We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nela P
Sutivan, Croatia

Beautiful beach

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 15, 2020
This is our second stay in Melia Cayo Guillermo and definitely not the last. Our room was really nice and we could enjoy the sundown on the terrace every night. The whole hotel is very clean and the employes do their best to make you feel good. Especially the entertaiment team makes an incredible effort, day in, day out. Many, many thanks to Amel Toirac who made us feel at home, he is doing his job really good, not only entertaining us, but feel like a family!
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this review
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Hello 322nelap:

Thank you very much for letting us know your comment on the site. Our apologies for delaying the delivery of the rooms upon arrival, thank you for giving us a second chance to get to know us more in depth and to provide you with everything we had in store for you. Likewise, thank you for the recognition of our staff, who are dedicated and continue to strive to provide the best service to our customers. The invitation is made for you to visit us on your next vacation, to together share again as the great family that we are.

We wait for you again ...

Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen
Director General / General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
    2.3 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
    C$95
      79.8 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Beachfront
      Restaurant
      C$374
        52.0 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        Saleta
        C$49
        Get rewarded with One Key
        • Vio.com
        53.0 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
        Restaurant
        • Expedia.com
        53.8 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
        Restaurant
        Alojamiento Maite
        Contact accommodation for availability.
        53.0 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
        Pool
        Restaurant
        View more hotels in Cayo Guillermo
        Reviews (5,829)
        Filter reviews
        5,829 results
        Traveller rating
        2,751
        1,627
        711
        409
        331
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        2,751
        1,627
        711
        409
        331
        See what travellers are saying:
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        17 - 22 of 5,829 reviews
        Reviewed March 13, 2020

        We just returned from a vacation at the MCG. Rooms are dated and not the cleanest. Although, our cleaning lady was amazing and made towel animals everyday. But the textured walls are difficult to clean, the bath towels are stained. The bed was clean.

        The air conditioning worked in my room, however it either didn’t work or there were problems with it in our friends’ room. The hot water was unreliable. The phones also didn’t work all the time. A large section of the resort is closed for renovations.

        The resort didn’t seem to have many clients at all. Which was nice because Beach/pool chairs were always available.

        The beach is gorgeous. White soft sand, there is some sea grass. Huts on the beach were also easy to find.

        The staff. There are some wonderful staff at this resort, the dining area, snack bar, gardeners and towel hut ladies/gentlemen are very friendly. The buffet room waitstaff is great. The bellboys were very helpful.

        However, the cooks in the buffet for the most part are cranky. It seems like it’s an inconvenience for them to make food at their stations for you. This did put a damper on meals as I normally Enjoy those stations. The front desk staff is very curt and not welcoming. The coffee bar staff is hit or miss as well. One senor and one senorita there were very friendly, the rest seemed annoyed that you were asking them for anything.

        The resort also seemed to run out of things frequently. Red or white wine, flavoured liquors, different foods to name a few. If you asked for the same drink a few times, it was different each time.

        Th pool is shallow and fun to play in. Water is clean. The only day that the swim up bar had service was when the Melia owners/upper management were visiting the property. All other days, people were left to wait until they finally gave up and went to the snack Bar.

        The evening entertainment is limited to dancers.

        All in all, I’m sad to say I won’t return to this resort. There were just too many issues occurring daily that really tainted our vacation. Cuba is going through hard times. I have talked to others who stayed at different resorts in different areas and they had a similar experience. So maybe this is an country wide issue?

        We brought a whole suitcase of items to give away. I wish I could have brought more.

        Date of stay: March 2020
        Trip type: Travelled with friends
        1  Thank AtlanticTravelgal
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2020

        Hello

        Thank you for your comments, we took note about all your dissatisfaction's and your opinions and we are working to improve our product, we work on it, also we took the corresponding measures will be taken with the responsible personnel.
        We confirm that the hotel is in a gradual process of improvements that will provide modernity that will refresh the image of the whole installation. We recommend that you visit and follow our Facebook page and you will know about all the improvements that we propose.

        Our apologies for all perceived inconveniences..
        Sincerely.......

        Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen
        General Manager

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed March 11, 2020

        This is a small (300 room) resort. It is very nice and clean, but showing it's age a bit. The beach is beautiful white sand, great for long walks. The water is shallow and crystal clear. There is a long pier on the beach. It was not very busy when we visited, so there was never a shortage of beach or pool chairs. We like to relax, and this was a great place for it. The food was good and tasty, although there was not always great variety. We found it was best to arrive at the buffet early. Every staff member we dealt with was friendly and helpful, especially Lesbany (I hope I spelled it correctly) one of the waiters in the buffet. He went out of his way to make us feel at home. Each evening there was very good live music in the lobby, or outside, depending on the weather. This was our second visit to Cuba, first time at this resort, and we hope to return. The people in Cuba always make us feel as though they really appreciate Canadian tourists choosing to visit Cuba.

        Date of stay: March 2020
          • Location
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank O8322PDpaul
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2020

        Hello O8322PDpaul:

        First of all, thank you very much for your encouraging comment, it is our duty and obligation, to make our clients deposit all their trust in us, this being the basis of our work. Also thank the recognition of our staff, which is delivered and continues striving to give the best service to our customers. Thank you very much for the personal recommendation !! then I exhort you to follow us on our social network Facebook, so that you are aware of the updates and activities that take place in our hotel, because it is already one of us ... because now it is part of the Great Family that is Melia Cayo Guillermo ...

        With the greatest affections ...
        Best Regards

        Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen
        Director general / General Manager

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed March 10, 2020

        When we arrived at the resort the staff was very welcoming and extremely helpful. Our room was ready about an hour after arrival and upon entering the room was dated(that's Cuba) but immaculately clean. The staff was more than accommodating and after a few days, it almost felt as if we were family. We stayed at this resort for a month and never once did we have any major issues. If something wasn't quite right the issue was fixed immediately. The buffet was incredible with an abundance of main dishes, salad, and desserts. The staff at the buffet were friendly and very helpful along with guest services. There were plenty of excursions to keep you busy and they were reasonably priced. The maintenance staff kept the landscaping immaculate and all were very friendly and accommodating. A couple of the workers even put a clothes line for us so we could hang out our clothes, as there are no laundry facilities available, but one of the employees offered to take our laundry home which she did and when she gave us our laundry back they were neatly folded and super clean. When we offered to pay her, she was very upset and refused. I could go on and on about how we were treated, but that would take forever. We will be returning next year to again meet our Cuban family but this time with our family. Looking forward to our next stay at The Melia Cayo Guillermo.

        Room tip: Higher floors have a better view of the beach
        Date of stay: February 2020
          • Value
          • Rooms
          • Service
        Thank CayoGuillermo
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2020

        Hello CayoGuillermo:

        Thank you very much for your comments, it´s a pleasure to us to serve you and I am happy that you feel pleased in everything, we love to meet our clients and make them feel like family and gor that, we took note about what you tell us. Thank you for recognizing the work of our team and our services.Thank you very much for the personal recommendation !! then I exhort you to follow us on our social network Facebook, so that you are aware of the updates and activities that take place in our hotel, because it is already one of us ... because now it is part of the Great Family that is Melia Cayo Guillermo...

        See you!!
        Best Regards

        Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen
        General Manager / Director General

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed March 5, 2020

        My sisters, a friend, and myself had another great vacation this year. It was the first time for my friend and one sister, and they are already looking forward to returning. Plenty selection of food. Great atmosphere, very lovely staff, and the most beautiful beaches. Entertainment nightly. Beautiful view from our rooms. The most relaxing vacation anyone could ask for.

        Room tip: All rooms have a beautiful ocean view.
        Date of stay: February 2020
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Service
        1  Thank LorettaG140
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2020

        Hello LorettaG140:

        First of all, thank you very much for your encouraging comment, it is our duty and obligation, to make our clients deposit all their trust in us, this being the basis of our work. Also thank the recognition of our staff, which is delivered and continues striving to give the best service to our customers.

        Thank you very much for the personal recommendation and once again thank you for your support !! So we exhort you to follow us on our social network Facebook, where you can find our updates and activities that take place in our hotel, because it is already one of us ... because you are part of the Great Family that is Melia Cayo Guillermo ...

        With the greatest affections ...
        Best Regards

        Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen
        Director general / General Manager

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed March 3, 2020

        The only saving grace about this property is the helpful, hardworking staff. Beautiful beach but otherwise a disaster. Non-functioning toilets, sporadic menu, arbitrary money changing policies at front desk, shortages of food/ beverages, you name it, it happened. In-room safes that are broken, mold in bathrooms, I could keep going. This property is a two-star at best. Proceed with caution.

        Room tip: Balcony rooms give you a good view
        Date of stay: February 2020
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank D4680RSbarbw
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2020

        Hello D4680RSbarbw:

        Thank you for your comments, we apologize for the perception that you have had. We took note about all your inconveniences and we thank you again for your point of view and we will work to improve our product and the quality of the services in general, particularly we've discussed with the heads of departments to rectify all procedures so that in the shortest period we solve all these problems and recover confidence in our product.

        In fact, the hotel has an improvement program that is more likely to be more extensive and more functional than the current one.We recommend that you visit and follow our social network for you will know about all the improvements that we propose. And so if you decide to visit us again. Our apologies for all the inconveniences persisted.

        We wait for you again.
        Best Regards

        Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen
        Director General / General Manager

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        View more reviews