We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a long stay location however very good for short stay”
Review of Curran Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Curran Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larne
Certificate of Excellence
Millport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not a long stay location however very good for short stay”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed for an overnighter and it does what says on the tin.

The spacious rooms are to a very good standard with a beautiful spacious shower room, complete with excellent shower system. The beds are incredibly comfortable. the lighting needs revisiting as difficult to read in room.

Our stay included Bed & Breakfast - breakfast was good but I wouldn't recommend the scrambled eggs, which were over cooked and tasteless - although I didn't indulge the Ulster Fry looked fabulous.

The down sides to this hotel are externally it looks unattractive & utilitarian, the location has been chosen to accommodate Ferry traffic between Larne & Scotland, but it is only a short trip to town centre, has a multiplex cinema within walking distance, not to mention a large supermarket opposite for any emergency shopping.

I would say if you are visiting friends or on a business trip and need a cheerful, good standard, very clean hotel in the Larne area then the Curran Court more than meets those requirements.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thePB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    85
    22
    1
    2
See reviews for
81
80
7
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2012

First of all this is not a holiday hotel, so do not expect he normal amenities. There is no bar as such just a reception area.
Saying that, the staff were superb, the rooms were superb, the shower rooms were he best I have ever Been in. Wired Internet is acceptable in he rooms. The food, is absolutely out off his world, both dinner and breakfast, service is also excellent. All in all highly reccomended, just remember hat Larne is a port, and not a holiday town. The Irish nation must be friendliest on earth.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 750turbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Enjoyed a family dinner here recently. All the staff were friendly, and the food was superb. Good range of dishes on the menu. Great place for young and old alike, a place that I can say has something for everyone.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
Well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2k13s29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macroom, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Needed a bed due to very early ferry following morning and had reservations about staying so close to the port. However, the hotel is very new (a replacement building I understand) and that helps. We only had a drink at the bar and no food. Receptions are bar staff all friendly welcoming and helpful. very happy to give us extra early continental breakfast, but we didn't bother because it was just too early to be hungry. A room only rate would have been good because of that. Also there is no online booking facility. the room was brilliant. Extremely comfy bed and pillow - worthy of a five star hotel. Well equipped and excellent bathroom. they have tried to cater as well to guests who are not so mobile, so doors are wide. the corridor is the widest I have ever seen - you could drive an ambulance through it! I would only stay there again if I had the same early ferry to catch, but I wish many more hotels had such good rooms.

Room Tip: Excellent location for the ferry to Scotland. Rooms towards supermarket (and not waterside route ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The only reason to stay at the Curran Court is if you’re getting the boat to Scotland in the morning. And even that is not a compelling reason. It’s a nice hotel, nice big rooms, comfy bed, etc, but it’s in the middle of nowhere, opposite a large ugly Asda and next door to a KFC drivethru. On top of that, it’s on the main drag from the port, so I was woken by loud traffic around 1am, presumably a boat coming in. V.annoying.

Although breakfast was included in the price, I didn’t get to partake of it, although the old night porter did offer my some coffee at 6 this morning. I don’t drink coffee and nothing else seemed to be on offer. If I was staying in Larne again, I’d find somewhere in the main town, it’s not that big, so I would guess that most places in town would be at most 5-10 minutes from the harbour.

You live and learn.

Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank psychokilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel last weekend and cannot praise the staff, room and food highly enough. Our room was beautifully appointed and tastefully decorated. The staff were helpful and very friendly and the food was delicious. It is very handy for the Port of Larne and we would not hesitate to use it again.
We read in previous reviews that some people found the rooms noisy because of the traffic from the port - not really a problem!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GranPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Arrived at Curran Court Hotel at midnight. Very welcoming reception staff. Room large and very comfortable, good bed and great shower. This hotel has been newly renovated and it is really lovely and so close to the Ferry terminal. Ferry timetables in May are quite inflexible so to have a lovely bed to sleep in after arriving late was great. The breakfast was terrific too.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebL53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larne
6.9 km away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,351 reviews
15.1 km away
Loughshore Hotel
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
658 reviews
32.0 km away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 km away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
526 reviews
21.5 km away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,729 reviews
14.5 km away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curran Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curran Court Hotel

Property: Curran Court Hotel
Address: 6 Redlands Road, Larne BT40 1FD, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Larne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Curran Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built 4* hotel with 33 luxury bedrooms and popular restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Curran Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curran Court Hotel Larne, Northern Ireland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing