We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Ciguena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Ciguena
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Certificate of Excellence
northwest U.K
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Small and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Love, small and friendly hotels like this. Don't want too many people finding out about it and driving up the prices!!

Room Tip: If you can't do 1 flight of steps, it's not the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carmenmirander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    33
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
32
68
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Great hotel, restaurant, location & staff. Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andresykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

just came back from 10 days at this warm, friendly family run hotel & We miss it already! The location is fantastic. We had half board & such a great choice! compliments to the chef! Nothing was too much trouble.. they even offered to make my (fussy) little boy a pizza! spotlessly clean.. we are definately booking for next year!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 18msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liecestershire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Just fab, go & see for yourself.
We stayed at the apartments which belong to the hotel across the bay 5 mins walk but had all our meals at the Hotel
Have also stayed in the Hotel & going again sept 2011 with just Hubby
BOTH are BRILLIANT with excellent staff & service.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West MIdlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

We found this hotel on the internet, and had the usual wories prior to arriving. We actually visited 2 years ago, not August 2010 as shown above; I forgot to do the review, then got a lovely Christmas card from them last week, which reminded me.
Anyway, we had nothing to worry about; this small hotel is beautiful. The location is superb if you are sun worshiper and love the beach. The bedrooms are small and certainly the bathrooms are compact but the beds were very comfortable and the views from the balconies are wonderful, and the air conditioning worked well. The family who run both this hotel and the bar below can't do enough for you. The real surprise was the food - the best food we have ever had anywhere in a Europaen hotel. We upgraded from B+B to half board when we arrived, and this turned out to be a really clever thing to do!
There are steps to all levels of the hotel and the roof terrace, where there is a very small sun bathing terrace and plunge pool which was great while we were there as hardly anyone used it, but I would imagine that it might not be so nice if it were busy. The picture-perfect beach is right on the doorstep - litterally; you step down from the hotel steps onto the very clean and well kept beach. The little cove is very safe for swimming and was especially popular with families. Portinatx is a very hilly and steep place to visit so it might not suit everyone. The area is very quiet ( no clubs or loud disco bars ) so it wouldn't suit party people much. Everyone we spoke to during our weeks holiday were "returners" and some families and couples had been returning for may years and by the time we left, we understood why. I wouldn't hesitate returning to this hotel, and would definately recoimmend it to others if I felt it would suit them.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

La Ciguena really is situated literally two minutes from the sandy, clean beach, and clear, warm sea. It's well-run, clean, has air-con during the night, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our balcony was very nice and we had a beautiful sea view. If you're planning to spend most of your time outside it will be fine. But if you're after even a small amount of luxury/romance/space this is not the hotel for you. The room - well, our room anyway - was very small, with an even smaller bathroom which one could hardly turn round in. And the curtains were quite thin and didn't keep out the early morning brightness, which is a shame because the bed was very comfortable and I would have slept in if is hadn't been so bright. Another traveller on thie site has described La Ciguena as basic. That about sums it up. You pay for the location - which, as I say, is great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swamp-pokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

Been twice before, last time 5 years ago - never revisit places but tempted by our old photos. It was even better than before. We are novices compared to many guests, who have been coming for the last 10/20 years.
It has almost a Club feel - very friendly - chat to everyone. The Torres family are so 'hands-on' and genuinely care about their guests.
Rooms basic, but good showers, spotlessly clean, and - if you have a terrace or balcony - the view is to die for. You sit there for ages, drooling at the view, watching the boats (and the people!).
They have now installed a lift inside, so you don't have to climb the stairs to your room - great investment. Pleasant pool area, nice beach on the doorsterp with very shallow water.
Good breakfasts, and we had the buffet dinner, which was good value and great choice of food - also you can now sit on the terace if there are free tables, which is lovely.
The resort, even in late-June, early-July, was quite low-key - some excitement with the football, but fun, as opposed to threatening. Watched some of the semi-final in the downstairs bar, with locals and visitors - what a great atmosphere. (Should mention that the bar is open late, but if you're in your room or on your balcony you don't hear any noise). Everyone - all ages, nationalities, sits on the wall outside and chats - we met Brits on holiday for the umpteenth time, resident English, visiting relatives...
We flew Thomsonfly - cosy, but a short flight. Also booked their coach (by phone) which was £11 each return from the airport, so good value if there are only 2 of you (taxi seems to be anything from 40Euros one-way). Downside is they drop you at the El Greco, not that close. (Check with Thomson Rep - if they have anyone going to Es Puet apartments, get off then - it's next door).
We did one 'trip' - lovely day out - caught the bus (from the Square) to Ibiza town. Wandered round the Marina (how much money have some people got?), walked round the charming old town and then trekked up to the top of the castle - worth it for the views. (Catch the bus in the Square in Portinatx - buy ticket from the driver - coming back, get the bus in the same place but buy the ticket in one of the shops on the street).
Other nice places to eat: (for a change): the 'Restaurant' - opposite the hotel looking over the Bay (great at sunset). Also S'Arenal is pleasant - and has a good supermarket run by a Scotswoman (think the Scots are invading Portinatx!). And walk all the way round to the 3rd bay and a nice restaurant right by the sea.
Cheap booze and good service: Boozy Buys in the Square
Evening entertainment:: In the Square - Vincents - a great Drag act on Mondays (hello from Fred!!) and Delboys on Friday, David Vincent, very professional, eclectic music, live keyboard/guitar/etc (Hi from Fred & Diana)
Oh dear, contrary to all our principles - think we might have to go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DianaFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.2 km away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
0.7 km away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
0.4 km away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#5 of 12 in Sant Joan de Labritja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
7.1 km away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.1 km away
Sensimar Ibiza Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ciguena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ciguena

Property: La Ciguena
Address: S'Arenal Petit, 08720 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Portinatx
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Portinatx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Ciguena Hotel is located on S'Arenal Petit beach in Portinatx; facilities include restaurant, snack bar, satellite TV, internet access, swimming pool, solarium with sun beds and parasols, gym, bicycles and self-service laundry. All rooms offer air-conditioning, safety deposit box and many have a balcony with sea view. Bed and breakfast or half board is available. Bookings made directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your La Ciguena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ciguena Portinatx, Ibiza
La Ciguena Hotel Portinatx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing