We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
stearny12
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom

Melia Cayi Guillermo

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 23, 2017via mobile
Stayed here June 18th for 2weeks. Rooms basic & the only thing cleaned in the room was the bath, sink & toilet but not to a great standard. Pool has a liner in it which was ripped in places & quite often dirty. Main restaurant had no air con on until the day we left, sometimes waited half hour for a drink & omg try & get a spoon!! Entertainment, lazy darts everyday at 10am, occasionally volleyball or water aerobics. In the evening dancers who were good but didn't want to see them nearly every night for two weeks. Lobby bar, pool bar, lack of staff, waited upto 45 mins for a drink on several occasions. Toilets crawling with ants & plenty of mosquitoes, hundreds of people with hundreds of bites. Staff were lovely in the bars & restaurant. Beach is beautiful but wouldn't recommend this hotel, certainly not a 4* (Thomas Cook) 5* Cuba rating. T.C rep Ivan, rude at times & not much help, he was inundated with complaints.
Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this review
Responded Jul 25, 2017
Hello stearny12:

We thank them for their comments, we respect them in the same way but we have to refute their criticism to the service of the customers, when our hotel is characterized by a service of excellence in all areas. Our hotel is old but charming, and welcoming, all are welcome, with enough experience so we do not agree with you, training and hospitality we have left, you can read other reviews, and you will notice, anyway thanks again thanks, and We invite you to come back to repeat another improved experience ...

We wait for you

Best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Trip.com
C$89
Fully refundable
    1.4 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
    StayForLong
    C$88
      79.3 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Restaurant
      Saleta
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      52.5 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Restaurant
      Alojamiento Maite
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      52.5 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Pool
      Restaurant
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      53.2 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Restaurant
      View more hotels in Cayo Guillermo
      Reviews (5,830)
      Filter reviews
      5,830 results
      Traveller rating
      2,752
      1,627
      711
      409
      331
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      2,752
      1,627
      711
      409
      331
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      655 - 660 of 5,830 reviews
      Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile

      We stayed here recently this month as a couples retreat. The hotel does offer lots of different services. For food you can go to the buffet restaurant up to 3 times per day breakfast, lunch and dinner. We also tried the beach restaurant where you chose from a menu, however we only went here once as I'm a pescatarian therefore could only choose one option from the menu 'snapper' but it was still lovely. You could also get snacks at the pool bar when you felt like it such as toasted sandwiches, hot dogs, burgers, chips etc the food at the pool bar was actually cooked very well. We booked the Mediterranean restaurant for one night, you can book these twice per week I'd suggest booking asap.

      With regards to the room, you have air con in the room, TV, dressing table, wardrobe with iron/board etc. Shampoo and conditioner is provided for those of you who don't bring any. And ladies there is a hairdryer! Hallelujah! Our first room had our own balcony which was lovely but we had to relocate rooms after a few days as our air con stopped working and sleeping in that heat was torture we both woke up feeling very ill. Quite a few people had to move rooms because of the same reason. But praise to the hotel for moving us quickly to a lovely air conditioned room! Only let down was we were then on a shared balcony which was a tad strange. Ask on booking for your own balcony. The mini bar in the room was replenished each day but only if your water ran low. We got one can of beer, one can of coke and one bottle of water for two people...
      Your room is cleaned each day which is great. You get 2 beach towels per person so no need to take your own.

      Wifi, for some reason we were under the impression it was included, however it's not, you get internet cards at reception which last for an hour at 1.5 pesos each. You can only access the internet in certain areas (reception or just outside reception in the seating area).

      The all inclusive drinks were great no problems there with service either.

      All the staff were very friendly and accommodating on our stay.

      The hotel has 3 small shops in reception one is a cigar/cigarette shop. One is a souvenir shop. And the last is also a souvenir shop with drinks/ice cream also. You can't buy things such as crisps the only food they sold was crackers. There's a further souvenir shop by the buffet restaurant.

      The pool has two sides, one more relaxing with a pool bar, the other for activities. And a shallower baby pool next to it. The pool is lined with Lino which hasn't been fitted well but it didn't ruin any experience.

      The beach is amazing, the most beautiful beach we have ever seen. You must go scuba diving, we tried it for the first time and loved every minute. The instructors come to the pool daily to offer lessons to anyone who wishes to have a go. I was so nervous however my instructor was so patient and helpful. Great trip. Cost 75 pesos per person. We also went horseriding (book this at the little shack just beyond the pool before the beach) this was 10 pesos each. We went out on a sailboat and went snorkelling in the coral reef 15 pesos each this was also a great trip. Our final trip was at the dolphin centre situated a few minutes drive in a taxi. We did the dolphin swim which was 110 pesos each, the dolphin encounter was 55 each if you didn't want to spend that much. But we highly recommend doing the swim.

      On the beach there's a little shack near some Pedlo boats etc. The kayaks, snorkels and pedlo boats are all included in your stay, you just give them your room number and out you go!

      Tip, you will get eaten alive by mosquitoes take lots of before and after bite spray with you as it can be very costly out there. Also sun cream, take as much with you as possible as it costs a lot out there too.

      This hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport by bus which is great.

      Overall a great experience of Cuba that we will remember forever.

      A big thanks to all the staff of melia.

      Date of stay: July 2017
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      7  Thank CJR24
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

      Hello CJR24:

      Thank you for your comments, and for all the explanation you make of our hotel, it's also good to know that your holidays have been special next to us, we just want to invite you to repeat the experience again, we are getting better so your next visit will be much more Fun and complete !! We are waiting for you !!

      Best regards.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed July 16, 2017

      OK, my wife and I had a really good time here ... it was exactly what we expected for a 4 star in Cuba. . The food was excellent throughout the hotel, drinks were plentiful but occasionally they ran out of certain drinks which was a bit annoying. . Silly things let this hotel down like the pool lining was torn and lumpy, the air con in the main restaurant was not working so eating your evening meal was just about impossible, the 24 hour snack bar never had a chef so you couldn't even get get something to eat so as not to use the restaurant, West also got some items stolen from our room .. not expensive things but face wipes and hair products ( things we could not buy there ) so that's maybe why they went. .. we finished up locking everything back in our case which is not how we like to spend a holiday. . However after having a meeting with the new main manager ( who had only just got there ) all of our concerns were dealt with almost immediately. . A lot of the concerns he was not aware of. .ie no chef etc and he dealt with them almost instantly. . He promised the pool would be repaired and likewise the air con in the restaurant and I believed him so hopefully he will it back up to standard. .. I am seriously considering going back next summer because all in all it was a great holiday. . The staff were great and couldn't do enough for you providing you treat them as you would like to be treated , which to me is just plain good manners. .So would it recommend this hotel ?? Yes I would ... Just remember it's Cuba and you will be fine. ...

      Room tip: My wife has sciatica and needs a ground floor room so we simply e.mailed the hotel before going and we got one instantly
      Date of stay: June 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      5  Thank dieseldaveperkins
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Director_GeneralMCG, General Manager at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

      Hello dieseldaveperkins.

      Thank you for your comment, it is a pleasure to know that you will return again, you will see that the experience will be even better. We appreciate your suggestions in which we will work to resolve and make better the service of the hotel. Likewise, we are investigating with respect to their losses, but we can say that these items can be bought in the country, so it is not an excuse but it, is a reality, therefore it would have to assess the possibility of another customer robbing you. Anyway we work to make our hotel more secure, which is already.

      We will be waiting for you in the future ..

      Best regards.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

      I would very much recommend this hotel. That is if you're expectations haven't advanced since the early 2000's, this is one of the most disappointing places I've stayed in a long time.

      It's a shame that I have to write this review as the hotel is situated on a wonderful beach with warm Caribbean seas. Unfortunately the hotel lets itself down in many ways and I feel people should get an honest review before coming here, despite being relatively cheap.

      I have been here almost a week and am yet to have my bedding changed, the bed is just folded back over every day, I know this as there is sand in my bed from day one at the beach. The bed is also incredible I comfy with springs poking into my back through the mattress. The aircon in my room is working although from what I hear this is a rarity as many friends here have had to move rooms during their stay. The bathroom has no plug and my fridge has yet to be replenished except for with water since I got here - there should be juices beer and cola as stated. The door to the balcony does not lock, luckily being on the first floor this is relatively safe but could understand this could be an issue if lower down.

      The food in the international restaurant was pretty good although perhaps after being used to relatively poor standards all week this is the reason why. Tonight I waited for 45 minutes for a pizza only for the chef to have forgotten and to find it funny and laugh with his colleagues. The snack bar by the pool does good tuna and chicken baguettes, the burger was so greasy it soaked through the paper plate.

      There is wifi In this hotel, just only in reception and available at a cost through a card based system. Very 1990's, I had better wifi In Africa recently.

      The staff here are mostly very friendly although some could learn to smile, if they dislike their job this much then perhaps at least disguise it from the guests, the omelette lady at breakfast comes to mind :(

      The grounds here are generally well looked after and the ground staff friendly and always willing to get a coconut or mango from the tree!

      All in all I would give this hotel a 2 star rating based on European standards, do not be fooled my local ratings. As I said before it's a shame as I'm sure 20 years ago this hotel was great but right now everything is tired, broken or poor in quality. Some serious money needs to be spent renovating this to an acceptable standard. I would avoid for the time being unless you can look past the hotel and enjoy the beautiful beach!!!

      Date of stay: July 2017
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      5  Thank W1309ZNbenw
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

      Hello Ben W:

      Thank you for your comments. It is a shame that the hotel has not been to its liking, for now we accept its recommendations and amend them in the furturo if you decide to return, anyway the hotel is in the face of renovation which will give more Modernity, comfort and luxury to the whole Installation. Wi-Fi is not a service provided by the hotel, and it is at the same speed throughout the country. We hope to see you again so that you can enjoy the hotel with all the changes that we have raised and with all the improvements.

      We await you.

      A greeting.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed July 14, 2017

      We were expecting a bit of luxury, but this hotel didn't really meet our expectations.

      We had paid for their best room romantic junior suite in the resort, but it was just 2 adjoining rooms, and the second had another bed in it as well. this was definitely more suited to a small family than a romantic break.
      Also with no sea view and somewhat surround by Yogies at certain times of the day.

      The buildings of the resort are very standard for Cuban resorts, but concrete boxes are not really my thing, so it felt quite uninspiring.
      The pool was a decent size but there was never a space by it, and also games and exercises classes were held frequently so quite noisy and possibly an area to avoid if your look for peace and quiet.

      The food was pretty standard for Cuba as well, and with most other places the bookable restaurants serve the better food if you can get a table, so book in as soon as you arrive. The pizza place was decent, and you can get the rest of your pizza to go, so ask for a box. The lunch place nearer the beach was great, at least the food was nice and fresh cooked, but it did seem as though the staff were not happy to see anyone in there!

      The beach is lovely though, and away from the path leading to it is very quiet and there are some areas of shade as well. I am not sure why this hotel doesn't choose to clear all the sea weed and sea detritus from the edge of the sand like most of the other resorts. It wouldn't take that much effort and would greatly improve the look of the sand all the way to the sea.
      Generally not enough shade as we found everyone had already taken the good spots, so we would suggest that the staff put out extra shade and loungers as it can get really hot.

      The free drinks were not great, but you tip and they become marginally better, we preferred to pay extra for ours at the bar as they were worth it.

      We took the bus to Pilar beach one day, but this was not worth it at all. Unfortunately the beach has been ruined by construction and is thinner and not half as nice as the beach out the front of the hotel.

      All in all we had a nice stay, we made the most of it, but were generally disappointed by the quality.

      Room tip: Don't pay extra for a suite, it doesn't get you anything more and there is no view
      Date of stay: June 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Jenjwilliams
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

      Hello Jenny W:

      Thank you for your comments, we regret that the experience was not what was desired, which shows that we have to continue working to make a more interesting product. We also thank you for the suggestions you leave us, we will bring them to improve them, and we are soon building new palapas on the beach so that there is more shade and more comfort. We can only give ourselves the task to improve, and invite you again to check these improvements.

      We await you.

      Best regards.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed July 13, 2017

      The hotel has a real Cuban colonial feel about it. It is right on the beach.
      The Coca Diving Centre is located on the Hotel Site so you can spend more time scuba diving and snorkelling.
      Could not fault the quality and selection of the food at the buffet restaurant and other specialist restaurants. The staff are friendly helpful and welcoming.
      Could not fault our holiday at this hotel. Will go back in the future.

      Room tip: There may be lots of stairs and no lift. The tiled floors can be slippery when wet.
      Date of stay: June 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      3  Thank stephencW4575HV
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Director_GeneralMCG, General Manager at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017

      Hello Stephen C,

      Thank you for your comments and we hope you will come back many more times to enjoy the charm of our hotel, it will always be a pleasure to welcome you in our facilities. The dive center does not belong to the hotel but we have the best relationships with its staff, and we often share so we are also like families. We are waiting for you on your next visit !!!


      Best regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews