were still there, we headed straight to reception to report this concerning issue. The Spanish man at customer services (Eduardo) told us that some men had been in the room during the day, fixing the TV (it was working completely fine when we watched it the night before) and accidentally forgot to close the door behind them. Although nothing had gone missing, we felt as though this was not good professionalism from the hotel at all.

Food - This was our biggest problem when staying at this hotel. The food wasn't great and although there was lots to choose from, it was hard to find things that tasted good. Most of the food seemed to be very poor quality. However, the fresh meat cooked in front of you tasted good. I enjoyed the fish and my partner particularly enjoyed the beef. We were able to trust that the food was cooked when it was being cooked freshly in front of our eyes. The buffet room has a horrible smell that puts you off your food as soon as you walk in. The buffet room is NOT air conditioned, along with one other restaurant at the hotel. As you can imagine, this leaves the room feeling sweaty, sticky and disgusting. We heard from people at the hotel that the management promises staff to fix the air conditioning every day. It is so unfair they are refusing to do this and continuously breaking promises. Not only does this affect people staying at the hotel, it affects the waiters and chefs who are expected to work in ridiculous heat. Very unhygienic too as the chefs are sweating, wiping the sweat on their clothes and cooking our food. Milk isn't kept in the fridge and is just on the side for you to use. The best meal at the buffet was breakfast where we rotated cereal, fruit and pancakes with syrup. All of these were ok. I did actually enjoy the pancakes. There is an option to choose to eat at another hotel (this is free and you are able to visit 5 other hotels in the area, still all inclusive but better quality food). However, the last bus picks you up from other hotels at 4:20. We visited the restaurants at the hotel as much as we could but often got turned away, claiming they were fully booked all night but when we walked past at 7pm, there was one table in the restaurant. The food at the restaurants are better than the buffet, but still not great. We tried to eat at the snack bar some lunches to break down the repeat foods in the buffet. However, the man said that the food wasn't available because the buffet was open. The snack bar is advertised to be open and serving food 24 hours and this is clearly an understaffed problem. Mentioning that, the place was completely understaffed and it often took a double reminder for drinks and sometimes waiting a while. The kitchen often ran out of spoons and ice cream dishes - again, not great. If you come to this resort, ensure to bring English snacks as this hotel does not sell any crisps, proper branded chocolate or anything to snack on. We visited a market to attempt to buy some snacks but they didn't have anything apart from tortillas. I wouldn't recommend these as they made me sick. We later found out that a hotel an hours walk away along the beach sold Pringles. You will miss your home comforts when visiting this hotel. Myself and my partner were both ill during the holiday with sickness. Literally every couple we spoke to had also had the same illness at a similar time. We reported this to our rep at the hotel, along with other issues we had been facing at this resort.

Things to do - The hotel is on an island that almost seemed deserted and very quiet. We didn't mind this as there was lots going on in our hotel. There were also hotels nearby, that we visited. As we travelled with Thomas Cook, we were advised with a list of trips to attend and their prices. The trips were mostly very expensive, ranging from about 40 pesos to 370. The more 'exciting' trips were costly and therefore, we opted out of doing a trip. There is an open top tour bus that takes you to different locations, e.g. Pilar Beach, different hotels in Cayo Guillermo and Cayo Coco and the market. The bus costs 5 pesos for a return visit to anywhere on the bus route. The furthest place away takes about 1 hour 30 minutes and still only costs 5 pesos per person for a return! I would definitely recommend taking a trip on this bus and sitting at the top; very windy but also fun!

Overall, we have both enjoyed our holiday but there are definitely a few improvements that the hotel could make which would please everyone. Most of these changes are only minor, but would completely change the feel of the resort. I would visit Cuba again but I'd like to stay more inland (perhaps closer to Havana). Cayo Guillermo is a small Cuban paradise and we've had a great two weeks.

Best regards,
Amelia Burgess

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Amelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director_GeneralMCG, General Manager at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017

Hello Amelia B:

We thank you for your comment and it is a pleasure to know that even though the hotel was not entirely to your liking you felt at ease. First we want to thank the suggestions that leave us in which we will work to improve, likewise we can tell you that the hotel is in a process of renovation that will comprise all common areas and rooms, which will give better comfort and quality of service to others Of more esthetic values to the hotel. It mentions that we lie and that we are not five stars, we do not lie at all, the hotel meets all standards to be a hotel of that category, honestly, we are something old, but far from that we fail to meet standards of one five star hotel. So we do not agree with this particular, we are a five star hotel and we will continue to be. We hope you visit us in the future so you can check it out, with all the improvements.

We await you!!!.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

We have just returned from out two week holiday at the Melia Cayo Guillernmo and what a Fantastic holiday we had.
Myself aged 45, my Niece aged 44 and My Daughter who is 16.
The hotel is Lovely and will only get better as there upgrading and making improvements all the time.

Rooms
We had a great room with 3 proper beds that were all comfortable, Plenty of room to hang our clothes, a nice Bathroom (Some upgraded were needed but as I said there making improvements all the time)
Fridge was stocked most days with soft drinks and beer and water was delivered every day. Plenty of Plug sockets to charge phones etc. (not that we used them much) we were on the Third floor which has a lot of stairs as theirs no lift but it didn't bother is.

Pool
The pool was great very warm which was nice, they are making improvements to the pool with a new lining etc. but is a great pool. Plenty of Sun loungers and no need to be up at the crack of dawn to get them
The Pool bar is great, food and drinks 24hrs, swim up bar as well, staff are brilliant, Barbara, Tommy and Lester very helpful friendly and efficient.

The Beach - one word AMAZING!!!! Great pier for you to walk out on with cover if you need to get out of the sun, lots of fishing from the end of the pier and great snorkelling to be had again plenty of sun loungers on the beach and brilliant white sand.

Hotel restaurants - Main restaurant great selection of food to cover all tastes and show cooking, staff will cook all meet and fish fresh just how you like. One thing is it gets very hot in there, let’s hope they fix the Air con quickly (it didn’t spoil our holiday)
International restaurant great atmosphere great food and very talented pianist playing whist you eat.
Bonasi Mediterranean, good food and atmosphere my preference was the International so we went to that twice but Bonasi is also good.

Hotel main bar is good open 24/7 staff really helpful and polite

Animation team a great big shout out to Edele he works so hard and makes a great effort to include everyone

Overall we had a wonderful holiday and can’t wait to come back

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank sandra2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director_GeneralMCG, General Manager at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Hello sandra2501:

We thank you for your comments, we are happy that your holidays have been pleasant with us. About the suggestions you leave us, do not worry that we will be solving them shortly, the renovations will make this hotel much more comfortable, so we invite you to return, first to repeat the experience that well worth it.

We are waiting for you !!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

From june 30th to July 7th, Great trip, overall older hotel but rooms and grounds were kept super clean. Improvements have started but it will be a process. If you like small resorts with the special attention from the staff this is the place for you.Food great for Cuba , buffet needs air conditioing big time and quick! A la carte restaurants very tasty and great service. Beach nothing to say except WOW!!! This was my third time to resort and it did not let me down. Special thanks to all the staff they were great :). Please do not be afraid to reserve .

Room tip: We had room 1224 great place nice balcony in the shade in the afternoon to relax very quiet
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DanieleL1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director_GeneralMCG, General Manager at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Hello Daniele L:

thanks for your comments. It is very good for us to know that after your third visit you will decide to return, that does not make us better and better to surprise you whenever we decide to return. The new air conditioning in the Buffet is being launched soon so the improvement will soon be appreciated. We can also say that the hotel is old, but that charm makes us special. However renovations have already begun and will put us in better conditions compared to other hotels in the area. We invite you to return one more time, you will see that you will have a magnificent holiday ...

We are waiting for you !!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

Me and my Partner stayed at Melia Cayo Guillmero from the 21st June to 6th July 2017. It was our first time in Cuba and we were both excited to relax and spend time together. Although we had a great time on this holiday we would definitely recommend other travellers to make themselves aware of certain aspects of this hotel.

POSITIVES

The hotel is located in a quiet peaceful location however quite isolated and remote from mainland Cuba. We found this a problem when booking excursions as not only it was very expensive for trips outside the hotel as well as a far distance to travel to any shops or towns. The nearest town Moron is 1 1/2 hours away. The staff are friendly and pleasant and there is lovely well maintained grounds within hotel. The beach is beautiful, probably one of the best beaches I have seen, a lovely to walk down. The days we went into the sea to swim it was like the temperature of bath water, just amazing.

NEGATIVES

We are both not picky fussy people and would never usually complain or be critical about anything so was considerably surprised throughout our visit. In general the hotel is good, but you could see some flaws on the maintenance of it. We understand ever hotel cannot please everyone and there is always aspects to improve on to make it the most enjoyable experience for their guests.

Small buffet choice, food in buffet became repetitive quickly specially throughout our stay of 2 weeks. I became ill the first week so was quite hesitant what to eat. There was no cutlery such as dessert spoons near the desserts in the buffet, as well as no cereal bowls near the cereal. We found ourselves repetitively walking through trying to find a very small soup bowl to then walk back to fill up with cereal and eat with a tea spoon. After having to ask the waiters constantly for a spoon as there were none we found it quicker to go near the kitchen where they were located and get one ourselves one rather than waiting for the waiter to serve us. This became a tad frustrating because we thought after asking so many times they would just place spoons on the table automatically.

Understaffed, the staff are very friendly and polite however are overworked it was very clear they needed more staff in the buffet. Occasionally we found we were not offered a drink of water till after we had finished our meal due to how busy the waiters and waitresses were.

No air conditioning in buffet which resulted in it being uncomfortably hot and humid when eating, a particular point for hotel to improve on.

The room was quite dated however in a nice location with a baloney on looking gardens. The bathroom was not the cleanest as shown through the photos I have uploaded. Throughout our duration, the mini bar was never restocked and the beds sounded like they were going to fall apart are not ideal for adults :P. The majority of towels throughout our stay was stained and did not smell fresh, however this was not our main concern. We discovered our bed sheets had not been changed throughout the duration of our stay as there was a stain at the bottom on my bed which had been there since the first coupe of days, slightly worrying.

Although the beach was spectacular, it must be noted there is little available shade for guests on the beach. The couple of huts there was on the beach barely had any thatching for cover from the sun. Even though we love the hot Cuban weather not everyone sunbathes constantly, we would definitely recommend the hotel to provide more adequate shading around the beach and pool.

Me and my partner found this hotel lacked proper disciplined management as there seemed to be no communication between staff. We were offered a private romantic meal on the beach allocated for a set time, which we had confirmed at reception a couple of days before. On the night we walked down to the beach to be sadly surprised to nothing set up and nobody there. After speaking to the customer service manager at reception. Eduardo organised a meal in the international restaurant the following night. However again to our surprise, that night the international restaurant had no booking for us. This is just one of many examples of poor communication between staff resulting in an unprofessional careless approach.

We decided to not complain, as we had approached many other English guests who had complained to management and was told their complaints were taken nowhere. I would suggest management from this hotel takes on board these comments and future recommendations to improve and develop this hotel, as it is minor amendments like mentioned above which will make a massive difference. Overall we were glad to have visited this part of Cuba however if returning in the future we will be visiting a different area.

Best Regards.

Charlotte

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CharRowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director_GeneralMCG, General Manager at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Hello row1996:

We thank you for your comments, we are pleased to know that you enjoy your stay with us despite all the inconveniences that arise. But we assure you that all the details that make us know will be solved during the renovation that the hotel is already having. The rest of the staff suggestions will be analyzed and communicated to the departments involved to improve the overall experience. We invite you to come back in the future to get a better impression of the hotel.

We are waiting for you !!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

Myself mum 43, son 19 and daughter 16 landed back in U.K. Today. I cannot fault the effect all the staff are putting into bringing the hotel into a good current repair. The Cuban people and all staff are incredibly friendly and truly want to see us visit. The food is excellent, location paradise, drinks very good (Diet Coke lacking) rooms more than adequate. Thomas cook excursions fab, entertainment very good. All very Cuban exactly what we wished for. Only problem the aircon wasn't sufficient in buffet but we chose to go in July at 41 degrees. I do not understand previous comments, complaints and negativity, it is what you make it and to embrace this wonderful resort and country we loved every minute and was sad to leave. A week wasn't long enough

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
6  Thank emkae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director_GeneralMCG, General Manager at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Hello emkae:

Thank you for your comments. We are always pleased to know the opinions of our clients, and we will work to resolve the suggestions that make us, and we have only to invite you to return for many other times !!

We are waiting for you !!

Best regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews