We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“CGS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Grand Slam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Allen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Club Grand Slam
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Punta Allen
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“CGS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

A week with Lupita and Greg is the best value in Mexico for fly fishing. The guides, food, and accomidations are all excellant. our group of 4 all have only the best to say about our week. We had excellant weather and fishing. many fish were caught and released, including many bone fish, a large Tarpon and a huge Snook. One of our group got a grand slam. We will be back in the future to spend time with Lupita and Greg.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
18
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Very peasant week. Super friendly, first rate establishment. Safe and clean. I've been fishing at Pt Allen for over 15 years, clearly things have evolved a lot. The entire experience was great!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weeki wachee fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Great week. Missed the slam, but had multiple mult-fish days even with high winds. Guides are total pros.
Greg and Lupita treat you like long-time friends.

Food and post-fishing Margaritas outstanding!

Jon57fishing

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homosassa, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Thank Lupita and Greg for being such great hosts. If you go ask for Antonino, he is a very dedicated guide and love to fish!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

From the minute we arrived at Club Grand Slam and were greated our hosts Greg and Lupita we were treated more like friends than guests. The rooms in this hotel are spacious and very clean. Large patios on the upper and lower deck are excellent places to meet other guests and enjoy a cool drink after a day fishing. Lupita and Maria make every meal an exotic treat with many Mayan dishes withlocal i ngredients. It is not very often that I have found myself chasing after large permit and tarpon in a late afternoon and stopping to imagine what might be on the menu for dinner. It is truly the best food I have experienced anywhere in Mexico and also anywhere else for that matter. Fishing days start early with coffee and breakfast on the patio at about 6:30. Our guides, Fransico and Antonio stop by at 7 and with Greg we plan the days destinations based on what we would like to target that day as well as wind,weather and tides. Based on over 20 years fishing in Ascension Bay, Fransico was able to put us on top of bonefish, tarpon and permit on a regular basis. Many of the flats in Ascension Bay are ideal for extended wading hunts which is particularly exciting when stalking permit. Tarpon and snook are typically located in the mangrove forests of Santa Rosa. The fishing in these locations is from the boat as the water is a little deeper and the bottom is soft. While we were able to cast to several dozen tarpon they all seemed to have lock jaw. We jumped a couple but none to hand. Oh well, the bonefish and permit made up for this and more. The location is outstanding with a wide variety of birds and marine life on display thoughout the bay. At the end of six days of fishing we had experienced talented and experienced guides, comfortable accomodation, great food and friendly hosts. I plan to return to Ascension Bay and will definately be staying at Club Grand Slam.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We spent a week at Club Grand Slam in December of '11 and had such a good time that we came back for two weeks at the end of March. The accommodations, food, and fishing were as good as the first time. Well, not really. Due to the help I got from our guides on the first trip, I returned a better fisherman and got into many more fish, so that part was better.

Folks thinking of staying at Club Grand Slam should note that a recently opened hotel in Punta Allen decided to name their place Grand Slam Lodge. I'm guessing they hoped to trade on the excellent reputation that Club Grand Slam has developed over the years. They are two very different places. The Lodge is a high priced hotel with very nice, beach-side accommodations that also offers fishing to guests who want that. They dip into the pool of licensed guides in Punta Allen on an as-needed basis and, because Punta Allen guides are so good, usually hook up clients with good guides. Club Grand Slam, on the other hand is primarily a fishing operation. It's located right on the boat basin and it is owned by the guides. These particular guides--brothers who's family also own one of the town's three tiendas-- were among the very first folks in Punta Allen to take up fly fishing and the guiding of fly fishermen.They really know what they're doing. You see it in your opportunities to catch fish, but also from the respect that other guides in Punta Allen show to them.

Finally, despite the above, I'd like to say that Punta Allen is too far, and not cool, so don't go.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrLucky1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

If you are interested in a great saltwater fly fishing adventure, excellent Mexcian food, and the company of very good people, then fly into Cancun, drive south past the wall of resorts, condos and timeshares, then take a left just past Tulum. The road will lead you to Punta Allen and Club Grand Slam, where Greg and Lupita wll greet you with an ice cold margarita and their warm hospitality. Your room will be simple but spacious and comfortable, with plenty of room for fishing gear, a couple of comfy queen beds, a good rain shower, and the luxury of air conditioning that will enable you to sleep like a baby. Dinner will be awesome - perhaps fresh hogfish, or Lupita's enchiladas con mole, or if you are an East Coaster starved for a really good chille relleno, Lupita may surprise you. If you are really lucky, Maria will bring you a slice - or maybe two - of some of the best Tres Leches cake you have ever tasted.

In the morning, after an excellent breakfast accompanied by Greg's fresh French-press coffee, you'll join your two guides and head for the flats of Ascension Bay. You'll pass mating turtles, perhaps a dolphin or two, and if your timing is good, a manatee on your way to Tres Marias or another good bonefish sites that the guides have scoped out for you. You'll be awed by the colonies of roseate spoonbills, herons, and egrets in the mangroves that you pass, and you might even catch sight of a crane or ibis amongst them. The panga will slow and you will hop in the water with one of the guides beside you, and your buddy will head off to another site with the other guide - always one on one, standing right beside you to spot nervous water or tailing bonefish that you would never see on your own. They will also put you in excellent casting position, and help you work on shooting line or your double hauling so that you can get your fly to the fish, and feel that rush of a bonefish stripping line off your reel and getting deep into your backing as it heads off for Belize.

At the end of a week, or however long you stay, you wll be exhausted but very satisfied from your days on the water and your nights in the company of Greg and your fellow fishermen at Club Grand Slam, and already thinking about when to return. More than likely you will have caught a goodly number of bonefish, and if both lucky and a little skilled, perhaps tarpon and/or a permit. You will be making a vow to work on your casting for the next time, and determined to indeed score a grand slam of all three fish, which is very possible in Ascension Bay.

One word of caution - make sure you book with Club Grand Slam. Another place opened recently in Punta Allen that "borrowed" the term Grand Slam for its own name, and while glitzy and on the beach, and billing itself as a fishing resort, it does not even have its own guides, instead hiring on an as needed bases. Club Grand Slam and Greg and Lupita and all of their good folks are the real deal, and a good deal it is, too - much more reasonable than the other lodges. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElVarguito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Allen
37.4 km away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 87 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
36.3 km away
Hotel MangleX
Hotel MangleX
#60 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
36.6 km away
Rosa del Viento
Rosa del Viento
#18 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.2 km away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#19 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
6.4 km away
Sol Caribe
Sol Caribe
#1 of 13 in Punta Allen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.6 km away
GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Grand Slam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Grand Slam

Property: Club Grand Slam
Address: Club Grand Slam Bayside Drive 1 | Sian Kahn Biosphere, Punta Allen 77768, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Punta Allen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Punta Allen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punta Allen’s top ranked lodging and dining for anglers and adventurers. Catering to travelers who want modern accommodations and outstanding dining while still experiencing the beauty of the Sian Ka’an Biosphere. Rooms include all the creature comforts, including A/C and lots of personal attention. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Grand Slam Hotel Punta Allen
Hotel Grand Slam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing