We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing this time”
Review of Ibis Albert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Albert
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2017

I have stayed at the Ibis Albert on a number of occasions with friends and family to visit the area. It is the perfect location to explore the battlefields and the hotel is clean, modern and comfortable. And the food has been surprisingly good and was one of the selling points. When you are in your car all day it's good to settle down to dinner and a glass of wine without having to get behind a wheel again. The standard menu was surprisingly expansive and the specials were very good indeed - imaginative and almost gourmet in their quality. Unfortunately on this trip the food was a real let-down. The new menu was greatly reduced - mainly burgers, steaks and chicken. The specials were even worse. A number of the dishes were no longer available, and of those left, only one portion - duck - remained - and my brother had to choose something else. The duck was tough and difficult for my mother to cut - we were thoughtlessly not provided with a steak knife. My steak hache was undercooked which resulted in a bad night for me. A number of the desserts too had run out and were reduced to the standard fare of chocolate cake and ice cream. To run out of any food is unacceptable for the Friday of a Bank Holiday weekend - especially when on-line booking means they have a better idea than ever of how many may be eating. We were so disappointed that I - reluctantly - had to take to the wheel again and we ate elsewhere for the remainder of our stay. I have enjoyed my stays at the Ibis very much but the range and quality of the food has been part of the experience. I suspect my family will not come back. I'd very much like to, but you have to get your restaurant in-order.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Manonabicycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017

Perfectly placed for battlefield tours. Very comfortable. Modern and clean....but

We had a food complaint...after waiting 80 minutes from ordering for our meal, my wife's arrived cold, with congealed fat on the plate. We immediately sent it back to the kitchen, we were not only charged (she did offer 10 percent off the price of my wife's meal)(1.5 euros) for this sub standard meal, but the duty manager proceeded to ask another customer what she thought of the same dish; saying to my wife that the food was fine because the other guest said so............that was the worst piece of customer service I have ever come across.

The same manager then decided to tell me that it was standard Ibis practice to do this.
Well Ibis, let me tell you that if this is your standard complaints policy then I will be staying elsewhere in future?

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

The Ibis is by no means a fancy hotel. Located just off highway D929 at the east end of the town, it offers simple accommodations at a great price. It is a good spot to base your visit to the Somme region given its location. The staff were very friendly and helpful (they can speak a bit of English), the rooms clean and quiet if not a little small and there's a small restaurant where you can grab a meal or have a drink. Interestingly, the hotel has a few games in the lobby including a very interesting one using pool balls and a cue!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

On arrival to the hotel the Staff were fantastic. The room was air conditioned to a comfortable temperature considering the weather was quite hot. It has an excellent restaurant and the breakfast buffet had an excellent selection of food. Would definitely recommend. :)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilotclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is warm and friendly and is ideally suited to the talks. The welcome was excellent with the staff being positive about my bad French. The food was excellent and the breakfast was full of variety.

The beds were comfortable and the rooms had BBCWorld TV. Not over hot and an excellent shower facility. Will use this again as the price was good as well

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank manstondrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

This was a return visit to the Ibis in Albert, I have stayed here many time when visiting the WW1 battlefields and I am never disappointed. It's not a fancy hotel, but what they do is welcome you with a big smile.

The rooms are always clean and the hotel has a nice restaurant and bar area, but again where they excel is in the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, nothing seems to be a problem for them.

Special thanks to Marine and Stephanie who really go the extra mile.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank james040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

I booked to come here during a visit to Pozieres British War Cemetery. It's just down the road between Pozieres & Albert town. Easy enough to get to, even on foot from the town. On arrival I was made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff, who all spoke good English whenever my French faltered. The room was extremely comfortable, quiet and had all the amenities required. The breakfast the next morning had a great range (I recommend the madeleines!) and you could have as much as you like. The restaurant in the evening also offered a good menu and a daily changing specials board. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to stay in the region.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jon-Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albert
2.9 km away
Hotel Royal Picardie
Hotel Royal Picardie
#3 of 4 in Albert
214 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#4 of 4 in Albert
164 reviews
16.3 km away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#1 of 1 in Bapaume
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 km away
ibis Styles Peronne Assevillers
30.3 km away
Ibis Amiens Centre Cathedrale
1.9 km away
Hotel de la Basilique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Albert

Address: Parc d'Activite Henri Potez, 80300 Albert, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Price Range: $87 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Albert 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis is located in the Poppy Country, Land of remembrance of the Battle of the sum during the 1st World War. With its museums, monuments, walking and its exceptional heritage, the Valley of the Haute Somme is uniquely Geograhical situation. At 1:15 of the Roissy Charles de Gaulle, 1h45 from Paris, 2 hours from Disneyland Paris, 1 hour from Lille, 45 minutes from the Baie de Somme, 30 minutes from Amiens. The hotel has a relaxation area, a restaurant "Café Bistro Beer & Cie", a terrace, a bar and a private car park. The Ibis Albert is the ideal place to make the most of your stay in the land of Picardy. This hotel will seduce you with its warm concept, in an English pub spirit. The hotel is open all year 24h / 24 and features 57 air-conditioned rooms (including 2 rooms for the disabled) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Albert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing