We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super Cottage, every convenience”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of SANDERS COTTAGE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
View of the woods from Sanders Cottage
Doggy Heaven.Harry enjoying his walk through the bluebells in the wood opposite Sanders Cottage..
Access to the woods via wooden bridge 2 minute walk from the cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cinderford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ColinRS03...
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Super Cottage, every convenience”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

There was nothing that was not there, even down to hand soap and dishwasher tablets, not forgetting the welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk, sugar and biscuits. The cottage was clean, except for the odd cobweb - but then it is that time of year, and had everything needed for a comfortable stay. The owners, Liz and Alan, could not have been more helpful.
Ideally placed for both the Forest of Dean and the Wye valley.
The only thing that stops me giving it a 5* is the upstairs floorboards (downstairs is tiled) - they creak and creak, one person only has to get out during the night and the whole house is awake! Shame.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipster2...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Very charming cottage ieally located for the Forest of Dean. Very well equipped, we were a family of four with bikes and it was ideal for us. Not far from local shops (would recommend the Palace cinema for a value for money cinema trip). Would love to return to this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sanders Cottage and would love to welcome you back.
Best wishes,
Liz & Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally H
Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, fantastic location.”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful week spent in the very comfortable, cosy, warm cottage. Lovely garden for the children to play safely. Liz and Allan have thought of everything you could need, and even gave our two girls a kinder egg each as it was Easter, and a box of chocolate fingers for us ( yum).
Evening walks over the bridge and into the Forest, saw quite a few deer. About 5 / 10 minutes from the cannop cycle centre ( great coffee) and Beechenhurst lodge. Can highly recommend the family cycle trail ( which you can access from Sanders cottage), although we preferred to start from Beechenhurst so that we could finish with an ice cream and a play in the park. Also lovely nature reserve near Speech house. Puzzlewood magical even in the busy Easter hol.
Take-aways close by in Cinderford.
Would love to go back to this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
Thank you for writing such a lovely review.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sanders Cottage and would love to welcome you back.
Best wishes,
Liz & Alan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra d
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, restful, refreshing week to recharge your batteries in winter.”
Reviewed February 27, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The week we spent with our 12 yr old daughter and little pet dog was made very easy by the care and thought Liz and Alan had put into ensuring everything we could possibly need was available to us at the cottage. Every little detail had been carefully thought through. The rooms are large and spacious. Comfortable beds, great shower.
The location of the cottage is very good in that you can walk out the door and do activities, or travel a little to so many different experiences.
We would very much like to return in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how easy everything was.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J C
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Christmas in the Forest of Dean”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Sanders Cottage is very much a 'home from home'. Situated on a quiet lane it is an ideal place to stay and explore the Forest of Dean which is, literally, on the doorstep. The owners have thought of everything you might need during your stay and are on-hand if required. They are very obliging and thoughtful people; we arrived to spend our family Christmas there and found a beautifully decorated Christmas tree in the lounge with some gifts ready and waiting! We had a super week and I would happily recommend staying in this cottage; the rooms are a good size, the beds comfortable, it was clean and tidy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Thank you for choosing to spend Christmas at Sanders Cottage.
It was lovely meeting you all and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review.
Best wishes for 2015.
Alan & Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roxy c
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy cottage”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Sanders cottage is a stunning, clean, cosy cottage with all the facilities you need and is surprisingly spacious. The cottage is in a perfect location to enjoy walking in the forest of Dean. I fell in love with Sanders cottage and will certainly be booking another trip in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvrilAlan...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful experience staying at Sanders Cottage for two weeks. Alan & Liz were special hosts who made sure we had everything we needed. Mid-week cleaned and topped up our biscuit supply ;) x
The location is ideal for walking in the Forest of Dean, cycling and exploring the many attractions that are available for families. We especially enjoyed 'Puzzlewood' it's a must for every fan of 'Dr Who' 'Merlin' & the new 2015 'Star Wars' film.
Symonds Yat and the Kayaking on the River Wye - our 11yr old had his first Kayak experience on an open river. Peregrines Way cycle/walking path is super for families - river meanders alongside the path - wide and able to cater for bikes and walkers with their families and dogs of course!
Everywhere is in easy reach of Sanders Cottage and we intend to return to continue our wonderful experience in The Forest of Dean, thanks to Alan & Liz -x-

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was 'home from home' - everything we needed
Liked least: Internet access in that area is poor - struggle to get signal. That also includes local pubs and even Costa!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing