We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dave
Salford, United Kingdom

Just as fantastic as ever!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 13, 2023via mobile
We stayed at this hotel once again having not been since before covid 19.
The place is just as beautiful as ever was and the staff are just as helpful and kind as they ever were.
There are shortage issues in Cuba which span both hotels and the country in general. This needs to be understood before judgment is made. These shortages hit nobody harder than the Cuban people themselves.
This does not affect the outstanding service given by every single member of staff at the hotel.

We still managed to get by on Steak and lobsters washed down with Cristal beer and Havana club rum and I cannot wait to return!
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
StayForLong
C$94
    79.3 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
    Restaurant
    Saleta
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    52.5 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
    Restaurant
    Alojamiento Maite
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    52.5 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    53.2 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Cayo Guillermo
    Reviews (5,830)
    Filter reviews
    5,830 results
    Traveller rating
    2,752
    1,627
    711
    409
    331
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    2,752
    1,627
    711
    409
    331
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 5,830 reviews
    Reviewed February 28, 2023 via mobile

    The location itself is beautiful.. beach is nice despite some seaweed.
    The rooms are dated but we don’t spend much time there anyway.
    The food is atrocious.
    The A la Cartes are closed due to lack of guests they say.. so our only option is the buffet. I’ve been to Cuba before and several other places in the Caribbean and we are not picky eaters. The options are extremely limited. You have a choice between putrid mystery meat and unidentifiable mush. There’s NO rice, cheese, fries, pizza, pasta. The buffet itself smells overwhelmingly of feces as soon as you walk in the door. The tables and place settings are dirty.
    They have a cocktail menu but you cannot order 75% of it. They’ve given up restocking our water in our room on the second day…
    Worst experience we have ever had at an all inclusive.. by far.
    And before you say that you get what you pay for.. it cost us $1600 CAD.
    Our friends are at the starfish which has a lesser rating and is 10 minutes away and said the food and services are incredible. Yikes.

    Date of stay: February 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    1  Thank G2665UHtaylorb
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed February 8, 2023

    Not an amazing resort.
    Hotel is nice. Not great. It has been freshly painted and cleaned. The beds were firm and the A/C worked. But they had water problems for two days. When I complained, some of the front desk were clueless. There was no water for two days. I mean no water. The front desk said it was not their problem as some water main was broken in Moron (a city where water comes from). They fixed the problem two days later and the hot water was luke warm. This was OK with me. Ashamed to say that I soaped myself at the side pool and jumped in to wash at the end of the 2nd day.

    The phones in the room were not working. No dial tone. My friends and I are seniors. If one of us were in medical distress, there was nowhere to call. It would have been a cold body to find the next day when the maid came in. What is the matter with these cubans ? They depend on Canadians to pay their bills and cannot fix something basic like a phone line (no internet in the rooms). The tourists that were there were mostly cubans and a few canadians. The cubans were overloading their plates with food and tipping into their bags at their table. In the open. Unfortunately, the environment was not a concern to the cubans as cigarette butts were strewn on the floor in the lobby and the bars.

    On the good side, the weather was great and the staff was not too aggressive looking for tips (like in Varadero). Ask for a non-smoking room and if you are older, ask for a ground floor room. The food is good with a variety of salads and the wait staff is polite and friendly. I did not find any shortages. There was plenty of beer, rum and vodka. The food is good with a variety of salads and the wait staff is polite and friendly.

    If you are going to Pilar beack (a popular attraction site), take a small fold-able light 3 or 4 legged chair. They are available in some dollar stores and they are enough to support your behind. I say this as they have plastic beach chairs and are asking $5 US on credit card on the deck where they sell $10 US drinks. They will also take cash but you have to give it to a negro who pockets it. No local money is accepted. Go figure !. (Cuban stores will not take their own national currency)

    Date of stay: January 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    3  Thank numeronoh
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed December 21, 2022

    We feel very happy to have visited this hotel, everything here has been really nice, good service and good attention. We cannot complain about the quality and variety of the food that we have received. In terms of drinks and cocktail preparations, all very good. When we compare everything that we experienced here with respect to other hotels in which we have been in Cuba, it really is much higher in service, attention standards. The beach is beautiful, the pool is very clean and welcoming, and the room is impeccable. This is the place where we would like to return once more.We want to thank to Yanquiel the Prince, Gippsy, the girls and guys at the lobby bar, and the entertainment team for having been so kind with us and making us live experiences. We will come back.

    Date of stay: December 2022
    2  Thank Tami s
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed November 12, 2020

    Some things by looking at the reviews,never change.Old run down moldy hotel in need of major repairs or even better-tear it down and start over.Shame on Melia for advertising this dump as a 4-5 star.We were 10 year Melia Hotel customers but never again will i give them my hard earned money.Lack of good service,lack of drinks,lack of toilet paper,lack of a.c,lack of running water,lack of bottled water,ect.Nice beach but location is in no mans land and not much to do in this area.My recomondation is save your money and avoid this hotel or any other run by Melia,don't seem to care much but taking your money.Satifaction ''not'' guaranteed.

    Date of stay: December 2019
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank Sreylf
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen , Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2021

    Hello Sreylf:

    Thanks for your comments, and we also appreciate your suggestions, which we will solve in order to provide a much better service. We regret the inconveniences suffered, and as I said we will solve them so that you can trust our product again.

    Likewise, we encourage you to return with us to restore your confidence, if you choose ...

    We are waiting for you !!

    Best Regards.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed April 22, 2020

    A group of us just came back from Melia Cayo Guillermo. It was a fantastic trip. The place is beautiful & relaxing. The staff was kind, professional & helpful. The entertainment was top notch, the best I have seen in years, very talented group. We would definitely go back to this place again. Also the food was very good & the desserts were outstanding. It was a joy to stay there for two weeks.
    Cheryl & Gerry Duffy

    Date of stay: March 2020
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    5  Thank S8552DFcheryld
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen , Director General at Hotel Camino del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2021

    Hello S8552DFcheryld:

    Thank you very much for your comment, we work so that the client enjoys and especially that he feels comfortable and at home. For us, it is a pleasure that our hotel has been to your liking, especially that you enjoyed the activities that we had prepared for you. Thank you for recognizing the work of all our staff, especially that of the animation team, to all of them we will send your comments.
    We exhort you to follow us on our social network Facebook, so that you are aware of the updates and activities that take place in our hotel. we're not Meliá now but you can find us like Camino Del Mar Cayo Guillermo

    See you soon
    Carlos Martínez-Almoyna Jensen
    Director general / General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews