We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hesdin-l'Abbe
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very good stopover”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at Hotel Clery on our way to a French destination having come through the Tunnel. It was very welcoming. We had a lovely room and the grounds were delightful. The evening meal was good also. We shall certainly use the hotel again if appropriate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nausikaa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    234
    42
    6
    4
See reviews for
51
433
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Whenever we return from further afield in France or just take a day trip across the channel we go out of our way to revisit the Clery which is 25 mins from Calais, just outside Boulogne.
This chateau/hotel is absolutely charming and has never let us down. We've never stayed there but we have seen the rooms and they are a good standard. The main attraction for us is the restaurant which serves the most superb cuisine in an absolutely delightful setting - one part of the restaurant overlooks the lovely gardens and is a joy especially in the summer. The food today was quite sublime - amuse bouche, large prawns in batter to follow, then a beautifully succulent chicken dish and a stunning baked apple with brioche to round off a 30euro meal. Quite exceptional. If you visit on a weekday there is a similar set meal including wine for just 18 euro. Well worth a diversion.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m1sog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We are regular travellers and I wanted to find a decent hotel for a short mini break. We stayed in the main house (Room 103), which had a bay window overlooking the gardens. The bathroom looked as though it had recently been refitted and was sparkling and spotless, as was the room itself although filled with antique looking furniture. So, the room was ideal, and I have to report that the dining experience and staff were the same. The food was beautifully presented and every mouthful a delight. The staff were so polite, smiling and welcoming (genuinely). The nearby town of Le Touquet is well worth a visit and there are some excellent restaurants to try. Hotel Clery...we look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: Room 103 in the main house was excellent for space and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Countryadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Intersting hotels with good restaurants in this area do not abound. There are a few (eg, at Monteuil sur Mer and Lumbres), but Hotel Clery offers a combination of modern accomodation (in the newer annexes), sensible prices and interesting cooking with local produce. The modern rooms in the buildings next to the chateau are spacious and airy and the lounges and dining rooms are comfortable. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food imaginative - local game and seafood are well cokked and the deserts showcase considerable ability. The menu is short, as is the wine list, but both are reasonably priced. In particular, it is a pleasure to find good wines by the glass. Buffet breakfast is more than adequate.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABC_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

After being stuck in French traffic due to snow & ice we were planning to arrive at this hotel for a nice Friday evening break after a short business trip to Luxembourg on route home. Unfortunately things did not turn out as planned & our 5 hour delay meant we arrived at half past mid-night instead of early evening as planned. We have never been so pleased to reach a hotel & pleased they were waiting for us & our reservation when we arrived as had visions of standing outside in the freezing weather trying to get attention. We were shown to our room by a young lady with perfect English. The room was well laid out & as we expected from the reviews. A decent size with everything needed & a lovely hot shower! We pretty much went straight to sleep & of course did not have chance to eat (good for the diet). Next morning was lovely to wake up to - with fresh snow on the grounds outside it was a lovely view. Breakfast was served in the conservatory which was nice presented & also great views of the gardens for breakfast. There was no hot food, but plenty of choice of other items non-the-less & even decaff coffee for my pregnant wife. Good service with a smile always helps. A pity we missed dining the evening before, but for sure will return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I've now lost count of how many times I've returned here over the past few years and this hotel maintains the same excellent standard regadless of time of year and year after year.
The rooms range from small and pretty to large, traditional and luxurious.
The public rooms are just what one expects from a beautiful french chateau, the staff are charming, friendly, helpful and professional and the food is sublime - if you get a chance of the wild boar try it - it is exceptional! Wine by the glass is well chosen and complements the food perfectly, so no problems if you are a lone traveller or don't want the same wine as your dining partner.
I can't preise this hitel highly enough and I will continue to return whenever possible.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GourmetTraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We were looking for somewhere nice to stay while in the Calais area for a spot of pre Christmas shopping. The hotel is actually located just outside Boulogne but took less than 30 mins to get to from the Euro Tunnel and well worth the journey.

We booked the cheapest room which for €85 was good value, the room was in the main chateau building and as you must expect for an old building was a bit creaky and lacked the hi tech touch, but this was easily offset with genuine features and character of the room complimented with modern bathroom facilities and a small flat screen TV. My only negative comment would be on the bed, which was very hard almost without any give and did give my back a few aches the next day.

The public areas of the hotel are amazing, the main staircase is stunning, as is the lounge and bar area, which remain authentic and although refurbished have lost none of the character that is so important to the experience of staying in a chateau.

We booked a table in the restaurant before we went and notified the hotel that my wife had a gluten allergy, we were delighted that this was both acknowledged at the time of booking and more importantly acted upon by the restaurant maitre d' who confirmed as we sat down they had been notified. The food was excellent and very good value for money as was the wine we chose. The chef had prepared a special gluten free pre starter for my wife and she was served with gluten free bread which made her day, it so rarely happens despite giving advanced warning, but really makes all the difference to her enjoyment of the meal as an important complement to the food and means she does not have to sit and watch me eat bread, so thank you very much.

Like the review by KatnPete, I have to agree had we not had the breakfast included in the special room rate, I would have been upset with what was offered for €16 per head. It wasn’t worth that. It was also disappointing that without the maitre d' there to oversee service, the same waitress who had served us the gluten free bread the night before seemed almost offended when we requested if there was any available for breakfast. She responded in French gesturing with her hand as if making a telephone call whilst saying something very quickly in French, which we assumed meant we should have called ahead to request it. This we had not done to be fair, but as we had highlighted the allergy to the hotel for our dinner reservation and breakfast was included in the room rate, it would have not taken too much to link the two and ensured there was some available the following morning. This is not a complaint in anyway, simply a recommendation to enhance the customer experience, although next time we will be sure to include it in our request.

Overall we really enjoyed the visit and would recommend anyone looking for a nice overnight stop in this area to consider staying here, it really is rather special. The building is fabulous and you really must make sure you eat in the restaurant in the evening to get the full experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodorBadSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hesdin-l'Abbe
6.5 km away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#2 of 3 in Neufchatel-Hardelot
481 reviews
7.8 km away
Les Jardins d'Hardelot
Les Jardins d'Hardelot
#1 of 3 in Neufchatel-Hardelot
428 reviews
17.8 km away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#3 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#2 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,592 reviews
32.9 km away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
459 reviews
12.3 km away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery

Property: Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Address: rue du Chateau, 62360 Hesdin-l'Abbe, France (Formerly Hôtel Château Cléry)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Hesdin-l'Abbe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hesdin-l'Abbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Clery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing