We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crown Resorts Elamaris
Ranked #64 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Formby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This is the 3rd year we've stayed at the Elamaris and yet again had a fantasic holiday. I would agree that it isn't a 4* hotel, more like a 3*, but it is a great place to stay. The rooms are clean, although the bathroom could do with updating it was still clean. To be honest how much time do you actually want to spend in the room when ur in such a great place! The air conditioning is vital (and works really well provided all the windows and doors are shut!). The food is mainly great, breakfast and lunch are great and the snacks are also very good, dinner is not always the best but after all the other food during the day I didn't really want that much. I put on 8lbs this year so I def had enough to eat. Fussy eaters apparently seem to struggle but there was always chips, potatoes or pasta & I found something I liked every night. The position of the Elamaris is perfect, Pernera Bay is a 5 min slow walk away, its a really nice place to have a swim or a sunbathe and I reckon its nicer than fig tree bay. Round the corner from the hotel is the ranch bar, the staff here are extremely friendly and we had loads of excellent nites out here, the majority of the acts are really good and you can get involved if you want to!! Also just outside the hotel is the bus that takes you to Protarus for 1 euro. Oh and I can't forget the kebab shop round the corner as well!!! All together it was a fantastic holiday, we met some great people and had some great nites out, as well as lots of relaxing during the day round the pool and at the beach. We want to thank the staff who were very friendly and made our holiday so much better, they all work extremely hard and cope very well in that heat!! Thank you to the Elamaris and we're saving already for next year. Kayla & Pete Boden

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    67
    83
    70
    98
See reviews for
139
118
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

we have been to Cyprus many many times and we have never experienced a 4* like it, we don't really pay much attention to other peoples reviews as we usually make up our own minds but on this occasion we wish we had the hotel is need of modernisation it is very dated.The bathrooms should be condemned the tiolet was held together with silicon the tiles on the walls where brown with years of soap stains bath was actually rusty in parts, beds were made most days but sheets didn't get changed for the week we stayed general house keeping was vey poor in the room, health and safety is none existent we came out of the lift one afternoon into the corrridor and the floor was soaking wet very lucky not to slip no wet floor signs were visible on the landing, We stayed on an A1 package the food was edible fortunately my wife and I are not fussy eaters the restaurant and bar staff where very robotic there was no enterainment as per brochure the A1 finished at 11pm and we where asked to leave the bar at 11.10pm

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Protaras hotels

Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This is not bad, but if U were in 4 or 5 stars hotel it's not for U. Hotel isn't near the sea & not in Protaras. U can see the sea from high floor or from the roof.
Beaches are in five minutes of walking. All of them are municipal. If U like a little bay with many people in it - it's for U.
I don't know what U can do in the Hotel all day: maybe get sunbath by the poor, all people say that the pool is beautiful; what else? play tennis? or ping-pong? but it's very hot&hard play tennis in afternoon. Beside, sport equipment is old: ping-pong rackets are ragged, tennis net is from IRON. I don't understand why Hotel can't buy new equipment. It's not too expensive!
The staff are good but management is bad.
Our room was on the ground floor therefore we need curtain the window all time. There was not enough light in the evening in the room. They cleaned rooms every day except Saturday. There are not gel&shampoo in the bathroom, only liquid soap. There is a hairdryer in the room.
Sockets have euro port header. When we asked adapter on reception, they told us: buy it on supermarket. I think it's bad service, why they can buy some adapters for their clients? I don't need adapter after vacation. But we found an outlet:))
About eat. There are beacon, eggs, sausages, beans, toasts, tomatoes, cucumbers, cheese, olives on breakfast. There are many different dishes on supper: we ate musaka (local dish), potatoes, pasta, rice, salads, meets, chicken. Fruit are not different: grapefruit&orange on breakfast, watermelon on supper. About drinks: there are coffee (bad), tea, juices (instant) free on breakfast, and water, beer, juices, coffee, tea, vine, cocktails for € on supper.
The hotel doesn't have wi-fi, only stationary desktop with Internet for 4 euros per hour on reception.
There are many bars & restaurants, rent-a-car companies, supermarket near the hotel. But real life U can get in Protaras. U must go there along the sea, there is footpath equipped illumination, tap with potable water. The way lays down many cafés "one-size-fits-all".
About animation: there are show for kids every evening (it's too many kids in the hotel), lotto for growths, parrots show, magic show, dance show.

Room Tip: Main building (where reception is) on the 3 higher floors on the rear side of building (not for pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anechka_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERKS
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

As a frequent visitor to the island of Cyprus and somebody who has stayed in all kinds of accomodation, I have to say i will be avoiding this resort on future visits. The Crown resorts Elamaris would have been a 4 star complex about 30 years ago but is now just a shadow of its former glory . The rooms are the worst I have ever stayed in and the whole place is desperate for a face lift. Pam the Rep was a waste of time, when we told her we wanted out on the second morning of our stay, she simply told us she was not a Rep and only on site to arrange excusions etc, we would have to sort it out with our holiday provider when back in the UK which really didn,t help. It was simply a case of getting on with the holiday and making best of the situation. Positives though !! Staff are friendly, food not bad but nothing really for children, pool area is nice and plenty of room, dont expect too much entertainment apart from Bingo , Parrot show, Disco which is really just music playing. My overall rating for this complex is 4 out of 10.

Room Tip: Stayed with 3 other guest , all had problems with the rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerksTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I had booked this holiday as a surprise for my husbands 40th birthday and had read the reviews prior to us leaving the UK and was extremely worried about the hotel. On arrival at 1am in the morning we went to our apartment and I was horrified, to the point where I cried. The hotel has not been updated for at least 20-30 years. The tiles in the bathroom were mouldy and I cringed everytime I had a shower, the carpet in the bedroom was dirty. I am not a fussy person and can do basic accommodation however this was not acceptable. Some of the staff we found to be lovely, the food was fine and the pool bar was great. They also had evening entertainment which was OK, however I am not a bingo person and they did this every night! We had concerns that 11 children (my son included) during the 2 week period we were there got an ear infection from the water in the pool. The chemist did a roaring trade!! On the day of departure we were not leaving until the evening and we had been asking all week if we could pay the 30 euros to extend our stay in our room, the staff kept replying to ask on the morning of our last day so we did as advised and were told that they were fully booked!! surely they must have known about it earlier in the week? We asked if we could be moved to another room, which they would not allow. They advised there was a courtesy shower room that we could use, but you needed to book it the day prior, at no time did anyone inform us of this. In the end we used the courtesy room, one of the shower heads was broken and the hairdryer didn't work. We asked it we could have another hairdryer and they said they didn't have one, they advised us to go outside as it was warm and our hair would soon be dry! Not good customer service, they just wanted us out of the room end of! The hotel is not based in Protaras please be aware of this.

Room Tip: pool view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed here august 2011 and it was ok, not as bad as it made out in some reviews on here but certainly not the best hotel. The rooms were fairly spacious and had everything you needed in them. The bath was filthy though and rooms weren't cleaned or the towels/sheets changed all week, the maids did come in 6 days (they had sundays off which meant the bins in the bathroom wasnt emptied) a week though but all they did was make the bed. The staff weren't very friendly but whenever we asked them anything they tried to sort it out. When we checked in we were told they were upgrading us to all inclusive free of charge for the first week but then half way through the week they tried to charge us for it an vitually accused us of stealing the wrist bands in the middle of the restaurant in front of everybody which was a bit embarressing! All in all the hotel was ok to stay in but its a very tired and in need of a lick of paint and is a bit expensive for what it is at the minute but with a bit of work could be a really nice hotel. They did have entertainment on every day and night which all the kids seemed to enjoy. The bar near the entrance to the hotel called bennigans was great - more expensive than most in the area but was really nice and the staff were great

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma0622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

i have been to plenty 3 star hotels b4 and this is ment to b a 4 yet this is defo a 2 star. not fussy at all bt this hotel is defo the worst i have ever been. me n my boyfriend went with 4 friends n 3 young children n n the breaky was ok the dinners was fine bt the tea there was no choice for them at all n us, n they lived off chicken nuggets n chips for a week from the snack menu. same deserts every day aswel. drinks menu was fine n the pool area n rooms were ok bt the staff were the worst i have ever com across very ignorant n never smiled at us and was rude!!! never will return.......

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaza2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.2 km away
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
#48 of 65 in Protaras
82 reviews
1.1 km away
Artemis Hotel Apartments
Artemis Hotel Apartments
#47 of 65 in Protaras
332 reviews
3.9 km away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#42 of 65 in Protaras
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Vangelis ApartHotel
Vangelis ApartHotel
#55 of 65 in Protaras
487 reviews
0.2 km away
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments
#36 of 65 in Protaras
220 reviews
0.4 km away
Tsokkos Polycarpia Hotel
Tsokkos Polycarpia Hotel
#62 of 65 in Protaras
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Resorts Elamaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Resorts Elamaris

Property: Crown Resorts Elamaris
Address: Cape Greco Avenue | P.O. Box 33247, Protaras, Paralimni 5312, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Resorts Elamaris 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Bookcyprus.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Resorts Elamaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel Protaras
Crown Resort Elamaris
Crown Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing