We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
185
17
0
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
17
0
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our honeymoon lake malawi barefoot luxury plunge pool the managers each meal local women quad bike tour thank you very much stunning location laid back fell in love island life private island wake boarding bird life paradise on earth
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 208 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Arriving on Lakoma island one would not expect to be transported to the sublime luxury and tranquility of Kaya Mawa. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, but felt as though we were with friends. Each room is special, and the design of the entire lodge is spectacular with views of the lake and surrounds from every vantage point.
Their attention to detail with the decor and the food makes you even more amazed to be in the middle of Africa. Our ultra private suite set high atop the rocks had its own plunge pool and we spent lazy days reading in seclusion on our wooden deck, surrounded by incredible birds and the tranquil sounds of the lake in the distance.
Thank you James and Michelle and to your whole team for making this one of the most memorable trips we have ever had. Brent and Lisa

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vonkerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017

Barefoot luxury! Wonderful setting for this superb eco resort. Stone cottages set amongst the rocks and trees each separate from the other and all enjoying exquisite sea views. The staff were friendly, helpful and smiling and the management top class.
The food was delicious too. I cannot rate this resort too highly!

Room Tip: Khuyu was comfortably close to all amenities but still totally self contained.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile

Kaya Mawa is amazing. A beautiful little resort, beautifully put together, every comfort and service delivered with grace and genuine pleasure.

Everything from start to finish was organised and delivered flawlessly, from the charter flight from Lilongwe to Likoma, to restaurant and bar and room service, the staff are all just wonderful, so friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

I had booked a standard room (small house really) but they had upgraded me to a really beautiful villa with its own plunge pool. All the rooms are blended beautifully into the rocky shore and have individual lake access but this one has a very private access via a small inlet. The lake is beautiful, warm and crystal clear with millions of little fish, so the snorkelling is awesome. Lots of bird life as well, with cormorants, egrets, kingfishers etc.

The food is uniformly excellent, imaginative and creative with a lot of local ingredients skilfully presented and absolutely delicious. You can have your meals at the restaurant overlooking the most beautiful cream-coloured beach or at your villa, which is lovely.

Everything was just perfect, I cannot sing the praises of Kaya Mawa loud enough. I highly recommend the "Best of the Lake" option that combines Kaya Mawa with Nkwichi Lodge on the Mozambican shore of the lake. The transfer is by boat across the lake and it's a little adventure by itself.

Stunning unique place off the beaten path, a real treasure - do absolutely go. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2017

This was our second stay at Kaya Mawa (the first was in July 2015) & we loved it so much that we traveled halfway around the world just to stay there again. I wrote a detailed review for our first visit & it holds true to today. The food is just as amazing. We booked the same room (Nkhwazi) & it was still amazing, except that we slept with the windows open this time & being lulled to sleep by the sound of the water enhanced the experience. This time, I booked 2 massages instead of one - fabulous!

Michelle, Martin, Harold & MacDonald were still there & it was so nice to see them again! And this time, there was a lodge dog!!! We missed our dogs, so it was so nice having Kira there! We had to do the quad bike tour again & my husband was like a little child, he loved it so much! We visited the Katundu workshop again & they specially made pillow covers in the same bright fabrics found at the lodge, so now we have something to remind us of Kaya Mawa back in Chicago. I would recommend saving space in your suitcase for school supplies, which you can deliver to the nearby school. We packed pens, pencils, sharpeners, chalk, flash cards & beach balls & they were very appreciative, as they are in need of supplies.

One special treat is that the lodge now has a band & they performed for us on top of a hill at sunset. It was such a special experience.

You haven't seen the last of us, Kaya Mawa, we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TX_Longhorn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2017

Very interesting an unusual place lies in Likoma Island and Malawi bathes by Lake Niassa a world of limpissima fresh water and large area,With varieties of rare fish house on my lake has a good restoration and Spa is only seen in person.

Room Tip: All rooms are crazy but on my of the lake is the best for me.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carlito W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews