We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Cultural exposure without the glitz”
Review of Iga Warta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leigh Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iga Warta
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We visited this most interesting place because we don't have a 4WD (I know! we're so ashamed .. sorry) and didn't see making it to Arkaroola as being easily achievable or necessary. We had travelled up to Lake Eyre from Melbourne in our VW Golf.

We're really glad we did!

Terrence and his family (the Coultards) were very welcoming and we learned a great deal about the area and it's history from the traditional owners point of view. We spent hours sitting with Terry enthralled by his stories and truths. He's done a lot in his life!!

The place was a little run down and in need of some spucing up, but that lends to the charm so it's no big problem. In fact we're hoping to return to help out at a bit of a working bee at some stage.

We agree about the mossies ... make sure you have some spray with you!!

If you only like 4 star plus don't go here! but if you want a real experience and are willing to see things in a new light, a night or two stay here is a must .. you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RedLouLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2010

Iga Warta is a centre owned and run by an Aboriginal family. Family tradition and years of professional teaching experience underpin the first class tours and cultural awareness programs that are the backbone of the centre. Guests are treated as family and friends while they stay in clean and comfortable tents and one room huts with shared common facilities in a stunning setting. That it is impossible not to get to know quite a bit about other guests, or even get close to Iga Warta on public transport, reflects the higher economic hurdles that confront Aboriginal people who develop businesses on Aboriginal land. But if you have wheels, then even if bunkhouses, tents and shared showers are not for you, don't miss the rock art or the early settlement tours! This family is too busy setting first class tour standards to worry about wallowing in "black arm band" pseudo- history.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annmci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

the folks were friendly and the scenery beautiful
but beware the mosquitos - i was glad i'd packed a mosquito net

the small museum provides diverse food for thought
it would be helpful to keep a few cups and plates available in those small cabins
as well as a kettle
as not everyone is at their best for early morning shared cuppas
especially when the singalong on the previous evening has gone on rather late and you've spent half the night being attacked by overly affectionate fleas

on the other hand i was grateful for the opportunity to hear about Adnyamathanha dreaming
guess nothing comes without a price

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whirledwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

By staying at Iga Warta you become one of the family and are treated as such. This is for people who want to get away from it all, want to connect with people and the environment. This is not for people who want 5 star luxury and someone to do their nails! The accomodation is a little 'rustic' which didn't bother us in the least but wont suit everybody. This place is 100% owned and run by an aboriginal family. As well as providing accomodation and meals they also provide cultural tours and experiences. We arrived in the dark and were immediatly welcomed to the campfire to cook our dinner on the nearby BBQ and relax with the family. Our days were spent with various family members visiting sacred sites, learning about bush food and medicine and making artifacts. Our evenings were spent around the campfire making damper, listening to dreamtime stories and just having fun. There is always a guitar on hand that is passed around to anyone who can play and everyone joins in. The location in the Northern Flinders Ranges is spectacular, a welcome change for city slickers like us. Both kids and adults had a great time and we would all like to go back. This is a place with no locks on the doors where no-one expects payment until you leave.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duracells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank mum47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Iga Warta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iga Warta

Address: via Copley, Leigh Creek, South Australia 5732, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Leigh Creek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Leigh Creek
Price Range: $22 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing