We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent and unusual”
Review of Restaurant La Cave

Restaurant La Cave
Reserve with
Restaurant La Cave is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 19 September 2017

an evening meal for an important birthday - fully up to expectations. Try the menu with everything included - including wine: quantities are well balanced service all first class. Plus friendly and attentive professional waiting staff. the chef is obviously an artist. A great meal. (and a candle on the dessert for the birthday!)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CharlieT847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aurore d, Gérant at Restaurant La Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thanks for these few great words.
Regards,
Aurore DUGOUJON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017

We had dinner here with our granddaughter. It was a great spot to take her just because eating in a cave is a pretty unusual experience. The food was very good with a pretty varied menu.

Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aurore d, Gérant at Restaurant La Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thanks for these few words !
Regards,
Aurore DUGOUJON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

The environment is terrific. The owner comes to welcome you and to propose different dishes and wines. Then the problems commence. The wine was disgusting. We told them and they tried to change the wine with another bottle of the same one. They offered then a own-produced glass of wine, equally horrendous.
The meat was tough and full of nerves.
The desserts not impressive as well.
The owner disappeared. She did not even come to ask us what happened. Cherry on the cake, we paid the entire bottle of wine, that we did not drink, and they offered us the glass of own-made wine, that we did not drink either. Very disappointing... please make it simple...

1  Thank Silvia F. C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aurore d, Propriétaire at Restaurant La Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017
Google Translation

Chère Madame,
Vous vous exprimiez parfaitement en français sur place, alors continuons dans la langue de Molière !
Le vin choisi n'avait aucun défaut, mais peut-être pas à votre goût, il n'y avait aucune raison de vous offrir la bouteille ...
Vous n'avez rien fait remarquer sur place pour la viande ......et votre remarque m'étonne vraiment compte tenu de la qualité des produits que nous servons.
Et je vous assure que "The owner" n'avait pas disparu, mais pourquoi ne pas faire part de votre mécontentement sur place plutôt que sur un clavier !
Bonne continuation,
Aurore DUGOUJON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

I've been there yesterday with my tour group. The place is wonderful and everything was good. I've liked the wine, the menu was the one decided with the tour operator (I read it's the same for every group and it's described in other users'reviews too). The restaurant is set in a cave and the atmosphere is very suggestive, with candles and wooden furniture but quite elegant.

Thank MartinaPScar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We had a great evening with excellent food and service. The restaurant inside is beautiful and has an awesome atmosphere....really good food....value for money!! We will definitely come back!!

Thank Faansie En Cole... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant La Cave also viewed

Montlouis-sur-Loire, Loire Valley
Vouvray, Loire Valley
 
Montlouis-sur-Loire, Loire Valley
 

Been to Restaurant La Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing