We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Celeste Mountain Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
US$192
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casitas Tenorio B&B(Bijagua de Upala)
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cacao B&B(Bijagua de Upala)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Rio Celeste La Amistad(Bijagua de Upala)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Agutipaca B&B Farm(Bijagua de Upala)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Las Nubes(Bijagua de Upala)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Cabinas Miravalles(Bijagua de Upala)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Sueno Celeste B&B(Bijagua de Upala)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
233
102
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
102
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench couplefloor to ceiling windowsthe ownerrio celestebird tablewelcome drinkrestaurant onsitesunny skiescosta ricabig windowsnearby townenjoyed the hot tubindividual bungalowsprivate terracebeautiful bungalowtwo nightscomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 351 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2018

This was an excellent lodge that was clean and friendly....with a delicious menu to choose from for dinner....all meals were served between 7-8:30....which filled the restaurant and created a nice ambiance.
We were allowed to bring in our own wine. And the highlight was the cabin...with panaramic views of the volcanos.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank lindacpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2018

Access by a dirt road of about 1 km. Not too difficult (in the day time). Mixed experience:
We were welcomed by the French owner with a cool drink. She doesn't speak English. Most of the guests were French.
The lodge itself is very big. Separate shower, toilet and washing area.
Very small garden with nice view of the volcano.
Big, comfortable beds. But uncomfortable chairs. Very big windows, but very small curtains at the same time. It is light at 5:30 in the morning also in the room. And were are used to sleep in the dark. And because of the big windows the cottage warms up rapidly.
They have coffee in the room, but no tea. We needed a torch to find the switch of the coffeemaker. Lighting in the room is poor. There is a waste bin for organic waste, but no idea where to put your other waste. In the shower there is soap but no shampoo, so I washed my hair with body cleanser..........
No swimming pool, but 2 small jacuzzi’s. Only after 15:30 and when we wanted to use them they were occupied.
At arrival the toilet flush didn't work, but it was fixed straight away. The instructions for the locker were unreadable (fainted).
No lunch but in the village there are ample little restaurants. We went to the pizzeria and that was fine.
You have to give your choice for the evening menu in advance. The second day they forget to make a note of it and the starter we ordered was not available anymore. But we did get a desert as compensation. There is not much choice for diner, but the tuna was very good and 22 USD for 6 shrimps and a bit of mash potato is not cheap.
No wifi in the room, only at reception. But that area is not very inviting. Uncomfortable seats and loud music. No seats outside.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linze B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dziubak, Propriétaire at Tenorio Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay for 2 nights at our hotel.
The entrance to the Lodge is located two hundred meters from the main road. Access is by a gravel road.
We usually have no problem with the reception, check in is done in Spanish, English or French. We always offer a welcome cocktail based on fresh fruit.
We are really sorry that you saw it like this. We receive customers from all over the world and not just only French, even though there are many of them.
Each of our 12 bungalows has a terrace and a private garden with views of Tenorio Volcano. In total our property is 7 hectares.
Thank you for mentioning that our beds are comfortable. Our chairs, are director chairs, we will check if the canvas of your bungalow has not relaxed.
The choice of the architecture of our bungalows was done to give maximum clarity during the day to enjoy the nature and the view. The large window allows also the night to admire the starry sky too. Indeed the day begins around 5:30 am and it is night around 6:00 pm. Costa Rica is at a latitude of 10 ° N above the equator. On the other hand, to allow a good circulation of the air and to avoid that it is too hot inside, each bungalow has a ceiling fan and a fan. All windows are with mosquito nets and give give an maximum of air circulation.
Costarican coffee is at your disposal for free and your room and replaced every day. Tea will be prepared at the bar upon request.
The trash in question has been added.
There are two distributors for shampoo and soap in the shower. Both are well indicated. Sorry I do not understand. If one of them was empty or with a problem why did you not tell us at the reception desk?
Indeed we do not have a swimming pool. But two wooden Jacuzzi (3 and 5 pers) are open without reservation or time limit between 03:30 pm and 09:30 pm.
Locker instruction are well indicated on the door locker. Also when check in, we show you how to use the safe.
We can serve lunch, from 01h00 pm to 03h00 pm if requested.
Sorry again, if we made a mistake while taking your order into account. Indeed, the dinner is on reservation. Our structure is small, we ask our customers to communicate their choices before 17:00. We offer a daily menu with 3 differents options for starter, main course and dessert. This menu changes every day. Do not hesitate to tell us also about your restrictions or allergies if needs.
Our prices are quite suitable and include taxes and service. The service is between 6:30 pm and 7:30 pm.
The wifi is currently available only in the lobby area, reception restaurant and on the terrace of the restaurant where tables and chairs are at your disposal.
Thanks again for visiting us and please feel free to contact me.
We hope you will give us another chance to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2018

We had two nights at Tenorio Lodge and we really felt at home there. Christine was very charming and went out of her way to be on hand for all her guests. The lodge was so nice, with wonderful big windows and a very comfortable bed. We also made use of the hot tubs in the evenings, and this was a really nice way to relax before dinner. The food was excellent, both breakfast and evening meals. The menu is different each day and quite limited, and you have to choose before 5pm, but we found plenty we liked and this was not a problem. Breakfast is quite an event, as Christine puts out all manner of fruit on to the bird tables outside, and you can watch the local birdlife, and squirrels taking their pick. This was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2018

Spent 3 nights here, the bungalows are cosy and spacious. It's very quiet although the plentiful wildlife can make itself heard but that's a small price to pay for seeing so many birds close up. There are resident sloths, we saw one at check in. The food was excellent, the menu is limited but changes daily and they ask you to order by 17.00. This works very well, freshly cooked food is served promptly and presumably there is little waste. Staff are friendly and Christine the owner is usually present.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank walkerhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

Charming lodge, friendly host of french origin. Spatious and very clean bungalows. Excellent food quality and helpful staff. Birdwatching from the restaurant. Limited hiking options around. No wifi in rooms as major minus point.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Jannim1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews