We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live Music, Screech-In, Darts, Pool with Drinks and Pub Food”

Skipper Hot's Bar & Lounge
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 25, 2018

Great Pub atmosphere in a Newfoundland Village. Skipper Hot's is open year round. Newfie Night in the summer season and snowmobile Poker Runs, during the winter. Halloween & Valentine Dance's with Skipper Hot's band. St. Paddy's Day at the pub you don't want to miss.Call or check the schedule frequently you never know when a Kitchen Party might be called up. Pub food available.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 36930wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 16 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2018

We stayed in snorri cabins while in the area visiting the viking sites and whale watching and this place was perfect for a coupleof beers and food at the end of a busy day

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 15des1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 16, 2017

We dropped in here hoping to get noon lunch, and also to ask about the music Friday nights (which we were told might be happening). We missed the music by one week. This was mid-September, so be aware that neither the lunch/ dinner nor the music will likely be available after very early September. However, that should not stop you from dropping by and chatting with the owner/bartender. We had 2 beers with him, and tons of fun. He played us one of their Skipper Hots Band CD's and we happily bought it as a great souvenir. I love the traditional musical style of their music. If you ask nicely, the bartender may show you his Ugly Stick (don't get any ideas - that is a homemade Newfie musical instrument.)

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Service
Thank Gabbey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 24, 2017

This is the experience we were looking for - great mix of locals and tourists, and the music/entertainment was exceptional. We had such a fun night, got screeched in and did lots of dancing too.

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank KCsEndlessAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 22, 2017

Been to this place multiple times. Bar is open in evenings and night, with pub food also available in the evenings. Sometimes they have a band in to play live music which brings out a crowd of locals and visitors. In the summer, on Fridays they have "Newfie night" where tourists can listen to traditional Newfoundland music and get "Screeched In" as an honorary Newfoundlander. Lots of fun!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Skipper Hot's Bar & Lounge also viewed

St Lunaire-Griquet, Newfoundland
Gunners Cove, Newfoundland
 

Been to Skipper Hot's Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.