We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catastrophic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palace of the Golden Horses
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sri Kembangan
Bahrain
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Catastrophic!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

it was only for just 1 night during my honeymooon trip and it was a tragedy because of:
1) very old facilities!
2) very poor breakfast and crowded restaurant!
3) smell of Chlorine is everywhere!
4) bugs and insects all around!
5) cleanliness last priority!
6) unfriendly staff!
7) checking in after 2 hours!
8) room service the worse

the only thing that makes you glad to visit this place is the room view over Mines Resort City, plus the old Architecture with golden horses spreading in every corner of the place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msjayousi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    163
    140
    88
    83
See reviews for
216
184
36
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was very excited to be staying at the Palace of the Golden Horses having roamed its website and being very impressed. Unfortunately the reality was not reflective of my online experience.

I was there for a conference, and got in a few days eariler. The reception was full of people with no real way of establishing who was next to check in. My room was on the 8th floor ( highest level) and overlooked the city. A slightly dated room with a very soft bed ( bit lacking in a any springs). The worst bit was the NOISE, on a Saturday night quite close the hotel there is rally car racing which is incredibly noisy and starts in the afternoon. By about 6pm I called reception to see what the screeching and burn out sounds were and was told about this regular Sat night event which I was told would be finished at 10pm. It finally quietened down about 10.20pm but the hotel could have avoided the inconvenience to travellers with double glazing.

The hotel is also undergoing much needed renovation which is great but meant that whlle trying to undertake a skype conference call in my room on the Monday, I had jack hammers trilling above my head.

Neither experience was pleasant and made me think that positioning this hotel as a 'Wellness' hotel is setting itself up for failure. As a recovering invalid, there is no way I would find anything peaceful and tranquil about this hotel.

The breakfast room is toosmall for the number of guests that large conferences attract, and so you end up having to share coffee and crossaints with strangers.

Finally, I had to return to Australia earlier than expected and asked for my pre-paid final night to be refunded only to be told that it was not hotel policy!!! Great, no sleep on the first night, no work possibility on the third day and finally no refund = no return visit from me!

The door staff, transfers etc were professional and seemless but I would not recommend the property nor stay here again.

Room Tip: Request to stay on the Lakeside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sri Kembangan hotels

Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Ambience. Ambience, Ambience. Our room was spacious, the view from the balcony was fantastic. The rooms were good. Nothing special but well appointed and very roomy.

The hotel is AMAZING visually and the boat ride to the mall is a great little value add. Its really like a little paradise away from the hustle.

I will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benny_Doda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My family and I had stayed here about three times (I think...lost count). We tried both the deluxe room and suite. Very spacious rooms, especially adore the bathrooms. There were horses everywhere (not the real one though, they come in paintings, ornaments, statues and etc). The gym was very decent with a lot of machines (not that I tried any...hahaha) and the pool was nice. The building itself is magnificent with stone carvings on pillars and all around the walls (some were gargoyles too, kinda scary for a night stroll). There are water-taxis to take you to The Mines Shopping Centre from the lake little jetty. Kinda cool since you don't have to worry about parking. However, there are not many places to go about in that part of Selangor. So, the hotel is not so crowded except if there is event hosted by the hotel. Concluding remark? Stands to its name.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezzati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I spend 2 weeks in this hotel its great there is big lake beside the hotel and you can go to minsk moll for shooping and a lot of resturant very good hotel for relaxing

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9876g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

...otherwise there are plenty of MUCH better options available in Greater Kuala Lumpur.
I stayed here for 1 night in early April 2012, and had booked through Agoda. I did, in fact, have to be in the area for business so location-wise it was perfect for me. However, should one come as a tourist or on a leisure trip to Kuala Lumpur then the hotel's location is far from convenient.
Check-in was nice enough, with prompt service with a smile and all handled well and efficiently. I was allocated a room on 2nd floor. The route to the room was long, as the whole complex is massive. Corridors and public areas are in not-such-a-good shape and obviously there are issues with both housekeeping and maintenance.
My room was spacious enough, large even, but practically empty. Other than the bed, there was a luggage rack, a desk and a sofa chair but the room appeared empty. Cleanliness is a big issue and my desk had coffee stains, the bedsheets had stains and the bathroom required much attention, too. The most hyper-annoying issue was that the toilet leaked seriously. This is impossible to have gone unnoticed by housekeeping as there was a huge puddle surrounding the toilet. Also, it took 35 minutes (timed it) to replenish before it could be flushed again! Ridiculous, really.
On a positive note, I ordered room service which was good and promptly delivered. Breakfast buffet, however, the next morning was a disappointment.
Overall, the place is just too big and it is obvious that corners are cut to save expenses (lights off, lack of very basic in-room amenities, etc.). I would not stay there again and as such find it hard to recommend the hotel when there are so many areas with obvious room for improvement.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senninha888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This hotel fits the mould off being different,away from the normal plate glass and steel modern style,it brings back the class off classical buildings,it is currently under renovations,I loved it here, hotels are about the people that work in them ,being passionate about their jobs, giving great service ,my wife sprained her ankle ,the staff were caring ,did things beyound their job discriptions,and when offered a tip ,refused.well done to you all at the palace of the golden horses

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0dneyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sri Kembangan
2.1 km away
Philea Mines Beach Resort
Philea Mines Beach Resort
#6 of 11 in Sri Kembangan
18 reviews
14.3 km away
Cyberview Resort & Spa
Cyberview Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Cyberjaya
547 reviews
8.6 km away
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
#2 of 9 in Putrajaya
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Mangga Hotel
Mangga Hotel
#2 of 11 in Sri Kembangan
14 reviews
11.6 km away
Putrajaya Shangri-La
Putrajaya Shangri-La
#3 of 9 in Putrajaya
607 reviews
8.6 km away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace of the Golden Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace of the Golden Horses

Property: Palace of the Golden Horses
Address: Jalan Kuda Emas | Mines Resort City, Sri Kembangan 43300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Sri Kembangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sri Kembangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace of the Golden Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace of the Golden Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Of The Golden Horses Hotel Sri Kembangan
Palace Golden Horses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing