We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Skipper Hot's Bar & Lounge
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 17, 2022

My husband and I have vacationed in Newfoundland in July for many years but never went to Skipper Hot's for a meal and now I can't imagine why. We had gone before to hear the band--yes there is a band and they have a couple of CDs and to have a drink. This year we were starving and there was Skipper Hot's so why not. We expected pub food but what we found was a full menu. Everything was fresh and home made. Our waiter was so friendly and explained the menu choices and described the dishes. We both had moose burgers DELICIOUS and moose stew also DELICIOUS. How stupid of us not to have tried the food before. We certainly won't make that mistake again. Looking forward to our next meal!

Date of visit: July 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JenniferandAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 16 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2022

After being turned away from one restaurant and hungry late in the afternoon, we decided to drop in thinking we’d at best get okay pub food. Instead we got great fish and nice crispy chips, cold beer, a friendly bartender and good free wifi! We were surprised and wished we were staying another night to visit again in the evening with the live music.

Date of visit: August 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 355DMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 19, 2022

Best burger we have had in weeks. All patties are hand made, not frozen. Fries were skinny fries, not a wedgie. Gravy for fries was awesome. Very clean, friendly and close to the National Park. Great little spot!

Date of visit: June 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 46JimH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 4, 2022 via mobile

We are traveling and friends suggested this place. We had passed up previous.

We went in. For the size of town, it was crowded. My partner wanted some seafood, I wanted a burger. In typical Newfoundland style, my partner was told the Skippers plate was better than the fish and chips. I was told they were too busy to cook burgers or chicken( it was on the menu), but I could get seafood or poutine! So I ordered on the previous advice.

As we sat, sipping on a local craft beer, like everywhere in Newfoundland, we chatted with the neighbors.

The food was hot and the basket was piled high! Unlike most plates of this kind, only a small serving of fries, 80% was delicious morsels of seafood!

Highly recommended! Almost an insist you have to go!

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank timmN6712BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 31, 2022

We enjoy a very nice supper, food is good and service is excellent! Local beer is available. The place is very clean and cosy.

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank RoxanneB252
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Skipper Hot's Bar & Lounge also viewed

St Lunaire-Griquet, Newfoundland
Gunners Cove, Newfoundland
 

Been to Skipper Hot's Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.