We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tami s

Very nice stay at Meliá Cayo Coco

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 21, 2022
We feel very happy to have visited this hotel, everything here has been really nice, good service and good attention. We cannot complain about the quality and variety of the food that we have received. In terms of drinks and cocktail preparations, all very good. When we compare everything that we experienced here with respect to other hotels in which we have been in Cuba, it really is much higher in service, attention standards. The beach is beautiful, the pool is very clean and welcoming, and the room is impeccable. This is the place where we would like to return once more.We want to thank to Yanquiel the Prince, Gippsy, the girls and guys at the lobby bar, and the entertainment team for having been so kind with us and making us live experiences. We will come back.
Date of stay: December 2022
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Saleta
C$48
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
53.0 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
Restaurant
Alojamiento Maite
Contact accommodation for availability.
53.0 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
Pool
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
53.8 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Reviews (5,830)
Filter reviews
5,830 results
Traveller rating
2,752
1,627
711
409
331
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,752
1,627
711
409
331
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 5,830 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2020

Some things by looking at the reviews,never change.Old run down moldy hotel in need of major repairs or even better-tear it down and start over.Shame on Melia for advertising this dump as a 4-5 star.We were 10 year Melia Hotel customers but never again will i give them my hard earned money.Lack of good service,lack of drinks,lack of toilet paper,lack of a.c,lack of running water,lack of bottled water,ect.Nice beach but location is in no mans land and not much to do in this area.My recomondation is save your money and avoid this hotel or any other run by Melia,don't seem to care much but taking your money.Satifaction ''not'' guaranteed.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sreylf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen , Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2021

Hello Sreylf:

Thanks for your comments, and we also appreciate your suggestions, which we will solve in order to provide a much better service. We regret the inconveniences suffered, and as I said we will solve them so that you can trust our product again.

Likewise, we encourage you to return with us to restore your confidence, if you choose ...

We are waiting for you !!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2020

A group of us just came back from Melia Cayo Guillermo. It was a fantastic trip. The place is beautiful & relaxing. The staff was kind, professional & helpful. The entertainment was top notch, the best I have seen in years, very talented group. We would definitely go back to this place again. Also the food was very good & the desserts were outstanding. It was a joy to stay there for two weeks.
Cheryl & Gerry Duffy

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank S8552DFcheryld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen , Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2021

Hello S8552DFcheryld:

Thank you very much for your comment, we work so that the client enjoys and especially that he feels comfortable and at home. For us, it is a pleasure that our hotel has been to your liking, especially that you enjoyed the activities that we had prepared for you. Thank you for recognizing the work of all our staff, especially that of the animation team, to all of them we will send your comments.
We exhort you to follow us on our social network Facebook, so that you are aware of the updates and activities that take place in our hotel. we're not Meliá now but you can find us like Camino Del Mar Cayo Guillermo

See you soon
Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen
Director general / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2020

3rd stay at this resort and never a disappointment!! Its a smaller intimate resort with great management and staff who are always around and asking if you need anything. Very friendly and make you feel part of a family.. lots of upgrades and renos being done which is very nice to see. The food was amazing, yes you read that right-The a la cartes were great and the buffet had build your own pizza, the newly rebuilt beach Rachon had fabulous food, our group loved the calamari. Lounge has fab cappacinos and Irish coffees. Yes the rooms are a little dated, but they are clean and working, have a great view and some towel and blanket art always awaits you. Clean is more important than decor. check in was good, they accommodated a special request. The beach is the best.. white fine sand, the pier is great, always fishing going on. Can get a little windy some days but if it's an annoyance to you, you head up to the pool.. I'm hoping to do a family trip here for Christmas that is how much I love this resort and would highly recommend it. Keep up the great work MCG, see you all again soon!!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank loriwA273UR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen , Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2021

Dear Dear Paulette46

Thank you very much for your nice comment about our resort. We're very glad you had a great time with us and you met a lot of people here that made your holidays very special. I will pass your comments to our team, they will be very happy to hear this. You will be very welcome at the hotel any time you wish until then all our best wishes

Regards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2020

First time to Cuba, and not the last! A nice sized resort (not too big & not too small) with nice grounds. What can you say about the beach? Just incredible! The staff are friendly and even the local cats. Edel & Maravaella in the buffet dining were wonderful. Our chambermaid Niurka always surprised us with towel sculptures. The evening entertainment was different every night and the musicianship was incredible. The resort is in relatively good shape but could use some TLC to brighten things up. I would certainly return as my wife and I enjoyed ourselves.

Date of stay: March 2020
2  Thank YULGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen , Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2021

Hello YULGreg,

Thank you for your comments, We're glad to know that our hotel has been to your liking and that you made a positive discovery, that comforts and rewards us. We hope you visit us again and this time as your first choice, we will be happy to see you again. We will welcome you with pleasure and will therefore have the special attentions that characterize us ... We will let or team to know about your comment, they will be pleased!!
We invite you to visit us again!!!

We are waiting for you !!

Best regards.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2020

This was our first time staying at Melia Cayo Guillermo and our first time in the Cayo area. We had the best Cuba Vacation Ever!! We were there March 9th to the 19th 2020. The moment you arrive you become captivated by the entrance and lobby. Absolutely beautiful. The staff were all amazing, we especially note that the front desk staff were very accomodating, Eduardo was superb and managed to swith us to an upgraded room on our second day there. Every day we saw him he always had a smile and checked with us to ensure all was okay. All of the staff working at the pool snack bar were wonderful. What a fun group of people they were. They were always singing, laughing and provided great service. We also appreciated that we could get a later breakfast at the pool snack bar.
The lobby bar was okay, we found the staff to be less friendly and it lacked the welcome feeling ambiance. We often felt it was inconvenient to serve guests. They do make a fantastic Spanish Coffee though!!
We found the food to be very good, there was always something on the buffet to enjoy. Edel was our most favorite at the buffet, always smiling and ensuring we had everything we wanted.
Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. We slept very well. ( we had a jr suite,) The mini bar was stocked daily and the maid folded our towels into swans every day
The beach, well it is fantastic, crystal clear water, plentiful palapas for shade and lounge chairs. Not once could we not get a lounge in the shade.
The pool is beautiful and again there are plenty of poolside lounge chairs.
This is a smaller resort with just over 300 rooms which is what we like, yet it seems spacious. The gardens are gorgeous and give you a nice place to walk and just take a moment. We are both in our 60's so we truly appreciated the resort size and the layout.
I can't say enough about this resort and we look forward to returning hopefully next year. And a huge shout out to Carlos, the General Manager. This gentleman really cares about the guest experience.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaileegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen , Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2021

Hello Kaileegirl:

Thank you very much for your comment, we work so that the client enjoys and especially that he feels comfortable and at home. For us, it is a pleasure that our hotel has been to your liking, especially that you enjoyed the activities that we had prepared for you. Thank you for recognizing the work of all our staff, to all of them we will send your comments.
We exhort you to follow us on our social network Facebook, so that you are aware of the updates and activities that take place in our hotel, We're not longuer meliá but you can find Camino Del Mar Cayo Guillermo, there are all the updates there.

have a greate day!!

See you soon
Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen
Director general / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews