We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended Luxuria”
Review of Kaya Mawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kaya Mawa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Likoma Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Very interesting an unusual place lies in Likoma Island and Malawi bathes by Lake Niassa a world of limpissima fresh water and large area,With varieties of rare fish house on my lake has a good restoration and Spa is only seen in person.

Room Tip: All rooms are crazy but on my of the lake is the best for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carlito W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017

With a perfect match of local people and all the luxury you would expect from a top notch place in, let's say, the Caribbean. But hey, this is Africa! This is even Malawi!

You are helping the locals with your visit.

Everything is friendly, classy and with *****cuisine.

Very special is even the (for free) Internet access. Like home, and that's absolutely not so common in this part of the world.

Chapeau!

Room Tip: The wedding "castle" is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TonyCDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

WOW!! Such a beautiful island paradise in every way - stunning accommodation in very private, large 'rooms', built into and out of the rocks, with astounding views of Lake Malawi. Fabulous manager, Michelle and talented chef, Rich - every meal was a delicious delight! Dining lakeside, on the sand and under the stars was just magic. Loved the decor and ambience of the whole resort. Lots to do or nothing to do - your choice - snorkelling, kayaking, walks, boat trips, quad biking or cycling - or just dipping into the warm, clear waters of Lake Malawi and relax. We originally booked for 3 nights, but extended to 5 - such a wonderful way to end an African safari holiday!

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing views and aspects
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Maz and Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

My husband and I and our two teenage children spent an incredible week at Kaya Mawa after three days safari in Southern Zambia and fell in love with this beautiful island and its people.

Getting to the island involves an hours flight from Lilongwe in a small Cessna plane with spectacular views across the lake.

After a short ride across the island in an open land rover we arrived at what I can only describe as paradise on earth. I have visited many beautiful islands but none have touched my heart like this one.

Michelle who manages the lodge along with her partner Richard who is the inhouse chef made our stay an unforgettable one. And we got to know all the wonderful staff from Harold, Wilson, Evans and Martin to Modesta and Loyce - who looked after us. We stayed in Yofu house that was perfect for our family of four with two beautiful suites interconnected by a gorgeous bathroom with upstairs open air bath overlooking the beautiful lake.

I can highly recommend the quad biking tour of the island and Cathedral and wake boarding.

This really is paradise found.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We couldn't have dreamt of a better place to end our holidays, Kaya Mawa offered us an amazing two nights. It is impossible to describe how beautiful everything is, rooms, common areas, beach beds... The place is stunning and the team is amazing, Michelle is a wonderful host, Rich an amazing cook (seriously, this chocolate fondant and the halloumi salad are in my top 3 best meals ever) and everyone is so attentive.
I enjoyed the massage to the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks and my boyfriend loved his quad adventure around the island!
The last night the team set us up a swahili table, on the beach on a comfy carpet with cushions to lie down and admire the sky... We didn't want to leave and are looking forward coming back!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cloé A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Visited in november with my sister omg paradise_ heaven on earth. Staff couldnt do enough for us. Accomodation excellent. Spent a week chilling and playing with keara the beautiful lab. Waking up to the sound of birds and the local children laughing was so nice. Best holiday ever ( husband so jealous he never got invited as it was quality time with sister holiday lol). Food to die for and im married to a chef so well done not 1 meal was under 5* . Hope to return soon .

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

great location on a beautiful authentic Island full with baobabtrees and villages.
Sunsets, great food, a general relaxed feeling, no timings, just go with the flow.
Only a pity , sometimes many mosquitos and lake flies, but thats living by a lake.

Room Tip: All rooms are totally different, difficult to recommend one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Isabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kaya Mawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaya Mawa

Address: P.O. Box 79, Likoma Island, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Northern Region > Likoma Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Likoma Island
Price Range: $661 - $912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kaya Mawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kaya Mawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaya Mawa Likoma Island
Kaya Mawa Malawi/Likoma Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing