We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good hotel but a hassle to get to and from the airport” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Amaranth Suvarnabhumi Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Amaranth Suvarnabhumi Airport
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Racha Thewa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel but a hassle to get to and from the airport”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We had an overnight stop-over in Bangkok and chose this hotel based on price as it was circa $50 cheaper than the airport-based hotels. We had to wait 30 mins for the free hotel transfer bus and the journey then took about 20 mins. We eat in the hotel restaurant and the food was reasonably priced (£14 for two people) but not that tasty.
.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    638
    179
    31
    24
See reviews for
221
601
233
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

this hotel was great for a stopover and good value for money.
the shuttle bus is only a 10minute ride to the airport and is very regular.
the restaurant in the hotel had great food - very fresh.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is great deal for a place close to the airport with a complimentary shuttle to the hotel that takes about 10 to 15 minutes (timed). You find the shuttle downstairs at door 5; look for the Best Western sign and a fellow in a hot pink jacket. Don’t worry about the hotel not responding to emails – they have a list of guests checked into their hotel and that’s how you get on the shuttle.

The hotel checked us in very quickly. Modern rooms that are a decent size with comfy beds and good linens. It is clean. Shower only with good pressure and plenty of hot water (hot on left facing handles which are on both ends). There’s a safe, plenty of hangers, TV, kettle, and WIFI that worked well. We received complimentary welcome drinks in the bar. I left a bag in storage and had no problems.

Breakfast at room service is a decent price and there are plenty of places at the airport to eat. I stayed here three times and had breakfast (room service) once and was surprised at the amount of food. The airport is business as usual with long line ups at 5am so be prepared (all restaurants and stores are open). There isn't really anything close to the hotel so maybe eat at the airport if you don't want to use the hotel restaurant.

The hotel was super quiet with a staff that is used to dealing with travellers. For short layovers, this is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gbonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Well, when I booked a Best Western everyone at work laughed at me. Well let me tell you this place was fantastic. Not the best area for sightseeing as it is a fair way out of the heart of the city, but for a one or two night stay and close to the airport this place was a palace! When arriving I was in awe, the staff could not have been more helpful, the room was modern and extremely clean. The food was 1st rate. Friendly and A grade service. If you need a hotel close to the airport, you cant go past Best Western Premier Amaranth.

Room Tip: I was on the 5th floor which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
475 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I booked this hotel primarily because of the good rating on TA. Everything that was said about the hotel is true: There is a free shuttle service that comes by every 30 mins. In my case, that meant waiting a total 55 mins, just missing one and missing the other by 5 minutes. The hotel is 15 mins from the airport, unless you use the runway. The room was quiet. There is free wifi albeit mine said free for one hour and that was all I needed. And the room was large. The passage way in was almost 6- feet wide.

The room itself is well designed. The alarm clock is somehow connected to the TV so it came on when the alarm went. That's an interesting idea that others should copy. My only quibble with the room was that the balcony lights stayed on. And I want the sun to come in in the morning. I could not do that here. I never found the switch.

The trouble though was the shower. It was anemic. And that contributes to the uncertainty that some people have regarding how to use it. It is the most anemic shower I have ever had in years, possibly ever. It gave you a sense that the owner was cheaping out.

As it is used as a transit hotel, he (most likely a he) should have kept the room smaller but for goodness sake have a shower with pressure to wash out the gunk after travel. It's just refreshing. With the shower at BW, it felt that the water just drizzled over you. Water is not a problem in Bangkok, what with the flood.

Once you develop a theme, you start seeing the odd ways he cheaped out. The bathroom slippers are thin, yet printed with the hotel logo. Why bother? They make the hotel look cheap. He should have saved on the printing and given thicker slippers.

And there is the body lotion: it looked so thin it was not white but translucent. Like water had been added. I did not even bother to use it but took out my own.

And maybe I was too tired but I did not see BBC or CNN on tv.

See what I mean by the cheaping-out theme?

As I was checking out, I asked if my stay could be linked to some frequent flyer points. The receptionist answered that as I had booked through an online site, I could not claim the points. Another cheap out.

I'm probably naive but I continue to be amazed at how people in the business they are in do not understand the fundamentals: people want a good experience. The feeling of being cheaped out leaves an after-taste. Better to renovate the hotel, shrink the room size by a third, well, for those on transit, and give the guests the opportunity for a proper shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet facing if noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Panguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

After a change in travel plans our agent booked us for one night at this hotel. The shuttle service was very handy but it's not 5 minutes from the airport as we were told. Check in was long.

Everything is new and we slept well. We needed a bachelor degree to figure out the shower - but we did arrive after a long flight and weren't in the mood for high tech gadgets.

Breakfast was great and then back by their shuttle to the airport. Very well done.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor. Very quiet up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Island_GirlOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Picked this as No 1 ranking in airport area seemed logical. Better than that, the Hotel itself, although hard to spot at first not being an obvious 'Best Western' (look for Amaranth sign on left as you drive away from airport) this was the first BW we had visited. Excellent place to be recommended, staff friendly and efficient, rooms, although set in typical big hotel commercial corridors were excellent, clean, modern. Didn't eat on site but others said food was good. Lobby is vast and you may well get fit finding the swimming pool as you walk past about 4 water features before you reach it (2 year old grandson couldn't resist jumping into one). Gym as per usual. Cleaning staff were about the friendliest I've ever encountered. Will stay again on next trip to/from Thailand.

Room Tip: If you're not to able bodied as for a low number room ion any floor as the lift can be a fair wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGFOOT3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Racha Thewa
6.4 km away
Novotel Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport
1.5 km away
Le Meridien Suvarnabhumi, Bangkok Golf Resort and Spa
7.3 km away
Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort
Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort
#2 of 5 in Racha Thewa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Miracle Suvarnabhumi Airport Hotel
8.0 km away
Paragon Inn
Paragon Inn
#314 of 844 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
10.7 km away
Suvarnabhumi Suite Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Amaranth Suvarnabhumi Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Amaranth Suvarnabhumi Airport

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER Amaranth Suvarnabhumi Airport
Address: 68 Moo 2; Kingkaew Road, Rachatheva | Bangplee, Samut Prakan, Racha Thewa 10540, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Samut Prakan Province > Racha Thewa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Racha Thewa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Amaranth Suvarnabhumi Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bangkok Airport Hotel has a total of 278 rooms and Suites (230 Deluxe; 1 deluxe room for the physically challenged; 39 Executive Club Floor rooms and 8 Suites). The Hotel is 7 storys high. Its main facilities include; an All Day Dining Restaurant; Japanese Restaurant; Lobby Lounge Bar; 24 Room Service; Banquet and Conference Rooms; Outdoors Swimming Pool with Snack Bar; Gymnasium, Spa Treatment Rooms; Executive Club Floor with Private Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Amaranth Suvarnabhumi Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Amaranth Suvarnabhumi Airport Hotel Racha Thewa
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Amaranth Suvarnabhumi Airport Thailand/Racha Thewa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing