We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
whk
Hamilton, Canada

Will be back

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 17, 2023
Staff are amazing,friendly and helpful. Some rooms had been renovated with walk in showers. Ongoing problem with ho hot/warm water.food shortage of selection but never went hungry. I love this hotel and will go back as staff and management go all out to make your stay enjoyable. Pool and beach are fantastic.

Date of stay: June 2023
Room Tip: Rooms behind Snackbar and pool are close to everything
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Trip.com
    1.4 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
    StayForLong
    C$94
      79.3 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Restaurant
      Saleta
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      52.5 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Restaurant
      Alojamiento Maite
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      52.5 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Pool
      Restaurant
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      53.2 km from Hotel Camino del Mar
      Restaurant
      View more hotels in Cayo Guillermo
      Reviews (5,830)
      Filter reviews
      5,830 results
      Traveller rating
      2,752
      1,627
      711
      409
      331
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      2,752
      1,627
      711
      409
      331
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      3 - 8 of 5,830 reviews
      Reviewed June 1, 2023

      The perfect place for a beach holiday. Thanks to Jasiel from the entertainment team for the cheerful mood and care. I liked stretching with Alejandro in the morning and salsa with Yisel. I liked bachata, pool volleyball and disco. Every evening performances of singers, dancers, magicians. There are swimming pool, bars, a gym, a tennis court, a pond with turtles, three restaurants, two bars, a disco bar on the territory . In the lobby - Wi-Fi, shops, billiards, coffee bar. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. Room with minibar, sea view, beach towels, iron, hairdryer, air conditioning. Good range of food and drinks. Great diving center on site. Clean beach, beautiful sea. I recommend! My vacation was exciting and interesting. I flew to Cuba for the first time, but I already want to return again.

      Room tip: Take medication, mosquito repellent and SPF. The gym is open 24/7. The tourist bus runs daily (from Cayo to Pilar beach)
      Date of stay: April 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Настюха П
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed May 13, 2023 via mobile

      We stayed at this hotel once again having not been since before covid 19.
      The place is just as beautiful as ever was and the staff are just as helpful and kind as they ever were.
      There are shortage issues in Cuba which span both hotels and the country in general. This needs to be understood before judgment is made. These shortages hit nobody harder than the Cuban people themselves.
      This does not affect the outstanding service given by every single member of staff at the hotel.

      We still managed to get by on Steak and lobsters washed down with Cristal beer and Havana club rum and I cannot wait to return!

      Date of stay: May 2023
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank Odyssey68484423459
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed February 28, 2023 via mobile

      The location itself is beautiful.. beach is nice despite some seaweed.
      The rooms are dated but we don’t spend much time there anyway.
      The food is atrocious.
      The A la Cartes are closed due to lack of guests they say.. so our only option is the buffet. I’ve been to Cuba before and several other places in the Caribbean and we are not picky eaters. The options are extremely limited. You have a choice between putrid mystery meat and unidentifiable mush. There’s NO rice, cheese, fries, pizza, pasta. The buffet itself smells overwhelmingly of feces as soon as you walk in the door. The tables and place settings are dirty.
      They have a cocktail menu but you cannot order 75% of it. They’ve given up restocking our water in our room on the second day…
      Worst experience we have ever had at an all inclusive.. by far.
      And before you say that you get what you pay for.. it cost us $1600 CAD.
      Our friends are at the starfish which has a lesser rating and is 10 minutes away and said the food and services are incredible. Yikes.

      Date of stay: February 2023
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      1  Thank G2665UHtaylorb
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed February 8, 2023

      Not an amazing resort.
      Hotel is nice. Not great. It has been freshly painted and cleaned. The beds were firm and the A/C worked. But they had water problems for two days. When I complained, some of the front desk were clueless. There was no water for two days. I mean no water. The front desk said it was not their problem as some water main was broken in Moron (a city where water comes from). They fixed the problem two days later and the hot water was luke warm. This was OK with me. Ashamed to say that I soaped myself at the side pool and jumped in to wash at the end of the 2nd day.

      The phones in the room were not working. No dial tone. My friends and I are seniors. If one of us were in medical distress, there was nowhere to call. It would have been a cold body to find the next day when the maid came in. What is the matter with these cubans ? They depend on Canadians to pay their bills and cannot fix something basic like a phone line (no internet in the rooms). The tourists that were there were mostly cubans and a few canadians. The cubans were overloading their plates with food and tipping into their bags at their table. In the open. Unfortunately, the environment was not a concern to the cubans as cigarette butts were strewn on the floor in the lobby and the bars.

      On the good side, the weather was great and the staff was not too aggressive looking for tips (like in Varadero). Ask for a non-smoking room and if you are older, ask for a ground floor room. The food is good with a variety of salads and the wait staff is polite and friendly. I did not find any shortages. There was plenty of beer, rum and vodka. The food is good with a variety of salads and the wait staff is polite and friendly.

      If you are going to Pilar beack (a popular attraction site), take a small fold-able light 3 or 4 legged chair. They are available in some dollar stores and they are enough to support your behind. I say this as they have plastic beach chairs and are asking $5 US on credit card on the deck where they sell $10 US drinks. They will also take cash but you have to give it to a negro who pockets it. No local money is accepted. Go figure !. (Cuban stores will not take their own national currency)

      Date of stay: January 2023
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      3  Thank numeronoh
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed December 21, 2022

      We feel very happy to have visited this hotel, everything here has been really nice, good service and good attention. We cannot complain about the quality and variety of the food that we have received. In terms of drinks and cocktail preparations, all very good. When we compare everything that we experienced here with respect to other hotels in which we have been in Cuba, it really is much higher in service, attention standards. The beach is beautiful, the pool is very clean and welcoming, and the room is impeccable. This is the place where we would like to return once more.We want to thank to Yanquiel the Prince, Gippsy, the girls and guys at the lobby bar, and the entertainment team for having been so kind with us and making us live experiences. We will come back.

      Date of stay: December 2022
      2  Thank Tami s
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews