We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Clery
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hesdin-l'Abbe
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This small 'Chateau' style hotel is the perfect retreat for a short break in northern France, a quick hop from Calais and close to idylic coastal walks. The accomodation is spread between three buildings - the original Chateau and stable blocks appear to have more atmoshere, whilst the new build block,100mts away in the Park, looked a little more austere from the outside, on a rainy spring day. Bedrooms are all indivdually furnished, quite often in traditional 'floral', country style and bathrooms are well stocked. My only concern would be that there are no grab handles in the bath, so climbing in and out for the shower is highly dangerous, especially as the bath surface is glossy and very slippery. The hotel does not have walk in showers to any rooms.
The 'public rooms' in the Chateau have retained all their elegant detailing but the furnishings are slightly corporate, with the same 'repro' tub sofa and chair combination appearing throughout the bar and lounges. We dined in the large, airy sun room with superb views of the parkland - more intimate dining rooms were available. The food was quietly superb - a small set menu and a 'special', according to the market, each night. Every detail from the fantastic breads to the lovingly turned vegetables and gently flavoured sauces, had been expertly prepared. A small wine list contains a back page of 'management selection' very reasonably priced international and regional wines along with earlier pages of higher quality Estate wines.
I would suggest looking around for dinner inclusive deals if you wish to stay more than one night. The advertised rates are high but some companies offer 3 for 2 packages at enormously reduced rates. We had breakfast and dinner included in the cost of a luxury room; as breakfast is 17euro and the cheapest set menu is 47euro it was a huge saving.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portcred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    229
    40
    6
    4
See reviews for
50
425
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Wow, what a lovely find. Yes, it may be a little difficult to find on a map (Avenue de Chateau is a big clue) - and even more confusing as the huge sign outside only says, "Hotel Clery" - but this is definitely a chateau, albeit a small one! Certainly, driving through the gates is impressive by any chateau standards. In fact, when asked why it was just called an hotel, they said it was because guests in the past had been disappointed, expecting a chateau to be huge - philistines!

We arrived late Saturday afternoon for a one-night stay and the receptionist was welcoming and very helpful. There is no lift but the stairs are shallow and wide, so no problem whatsoever. We were in Room 107, I think, the last room to the right of the building. Anyway, it was charming, well appointed, clean, bright and comfortable, especially the bed. Because the room has been converted from one much larger room, you could sometimes hear guests in the next room as one wall was a partition and entrance doors are adjacent to each other - but we didn't hear much and certainly weren't disturbed. The room and bathroom (which included luxurious bathrobes) both overlooked the front drive and duck pond, a lovely view.

We spent the evening in Boulogne as we knew the restaurant was pricey but there were certainly quite a number of diners at the hotel and so whether it was because there is nothing else close by or because the food is really good, we really cannot comment. However, returning to the chateau in the dark when it was all lit up made us feel really special! The car park is to the right of the drive behind bushes which means the frontage of the property is not runied by the sight of parked cars everywhere or having engines starting close to the building.

As breakfast was a whopping 17euros per person on top, we skipped this for the croissants we brought with us. However, we did ask for a couple of coffees in our room and these were delivered really quickly, so quick in fact, I didn't have time to get my dressing gown fully on! It was delicious though (and a reasonable 1.5euros each) but meant we could laze about in bed for a little longer before getting dressed.

We checked out mid-morning and decided to walk the grounds before leaving. Possibly they extend to about 10 acres yet made for a pleasant walk, past the new-build (but old-style accommodation block), through the woods, around the rear pond in whose waters the hotel image is reflected (Taj Mahal style) and finally through the courtyard accommodation of possibly former stables and servant quarters. All in all, a wonderful stay and one we hope to repeat again before long.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DieselDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

It was a bit difficult finding the hotel, does not even exist on a map or tom/tom!!! friendly receptionist bless him, couldnt speak much of English but we were able to understand each other as he was talking in French and I was replying in English. room was in the cottage outside the hotel, decoration little bit back-dated, for a deluxe room I expected more, floral decoration did not go well at all. the bathroom was clean but had some weird smell inside in the toilet?? although it was clean, like mould smell, very weird it was, I saw it was clean and we were only staying for a night,if more I would have asked to change the room. noises coming in from above when walking, wood is just too old maybe. Everything else to be honest was nice, we were soo tired we couldn't have a look around the hotel, we booked in the restaurant for dinner, very expensive but was worth it, couldn't do breakfast as it was already 10:30 and been told that check-out is 11 although my booking says 12. paid the bill and when i was back in England I noticed that I was overcharged some dessert which was included in the four course meal of 51 euros!!!

Room Tip: mine was in the seperate cottage outside the hotel, room 31, avoid if you can, floral decoration not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanche N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at Hotel Clery on our way to a French destination having come through the Tunnel. It was very welcoming. We had a lovely room and the grounds were delightful. The evening meal was good also. We shall certainly use the hotel again if appropriate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nausikaa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Whenever we return from further afield in France or just take a day trip across the channel we go out of our way to revisit the Clery which is 25 mins from Calais, just outside Boulogne.
This chateau/hotel is absolutely charming and has never let us down. We've never stayed there but we have seen the rooms and they are a good standard. The main attraction for us is the restaurant which serves the most superb cuisine in an absolutely delightful setting - one part of the restaurant overlooks the lovely gardens and is a joy especially in the summer. The food today was quite sublime - amuse bouche, large prawns in batter to follow, then a beautifully succulent chicken dish and a stunning baked apple with brioche to round off a 30euro meal. Quite exceptional. If you visit on a weekday there is a similar set meal including wine for just 18 euro. Well worth a diversion.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m1sog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We are regular travellers and I wanted to find a decent hotel for a short mini break. We stayed in the main house (Room 103), which had a bay window overlooking the gardens. The bathroom looked as though it had recently been refitted and was sparkling and spotless, as was the room itself although filled with antique looking furniture. So, the room was ideal, and I have to report that the dining experience and staff were the same. The food was beautifully presented and every mouthful a delight. The staff were so polite, smiling and welcoming (genuinely). The nearby town of Le Touquet is well worth a visit and there are some excellent restaurants to try. Hotel Clery...we look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: Room 103 in the main house was excellent for space and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Countryadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Intersting hotels with good restaurants in this area do not abound. There are a few (eg, at Monteuil sur Mer and Lumbres), but Hotel Clery offers a combination of modern accomodation (in the newer annexes), sensible prices and interesting cooking with local produce. The modern rooms in the buildings next to the chateau are spacious and airy and the lounges and dining rooms are comfortable. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food imaginative - local game and seafood are well cokked and the deserts showcase considerable ability. The menu is short, as is the wine list, but both are reasonably priced. In particular, it is a pleasure to find good wines by the glass. Buffet breakfast is more than adequate.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABC_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hesdin-l'Abbe
7.8 km away
Les Jardins d'Hardelot
Les Jardins d'Hardelot
#1 of 3 in Neufchatel-Hardelot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#2 of 3 in Neufchatel-Hardelot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
17.3 km away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#2 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#1 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
32.9 km away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
39.5 km away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Clery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Clery

Property: Hotel Chateau Clery
Address: Avenue du Chateau, 62360 Hesdin-l'Abbe, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Hesdin-l'Abbe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hesdin-l'Abbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau Clery 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity.ca, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chateau Clery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Clery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing