We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
104
16
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
16
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub stayed here restaurant building clean and comfortable accommodation one night small campsite lovely countryside east devon family meal stable block separate building varied menu river cottage tea making facilities an evening meal nothing too much trouble nice room
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 120 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2017

Stayed here twice when moving house to East Devon.
Our "normal" choice for single night stopovers is a Premier Inn, but on the first occasion, the local Premier Inn was booked up.
The Golden Fleece was nearby and had a vacancy so we stayed there.
We agree completely with the other excellent reviews with the added bonus this place was £18 per night cheaper then the Premier Inn AND included a full breakfast.
The rooms are single story stone outbuildings, recently refurbished to a high standard. They are behind the original pub/restaurant building so there's no noise from passing traffic.
Only criticism was the free wifi wasn't very strong.
When we needed somewhere to stay the night before our furniture was delivered, the choice was simple - the Golden Fleece.
Well recommended

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank minijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend 29th and 30th July 2017. On Saturday we had a very nice meal, and stayed in one of the rooms over night which was very comfortable. I would recommend this pubs accommodation and restaurant thank you.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kazzaburch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on Friday and Saturday night. Lovely food and so accommodating. Very comfy bed and very clean.
We stayed here as had to be near Bridport and West Bay for a ' family day' .
The bedrooms are in an external building at the back of the pub. Beautiful walks too.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank greenisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile

Comfortable beds recently refurbished room and great breakfasts
And good evening menu
Lovely countryside with plenty of places to visit
If you like old to modern sports cars that Haynes Moter Museum is less than a hour away

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank h0rkesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017

I stayed at the Golden Fleece for one night during a business trip. The quality of the room was excellent and a generous size. The accommodation is all in an outbuilding in the car park and is at a standard of a decent hotel. I had an evening meal in the pub and breakfast in the morning. The evening meal was very good and a good sized portion. Breakfast was to the same standard. The staff were all very friendly and made me feel extremely welcome. Overall I had an excellent stay and would recommend the Golden Fleece if you are in the area and looking for somewhere to stay or to eat. If you are on a business trip please be aware that the pub doesn't open until 6pm for check in and that breakfast is served between 8.30am and 9.30am. A fellow traveler needed to be away by 7am and so they offered him sandwiches to take with him, which he declined, and then offed a cold breakfast tray to take to his room. Most places I have stayed would not do this.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews