We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Diana-Laura M

Diana

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 17, 2020via mobile
I just love Melia Cayo Guillermo, definitely will come back!!the hotel very nice,clean,the food good,the people amazing! !!!the most beautiful beach,the pasarela,I loved it the most!the front desk service very helpful,the buffet people very nicee,just loved their service!!thank you Mcg
Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this review
Responded Mar 19, 2020
Hello 75dianalauram:

Fist all, thank you very much for you comment, it´s good to know that our hotel was the special place for you and felt welcomed. Our reason for being is to make customers feel at home and feel satisfied with the service provided. Thanks for recognize our staff, that is well trained and professional, and thanks for your personal recommendation!!! we will wait for you, it will be a pleasure to have you back !!! Thanks for choosing us and follow us on our social networks and you will feel a little closer to us. We hope to see you soon here, to enjoy a wonderful beach and again have an excellent time.

See you soon Family!!
Best regards.

Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen
Director General / General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
    79.8 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    Saleta
    C$49
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Vio.com
    53.0 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
    Restaurant
    Alojamiento Maite
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    53.0 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    53.8 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Cayo Guillermo
    Reviews (5,829)
    Filter reviews
    5,829 results
    Traveller rating
    2,751
    1,627
    711
    409
    331
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    2,751
    1,627
    711
    409
    331
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    15 - 20 of 5,829 reviews
    Reviewed March 16, 2020

    we enjoyed all aspects of our stay at MeliaCayi Guillermo. our room was spacious and very clean. The beach was beautiful. the food was good with lots of chois, and the staff were friendly and helpfull. the evening shows were fun to see. we had a relaxing and a great holiday... we will return soon

    Date of stay: March 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank stevepL8942XY
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2020

    Hello stevepL8942XY:

    Thank you very much for your comments, it´s a pleasure to us to serve you and I am happy that you feel pleased in everything. Thank you for recognizing our services and thank you very much for the personal recommendation !! So I exhort you to follow us on our social network Facebook, so that you are aware of the updates and activities that take place in our hotel, because you are already one of us ...

    See you!!
    Best Regards

    Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen
    General Manager / Director General

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed March 15, 2020

    This is our second stay in Melia Cayo Guillermo and definitely not the last. Our room was really nice and we could enjoy the sundown on the terrace every night. The whole hotel is very clean and the employes do their best to make you feel good. Especially the entertaiment team makes an incredible effort, day in, day out. Many, many thanks to Amel Toirac who made us feel at home, he is doing his job really good, not only entertaining us, but feel like a family!

    Date of stay: March 2020
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank 322nelap
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2020

    Hello 322nelap:

    Thank you very much for letting us know your comment on the site. Our apologies for delaying the delivery of the rooms upon arrival, thank you for giving us a second chance to get to know us more in depth and to provide you with everything we had in store for you. Likewise, thank you for the recognition of our staff, who are dedicated and continue to strive to provide the best service to our customers. The invitation is made for you to visit us on your next vacation, to together share again as the great family that we are.

    We wait for you again ...

    Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen
    Director General / General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed March 13, 2020

    We just returned from a vacation at the MCG. Rooms are dated and not the cleanest. Although, our cleaning lady was amazing and made towel animals everyday. But the textured walls are difficult to clean, the bath towels are stained. The bed was clean.

    The air conditioning worked in my room, however it either didn’t work or there were problems with it in our friends’ room. The hot water was unreliable. The phones also didn’t work all the time. A large section of the resort is closed for renovations.

    The resort didn’t seem to have many clients at all. Which was nice because Beach/pool chairs were always available.

    The beach is gorgeous. White soft sand, there is some sea grass. Huts on the beach were also easy to find.

    The staff. There are some wonderful staff at this resort, the dining area, snack bar, gardeners and towel hut ladies/gentlemen are very friendly. The buffet room waitstaff is great. The bellboys were very helpful.

    However, the cooks in the buffet for the most part are cranky. It seems like it’s an inconvenience for them to make food at their stations for you. This did put a damper on meals as I normally Enjoy those stations. The front desk staff is very curt and not welcoming. The coffee bar staff is hit or miss as well. One senor and one senorita there were very friendly, the rest seemed annoyed that you were asking them for anything.

    The resort also seemed to run out of things frequently. Red or white wine, flavoured liquors, different foods to name a few. If you asked for the same drink a few times, it was different each time.

    Th pool is shallow and fun to play in. Water is clean. The only day that the swim up bar had service was when the Melia owners/upper management were visiting the property. All other days, people were left to wait until they finally gave up and went to the snack Bar.

    The evening entertainment is limited to dancers.

    All in all, I’m sad to say I won’t return to this resort. There were just too many issues occurring daily that really tainted our vacation. Cuba is going through hard times. I have talked to others who stayed at different resorts in different areas and they had a similar experience. So maybe this is an country wide issue?

    We brought a whole suitcase of items to give away. I wish I could have brought more.

    Date of stay: March 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    1  Thank AtlanticTravelgal
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2020

    Hello

    Thank you for your comments, we took note about all your dissatisfaction's and your opinions and we are working to improve our product, we work on it, also we took the corresponding measures will be taken with the responsible personnel.
    We confirm that the hotel is in a gradual process of improvements that will provide modernity that will refresh the image of the whole installation. We recommend that you visit and follow our Facebook page and you will know about all the improvements that we propose.

    Our apologies for all perceived inconveniences..
    Sincerely.......

    Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed March 11, 2020

    This is a small (300 room) resort. It is very nice and clean, but showing it's age a bit. The beach is beautiful white sand, great for long walks. The water is shallow and crystal clear. There is a long pier on the beach. It was not very busy when we visited, so there was never a shortage of beach or pool chairs. We like to relax, and this was a great place for it. The food was good and tasty, although there was not always great variety. We found it was best to arrive at the buffet early. Every staff member we dealt with was friendly and helpful, especially Lesbany (I hope I spelled it correctly) one of the waiters in the buffet. He went out of his way to make us feel at home. Each evening there was very good live music in the lobby, or outside, depending on the weather. This was our second visit to Cuba, first time at this resort, and we hope to return. The people in Cuba always make us feel as though they really appreciate Canadian tourists choosing to visit Cuba.

    Date of stay: March 2020
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank O8322PDpaul
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2020

    Hello O8322PDpaul:

    First of all, thank you very much for your encouraging comment, it is our duty and obligation, to make our clients deposit all their trust in us, this being the basis of our work. Also thank the recognition of our staff, which is delivered and continues striving to give the best service to our customers. Thank you very much for the personal recommendation !! then I exhort you to follow us on our social network Facebook, so that you are aware of the updates and activities that take place in our hotel, because it is already one of us ... because now it is part of the Great Family that is Melia Cayo Guillermo ...

    With the greatest affections ...
    Best Regards

    Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen
    Director general / General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed March 10, 2020

    When we arrived at the resort the staff was very welcoming and extremely helpful. Our room was ready about an hour after arrival and upon entering the room was dated(that's Cuba) but immaculately clean. The staff was more than accommodating and after a few days, it almost felt as if we were family. We stayed at this resort for a month and never once did we have any major issues. If something wasn't quite right the issue was fixed immediately. The buffet was incredible with an abundance of main dishes, salad, and desserts. The staff at the buffet were friendly and very helpful along with guest services. There were plenty of excursions to keep you busy and they were reasonably priced. The maintenance staff kept the landscaping immaculate and all were very friendly and accommodating. A couple of the workers even put a clothes line for us so we could hang out our clothes, as there are no laundry facilities available, but one of the employees offered to take our laundry home which she did and when she gave us our laundry back they were neatly folded and super clean. When we offered to pay her, she was very upset and refused. I could go on and on about how we were treated, but that would take forever. We will be returning next year to again meet our Cuban family but this time with our family. Looking forward to our next stay at The Melia Cayo Guillermo.

    Room tip: Higher floors have a better view of the beach
    Date of stay: February 2020
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank CayoGuillermo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2020

    Hello CayoGuillermo:

    Thank you very much for your comments, it´s a pleasure to us to serve you and I am happy that you feel pleased in everything, we love to meet our clients and make them feel like family and gor that, we took note about what you tell us. Thank you for recognizing the work of our team and our services.Thank you very much for the personal recommendation !! then I exhort you to follow us on our social network Facebook, so that you are aware of the updates and activities that take place in our hotel, because it is already one of us ... because now it is part of the Great Family that is Melia Cayo Guillermo...

    See you!!
    Best Regards

    Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen
    General Manager / Director General

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews