We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
219
210
90
55
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
219
210
90
55
34
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 608 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2020 via mobile

This was no 4* and no SPA. Room: no slippers, no shower caps, no sanitary kit like crème etc, awful design with a bath right in front of your bed without curtains, almost no wifi connection in the rooms, dusty ventilation grid, reception service not permanent, nothing in the mini-bar... So called SPA: just some dirty tiny swimming something. Staff: remarkably unfriendly and indifferent “responsable de l’hébergement” Mme Mélanie Gevrey. Very poor pathetic place.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AnastasiaL413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2019

We chose this country house because it is convenient for La Rochelle airport. Our well-sized room was beautifully furnished with an (unnecessarily) large bathroom and shower. The ambience is quiet. Bed was fairly comfortable.
The internet connection was variable. There was ample free parking in the front grounds. Hotel has a restaurant in site but we cannot comment as we did not eat there.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bunnio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionHDC, Responsable réception at Hotel & Spa du Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2019

Hello Mr,

Thank you for this wonderful comment and it makes us really happy. We hope that you come back to see us again.

Best regards, Maelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2019

We took the Prestige Room on the Ground Floor. Excellent large walk-in shower, separate WC and comfortable Bed. Additional seating area outside of the French Doors, which was pleasant considering the weather. Great Price and booked same day on Booking.com.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotels & Preference
Thank lisaharkness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2019 via mobile

Such a shame as this hotel could be fantastic!!
From the outside it looks stunning. But as soon as you enter you are greeted by unhelpful and disinterested staff.
Pool wasn’t open on the day we arrived - no explanation or apology given. Staff in the restaurant particularly bad and didn’t care about customers at all. We went in for drinks one evening and waited over 30 minutes before just walking out!! It wasn’t even busy either! I did go up to the bar after about 15 minutes but was told to sit back down an they would be over in a minute - didn’t happen though!!
Pool area is pretty dirty and the steam/sauna area was closed on day 2, so we didn’t even get a chance to use these facilities. All in all a pretty poor hotel!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank CraigE1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2019

For the record... We did not stay at this hotel! We did not stay at the hotel because without prior notice the hotel cancelled our reservation because they obviously had received a group booking that would be more interesting financially to them than our two night stay.

The hotel cancelled our booking on the 20th of May by email. Our booking was made on the 15th of January! Our reservation was to begin on the 24th of May. We were already in France on vacation.

While I can understand that there are situations outside of a hotel's control that cause it to not honour a reservation, the choosing another party over our confirmed reservation is not one of them. It is also not possible to believe that the hotel did not know in advance that they would be cancelling our booking (with 4 days notice) and allow us more time to seek alternative accommodation.

In addition, the hotel did not make any attempt to rebook us at another hotel or recommend another hotel. This is inexcusable and demonstrates the total lack of professionalism on the part of the hotel and its management.

I bring this to the attention of anyone considering this hotel and offer this review in the hope we can save other travellers the inconvenience and disrespect this hotel demonstrated.

Be warned... Beware!!

Room tip: Book another hotel..
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews