We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back in a couple of weeks time”
Review of Melia Atlanterra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Atlanterra
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Had an excellent stay. We had booked a family room as we have three kids and had a two room one bathroom place. Two terraces, one facing back to garden courtyard and one to the pool and they were in need of modernising otherwise rooms were good.
The fact that the layout is small 2 storey blocks rather than a large building adds to the attraction.
Pool was brilliant. Water at good temp with sloped access points, built in jacuzzis, fountain and bar accessible from pool with wet stools inside the water.
Food was high standard as the main clientèle are Spanish and they have resisted catering for the English/International brigade and remained true. Having chefs prepare your meat or fish as you like it in front of you is a bonus compared with precook and keep warm attempts made in other places.
The beach bar chiringuito also has excellent food at lunch time specialising in tuna and catch of the day cooked to perfection the Spanish way.
The beach itself is awesome especially to towards the cliffs and beach head with interesting rock formations. Care that the sea is quite dangerous here and many have drowned according to locals.
Staff are more simpatico and seemed happier though they really worked hard 12 hours a shift.
There are two night entertainments spots. One is aimed at kids yet had one of the best magicians I have seen for a long time at this kind of place. The other is at the beach bar which is live music of various styles.
Zahara is a quaint village with loads of good fish restaurants worthy of exploring.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2011

lovely beach hotel of typical melia quality,rooms are well equipped and comfortable,large bathrooms,stay on half board if you can the buffet food is excellant so many choices of fresh food,the best breakfast ever.the front of the hotel is not very inviting needs to be updated,but inside is great as are pool areas and beach outside.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank denise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Great hotel, in an excellent location, backing right onto a white sandy beach. The room was spacious with a small balcony. The pool was great with a nice bar. Buffet meals were great with good variety. October was a great time to visit as there were not many other people around.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bex014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We chose the Hotel Melia Atlanterra because I’m a keen historian and fan of Lord Nelson. This was about the nearest point to Cape Trafalgar we could place ourselves and about the furthest distance my husband felt he could comfortably drive from Malaga airport. The journey takes approx two and a quarter hours and we used the toll roads where appropriate to speed up the journey.
I would agree with most of the other Trip Advisor reviews. Having stayed in Sol Melia hotels before we thought the standards ought to be fairly reasonable and they were. One review stated that parking can be a problem and this is certainly a case at the weekend. Both Saturdays during our stay wedding receptions took place, add to this a large number of Spanish weekender guests and parking became a bit chaotic to say the least.
The hotel rooms are typical 4* standard. We only had two gripes and I’ve mentioned these to the hotel. The balconies are in desperate need of pullout clotheslines that many hotels provide nowadays. The potted plants (mostly dead) make it difficult for drying swimwear and towels. Also there is no dressing table mirror and so I had to use the mirror wardrobes for making up etc.
The main pool was OK in size etc but oh so cold – it definitely needs heating.
The food in the restaurant was generally of a reasonable standard and we found most of the staff to be very friendly and helpful. English was spoken and although there were few other British guests, this didn’t particularly bother us.
This is not a place for shopaholics! The two small supermarkets near the hotel were already closed for the season. Even in Zahara we didn’t locate a supermarket of any size. The nearest place to shop is Barbate, which is about eight miles away where we stocked up on a few essentials at Lidls.
Beyond Barbate the area is breathtaking – lot’s of umbrella pine walks and stunning beaches. The beach the other side of Cape Trafalgar is massive and further on Conil de la Frontera is well worth visiting – again huge wide-open beaches. The best scenically had to be Bolonia (take the road for Tarifa and follow the signs) here you have a small river and lagoon teeming with terrapins, a fabulous beach, a massive sand dune surrounded by umbrella pines and if that’s not enough Roman ruins (closed Mondays).
Would we come back to this area? Definitely yes! We may even be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victrory_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

In general really good. And the location... great!!!!
Perhaps, too many germans running very early in the morning into the breakfast restaurant in order to get the best place outside and staying sitting there for hours.
But except for that, I really liked it. A pity the problem we had with our expectations with the room:
When I reserved the room, I asked for a non-smoking room.
At the time of arriving in the room, we realized that the room was a smoker room, since the small to cigarrets was too hard.
I complained, but first they told me that there are only 20 non-smoker rooms in the hotel and all were already occupied. And after keeping complaining, because I was really upset about that stincky room, we met the quality manager, who told us, there are the rooms in the hotel are no-smoking rooms, but they cannot control the guests smoking or not in their rooms.
So, first upset because the hotel not taking into account my room preferences at the time of bookin, and second, because of different versions about the availablility of no-smoking rooms in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patryrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Good accomodation, good food, excellent staff and best swimming pool ever. Perfect Holiday.

One negative, car parking can be difficult and a car is needed as hotel is 4K from Zahara

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larryauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2007

This is a chain/tourist hotel - and none the worse for that.Well kept and direct access to a very good beach.

Food ok but drinks very overpriced.Staff are pleasant and efficient.Pool is nice

The hotel is about 4 km from Zahara de Los Atunes ( ZDLA)which itself is not exactly Ibiza Town ( people are very leathery looking) so in the evening in October there is nothing to do outside the Hotel unless Jurgen's bar is open- stand in front of the main entrance and 50m or so straight ahead, veering slightly to your right.

At one end of the very long beach you have ZDLA, home of the leathery people.At the other end is the hotel and some lovely homes climbing up the hill.In between there are are two possibly three large urbanizacions.These seem to be quite recent and are well kept.
However out of high season there is no - one around.Why do the Spanish insist on destroying their coastline? Haven't they learnt the lesson of the Costa Del Sol?

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pxhplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zahara de los Atunes
0.2 km away
El Cortijo de Zahara
El Cortijo de Zahara
#3 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
341 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#5 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
104 reviews
3.2 km away
Hospederia Zahara
Hospederia Zahara
#9 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hotel Antonio II
Hotel Antonio II
#7 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
42 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Pozo del Duque
Hotel Pozo del Duque
#12 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
181 reviews
31.0 km away
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
#2 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Atlanterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Atlanterra

Address: Bahia de la Plata, s/n, 11393 Zahara de los Atunes, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Zahara de los Atunes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Zahara de los Atunes
Price Range: $127 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Atlanterra 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels International present Melia Atlanterra, is located right on the beachfront with direct access to the beautiful beach of Bahia de Plata in Zahara de los Atunes, Cadiz (Andalucia). In this authentic Andalusian palace guests can enjoy a wide range of facilities such as the grand lagoon-style pool with two built-in whirlpool baths, an aquabar, a family pool, a children’s pool, a heated pool, 2 tennis (*) and 2 paddle tennis courts (*), fully equipped gym. SPA (*): Turkish bath, sauna, massage cabins and beauty salon. There are also spacious dining areas serving excellent Mediterranean and international cuisine for all tastes and preferences. Also beautiful patios, spectacular gardens, Arab style fountains and lush vegetation. Spacious and bright rooms, distributed in a main building and six Andalusian patios. Fully equipped, with individually controlled air conditioning/central heating (depending on the season), functional work space with Free (Wi-Fi Internet) and plug for laptop, large desk with chair, TV with more than 30 Spanish and international channels, telephone, Hairdryer, Magnifying mirror in the bathroom, safe, minibar (*), comfortable bathroom with a complete set of Melia bathroom amenities Melia Atlanterra is the ideal choice for sharing a unique stay with your friends, couple or family. Enjoy the summer months with a great entertainment programme during the day and in the evenings, in which both children and adults will find something to do. Private car park for exclusive use of guests (*) Come and enjoy the best sunsets in the Costa de la Luz. (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Atlanterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Atlanterra Hotel Zahara De Los Atunes
Melia Hotel Atlanterra
Sol Melia Atlanterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing