We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No place like it”
Review of Serenidad Shardon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Allen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serenidad Shardon
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Punta Allen
Reviewed 20 August 2011

You must take the time for the jungle drive. It is long and can be difficult, but the reward is so worth it. Follow the road to the end and you will find Serenidad Shardon. You will be treated like family, and Niki is a dream hostess. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to be accomodating. Every time I go back, it's just like coming home. You will not regret this trip, and like me you'll want to come back again and again.

Kim from Wisconsin

Room Tip: Call early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2011

More kudos for Nikki Allen and her staff. We took the collectivo and what a trip in and out!
Then a magical boat ride to Punta Allen. The town is no frills and very peaceful. We even had a hard time finding a place to eat after we arrived. Some major wind and rain the morning (4:30 a.m) the day we left, but NIkki was generous enough to get up and take us down to the ferry. Gracias a thousand times!

Getting there and back is tough, but it is what protects it from the pretty awful development north in Tulum and beyond. The only drawback of PA is that we wanted to rent a boat and explore but couldn't find one for under 120USD an hour...

If you go to PA stay at Serenidad--

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bostontraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

To give an idea of context for this review, we were a group of 3 girls (aged 20, 31 & 32)spending 5 weeks travelling through Central America. We didn't fancy roughing it in hostels, but at the same time we were on a budget and couldnt afford to splurge.
We stayed at this place for 2 nights from 3rd August 2010.

Location: Punta Allen is such a small town/village (about 6 tiny blocks by 6) that you could stay anywhere and be central. This place is just by the beach and a short walk to anywhere in town.

Room: As explained when we enquired, the heat in the summer means that the tent cabanas are not up, but there is hostel style lodging in the 1st floor Palapa above the reception and it is this that we booked. The bedding was clean but the reality of the palapa is that you are in effect outdoors because there are no proper walls (see pic). This means that mosquitos are free to roam in and around the living area and there were plenty! Its obviously not the hotels fault that there are a lot of mozzies, but it is something to consider if you react badly to bites. Even with 50% DEET spray on, we still got bitten loads (the mozzies here were worse than any others we encountered on our trip).
The beds have mozzie nets and are all small double beds, so youre fine while sleeping, but the net in addition to the August heat, meant that we were sweltering hot! There are no fans, so we were waking up with sweat literally trickling from our bodies and so you just didnt get a good nights sleep at all.
Other than a small fridge and a hammock, the accommodation was very, very basic. The shower is cold water only.

There is a kitchen that you can use, but its an outdoor one and very basic, so we didnt use it. Besides the food is so cheap at the 2 restaurants that theres no need to.

Breakfast: Mayra offered to cook breakfast for us one morning but there are a couple of places on the beach nearby that do cheap breakfasts so we went there both days instead. Each morning at Serenidad though, there was complimentary coffee & tea at the front desk.

Staff: The staff here are what really make the place. Even before arriving, Niki the owner was prompt, friendly and helpful in all her emails to me, providing information about local prices, transport etc...
When we arrived, a woman called Mayra was at the desk. She was absolutely brilliant and deserves a medal for her genuine friendliness and enthusiasm. She gave us loads of information about punta Allen (including little gems like where we could buy fresh lobster, where the fishermen came in and where there was a dock that we could watch the sun set from). When we said that we didnt know how to cook lobster she offered to cook with us and teach us how to! When we needed to do some clothes washing, she took us into the back outdoor, laundry area and showed us where we could hand-wash and hang our clothes. She even lent us some of her own DEET spray. I have never been so impressed with a hotel staff before, she was more like a friend- even giving us big hugs as we left. Serenidad should hang onto her as she is a huge asset.
During our time there, I needed to use a computer to sort out some banking and paperwork online and Niki let me into her actual house (behind the reception) to use her own computer without charge, which I was extremely grateful for.

Price: We paid 200 pesos per person per night (including tax etc...). We booked via the hotel website and paid cash on arrival

Tips: It is a VERY long and windy dirt track that you take to Punta Allen from Tulum, its about 33miles (I think!), but it can take up to 3hours depending on the state of the road. If you dont have your own transport, you can get a collectivo, but these only go once a day and not at great times (5am to return to Tulum). So we grabbed a taxi and that cost 700 pesos total (£35) which is expensive, but the collectivo costs 200 pesos per person, so we would have paid 600 pesos total anyway.
Secondly, if you get the slightest bit travel sick, take some tablets for the journey! Even with travel sickness tablets, my friend had to stop the taxi and sit on the floor outside while she got her breath as she felt so ill.
Oh and whatever you do, make sure you take tonnes of DEET!

I would recommend this place to a friend, but only on account of the brilliant staff. In hindsight, had we found somewhere for a comparable price that was enclosed with a/c (or even strong fans) we would have had a better time there.
Please bear in mind though that my comments refer to the Palapa accommodation. There are other accommodations at Serenidad that would be worth considering, but these are more expensive and so did not suit our backpackers budget!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank doublechoc-chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Hi my name is Nicole, and I spent some time in Punta Allen, Mexico, we stayed a Serinidad Shardon and it was lovely. Nicky the owner is wonderful if you have any questions she is open and honest. We stayed in the casa corazon it was perfect, nice big bed and a great little kitchen and a nice big bathroom. Serinidad is located at the south end of town, so its quiet, and there are stores that are only blocks away if you need anything. What I liked best about the place besides Nicky is that it is peacful and very relaxing, we are definetly going back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chico65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Serenidad Shardon was one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. The rooms are right on the beach. There is a majestic serenity to hear the waves gently crashing against the shore as you fall asleep. It's truely a surreal experience, and place.
The rooms are beautiful (we stayed in the Casa Luna room). The rooms, and the town has a simplistic beauty that makes you want to stay there. I can't imagine a better place to go to really "get away" from it all.

Punta Allen is a beautiful beach town in the Sian Kaan biosphere. It is somewhat of a long drive to get there, but it's definitely worth the drive. It will far exceed your expectations. Once you see the beautiful beaches and the surrounding vegetation you will be amazed.

Niki, Myra, and the rest of the staff are so wonderful. Niki always had coffee & tea waiting for us in the mornings. We found ourselves spending hours just chatting with her. She and Myra are absolutely lovely people. They made our stay so much more enjoyable. Also, there are lots of delicious restaurants nearby. The food is excellent!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjochim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We had a great time our four nights at Serenidad Shardon. Nikki is a fantastic host who never tired of our endless requests, including lending us a guitar! She made sure to check in every day to see if we needed anything. She's also avid about recycling which is refreshing for a Mexico trip. The town was without power for our first two nights but the stove and hot water were gas powered so no problem there. And lots of battery powered lights at night. We stayed in the main beach house which had a no frills, laid back, rustic cabin feel. If you're one for luxury and pampering, Punta Allen is not for you. But if you want your own little bit of paradise with a private beach right out your back door, look no further.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

after just two days in Cancun i knew i had had it with people. When we got to Tulum ( a longtime goal of mine) i was disappointed that it was so developed and commercial, so it was with an adverturesome heart that my boyfriend and i jumped in our car and drove the long and winding road thru the Sian Kaan to Punte Allen- and then i felt i had arrived.
When we found our way to Niki's, we were overjoyed at the family atmosphere, and simple relaxed vibe of the whole place.
From the guests, to Niki herself, to Mayra, we loved all the people we met.
And the fact that we were a gay couple never seemed to matter to anyone at all- which we appreciated.
Two things:
hang out for the morning coffee klatsch with guests and Niki- i miss it already;
and, find monique and ask her for a tour of the local ruins- its not touristy, and she's a doll to spend an afternoon with.
We already miss our friends at Serinidad Shadon- oh, AND the hammocks.
Daniel and Chris

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniel11211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Allen
38.2 km away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 99 in Tulum
460 reviews
37.9 km away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 99 in Tulum
306 reviews
38.9 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.8 km away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
6.7 km away
Sol Caribe
Sol Caribe
#1 of 12 in Punta Allen
186 reviews
0.4 km away
Kanxuk Luxury Resort
Kanxuk Luxury Resort
#1 of 3 in Punta Allen
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenidad Shardon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenidad Shardon

Address: Punta Allen, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Punta Allen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Punta Allen
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private Mayan Caribbean retreat, located in the Sian Kaan Biosphere. Designed to focus on health and education regarding the flora and fauna of the area. Perfect for yoga or group retreats. Eco-friendly community offering tours by boat or into the Mayan jungle. A quiet tropical Meso-American paradise. Serene and beautiful gardens surround your vacation home in the tropics. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serenidad Shardon Hotel Punta Allen
Serenidad Shardon Punta Allen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing