We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Staff, Poor Food and thank god for Stan the entertainment guy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Protaras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen,Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff, Poor Food and thank god for Stan the entertainment guy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Just back from the Rising Star after 2 weeks, party of 3 Adults and 2 children, All Inclusive.Really good location beside the beach and excellent pool area. Apartments dated but really clean with everything you require. Cleaning staff do an excellent job and are really helpful and polite as is the Manager, Bar and Restaurant staff. First week, excellent evening entertainment, good singers, a parrot show and a magic show which was brilliant! Unfortunately on the Saturday there was a wedding and we were moved to the Golden Star to use their facilities and to eat there....this was a joke.....hotel was so busy, hundreds of locals everywhere and the noise levels were unacceptable until 3am in the morning...no use for the kids. Impression owners treated the guests as second class citizens and did not care!!! Just when we thought it could not get any worse, over 100 Norwegian elderly guests arrived and took over the hotel. Entertainment at night the second week was changed to suit them and UK people were not looked after. Even the pool area was taken over by them doing exercises in the morning at the side of the pool. We went All Inclusive and I would not recommend...lack of choice and the food was awful....landed up eating out most nights. Was nervous re the entertainment guy as per previous reviews but he is no longer there, new guy Stan who is an absolute star and the kids loved him. Well done Stan...if it was not for you the kids would not have had a good holiday! Will not be returning to this group of hotels!

Room Tip: Stayed in 401- brilliant front sea view and 310- side sea view. Ask for even number for side sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babsmaclaughlinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    95
    37
    16
    3
See reviews for
146
93
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. The location was ideal, in a quieter spot at one end of the beach, only a few minutes walk from all the restaurants and bars (just far enough away for some peace and quiet). We had a studio on the 1st floor, which was immaculate (particularly impressed by how clean the kitchen utensils were), and had great views across the bay. We didn't have any problems with the humming sounds other people have mentioned, but we were further along the corridor and could hear further down the corridor. There was loud music from downstairs on night (think it may have been a wedding), but other than that no problems with disturbed sleep. The third bed (sofa) would not have been great to sleep on. There was free air-conditioning, and a proper hairdrier provided. We were impressed that maintenance issues which arose during our stay were fixed straight away - even on a Sunday.

The pool area was lovely, and there were always plenty of sunbeds to go around - and thankfully a lot less crammed together than some of the other larger hotels along the seafront. There was music by the pool during the day, which I'm sure some people wouldn't like, but having initially not been too keen we actually missed it when it stopped one afternoon!

We stayed self-catering, and had a lot of nice, reasonably-priced meals out. The supermarkets were all fairly expensive as geared up to tourists - we eventually found Aldi but it was a bit of a trek in hot weather.

On our last day we were not being picked up till 9pm, so we made use of one of the courtesy rooms - there are 2 of them, and you can book a half hour slot the day before. We were given towels at reception, and the room had a toilet and two shower cubicles and was free of charge. It really enabled to enjoy our holiday till the last minute.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purplecazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

My Wife and I have had a particularly stressful 2011 and so needed/deserved an "escape" for a "week in the Sun"!
Last year we were in a similar situation and found a week in Gran Canaria....cheap but night clubs ran `til 4am and no air-conditioning....a break but not a rest!!!
Our Travel Agent was most helpful and found us a week self-catering ..Cyprus...Protaras...Rising Star Apartments....GOOD CHOICE!!!! We read Trip- Advisor for varied but essentially really good reports....it was brilliant!!!!
Thomas Cook flight was not good each way....arrived feeling like a "sardine on one leg"!...45min transfer was fine....they drive on the left and have English road signs! On arrival reception/check-in was quick and welcoming.....We had read on many reports "must have even number rooms for view etc"....we were room421...."Oh bugger" I thought....but did not complain.....it was a perfect room for us ....4th floor...balcony where I could watch the setting Sun at 6.30pm and a side view of the sea...."even number" rooms lost the Sun at 2.30!!!!.....how sad!!!!
The apartment was perfect....modern, well equipped and very clean....situated on the beach it had location, location etc.... we had a choice of daily walk along the coast to Pernera or along the beach walk to Fig Tree Bay...traffic-free beautiful decking/concrete walk-way....seriously impressive!!
The beach was very clean and there were plenty of available sun-beds/umbrellas...admittedly we were near end of holiday season.
We stayed on a self-catering basis......no problem....the hotel/apartments had a very good supermarket 100 yds away.
Eating out we were spoilt for choice...on the "strip"....next to the apartments there were every themed restaurant you could think of!!!!....Macdonalds/ Pizza hut/ Greek/ Italian/ Indian/ Chinese....all within walking distance!!! We ate out on the balcony of "Promises" twice....fab food and fab service....go there you will not be disappointed!!
For entertainment try "Eden Square" Japanese/Mexican/ Greek restaurants but fabulous live entertainment.....9-12 each night....cocktails only 3 euros.....make sure you know your way home!!!! We saw "Ebony and Ivory" 3 times.....fantastic duo that made "X-Factor" seem really 3rd class!!!
Back home now ....really miss it...cannot wait to return next year!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Even numbers have pool/sea view.....but you lose Sun mid-afternoon!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbernauld
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We visited The Rising Star In May 2011 for the fourth time, we have also been twice at the Golden Star, both these Hotels we found to be excellent, all the staff including housekeeping ( Helen the maid on the 3rd floor is excellent & very friendly )There were four in our company myself & my Husband ( two pensioners) & our two grown up Daughters, we are all of the same opinion of the Hotel & Staff, no complaints whatsoever, next May cannot come soon enough for our next visit, we have been holidaying in Cyprus since 1989 & are totally in love with, the Cypriots are extreemly genuinely friendly,

Must make a special mention of The Yianna Marie Restaurant, Leo & staff cannort do enough for you, the food and service is first class & they treat you like a great dear friend.

We have recommended this Hotel to many Family & Friends, some of whom have visited the Hotel & they now RAVE about it.

Room Tip: We have had rooms on both sides of the hotel, & have no complaints about either
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janetCumbernauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

I had read the reviews of this hotel before we went, I noticed some people dd not like it. I can say I cannot fault it, we returned today after staying there a week all inclusive. It is very good for a 3 star plus. We thought the food was lovely, there was a good choice and something for everyone including my 9 year old who can be a fussy eater. The hotel was spotlessly clean with lovely smelling towels. The beach is a very short walk away, the sea was like a bath, the kids went snorkelling and we went on 2 different boat trips, the Dolphin Submarine was great at only 2 euros each (I think this was discounted as it was near to the end of the season), the Aphrodite was a longer trip and went closer to Famagusta then onto Cape Greco where we stopped and had an opportunity to jump off the boat into the sea for a swim, it went very close to the caves. The pool was lovely too, with the kids playing water polo with Stan the entertainer. I really did not want to come home and would definitely recommend this hotel with it's fantastic location. We felt very safe here too which was important as I was travelling with my son aged 9 and my friend and her 10 year old son.

Room Tip: Our room faced towards the West overlooking the side/front of the hotel with a view of the chapel on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Last year we stayed at the Odessa All Inclusive and this year wanted to try the self catering option so the Rising Star seemed the obvious choice, riding high in the trip advisor chart. A lot has changed in the year since we booked this holiday. There seems to be a change of management and the hotel feels neglected and it is as if some of the staff are counting down the days until 31st October.
Where to start.... well the room on first impression was very nice, third floor sea view which was great. There was very little drawer space except a small drawer on the dressing table, there is a small wardrobe but Im not sure how a family of three would fare for a two week holiday. The room had a distinct damp smell which was apparent when you entered the room with the air conditioning not on. It smelt like a damp mop and I thought it would disappear, it didn't. The air conditioning unit was pretty good but roared loudly over the bed at night making sleeping like trying to sleep with a hair dryer on. On turning the air con off, the fridge which wan't great either could be heard churning away and the beds were so hard it was like sleeping on the floor. After 3 nights of little sleep, we took these problems up with the receptionist who was quite helpful, although she couldn't guarantee when the manager would turn up when we asked to see him. Nevertheless, the fridge got changed over and the air con unit cleaned out, the filth was still flying out of it that day it had been cleaned, it was disgusting. The smell improved but was still there in the curtains so it lingered but was better when the air con was on circulating the air. The walls are paper thin, you can hear the neighbours on the toilet at night and there is a droning noise coming from the lifts if you are unlucky enough to have a room nearby, which we did. The cleaners forgot to come in and clean once, they came in took the empty bottles and left, so it was down to reception for clean towels. I have never been to a hotel where the pool area isn't cleaned down and the beds aren't stacked in the evening. Never saw the pool being maintained and cleaned and the sun beds are extremely uncomfortable.

There were a couple of good acts on, but according to one of them, the entertainment staff walked out 3 weeks ago and there is a young fella from Bulgaria trying to cope with it all. He tries his best and is quite funny, but it's not what the guests have paid for, there is a distinct lack of organisation which really isn't his fault.
On a positive note, the check out time is at 12noon, which gives you time to get yourself sorted before leaving.

Certainly wouldn't recommend this place, though Protaras is a great resort. We went on the Red Bus to Famagusta and had a great day out, thouroughly recommend this. Also hired a car and visited some beaches with comfy sunbeds.
Just hope they get their act together at this place for next season or the ratings will be sliding again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77Rosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We went to the rising star hotel as a party of 8, arriving on the 14th Sepember, with in our party was 3 children aged between 5 to 12, when booking the holiday we were advised that the kids club had won awards as being the best in europe and this was a good reason to go to this hotel, as all of us had paid for all inclusive only to find that on the th Sepember the kids club closed for the season, i think hat this is disgusting as they know what parties are arriving at the hotel and while you have children in the hotel the club should be open, if we had been awear of this we would have not have gone there. the only person that was brillent was Stano the rep round the pool with out him there would have been no fun in the hotel at all. Also if you have a room on the road side be prepared for the bin men to wake you up and 3 in the morning 4 nights a week. The food was average had better all inclusive eles where.

Room Tip: Sea veiw rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyF7544745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.4 km away
Mandali Hotel Apartments
Mandali Hotel Apartments
#49 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.4 km away
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
#12 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.3 km away
smartline Lantiana Gardens
smartline Lantiana Gardens
#26 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Infinity Blu
Hotel Infinity Blu
#34 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.7 km away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#15 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
1.6 km away
Family Life Nausicaa Beach
Family Life Nausicaa Beach
#16 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel

Property: SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel
Address: 6 Feidipidou Street, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Protaras
#18 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star is situated directly at the sandy Flamingo Beach of Protaras, which invites the whole family for a swim. Most of the facilities are shared between the two sister hotels SunConnect Rising Star & Golden Star. The whole complex disposes of 215 family-friendly rooms with one or two bedrooms. All facilities can be used by guests of both properties (Rising Star and Golden Star). The large sundeck with sun loungers and parasols and 3 pools invite you to relax. The Hotel's reception is available 24/7 and provides currency exchange. The hotel has 2 lifts. Throughout the hotel you enjoy free Wifi. Parking is available. Pool towels can be rented against a charge and deposit. In our Sunny Skies Restaurant a rich variety of foods is served buffet-style for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Yianna Marie a la Carte restaurant, which is located between the two buildings Rising Star and Golden Star, offers international and cypriotic dishes, fresh fish and shell fish between 11:00 and 22:30. You have the possibility to choose between half board (breakfast and dinner) and holiday inclusive which includes breakfast, lunch, dinner (buffets) and selected drinks. The ConnectBar at the Rising Star is opened between 10:00 and 21:00. Here you can enjoy delicious drinks while recharging your mobile devices and getting in contact with other guests. Moreover, you can also enjoy a drink at our Lobby Bar at the Rising Star Hotel. There's a supermarket for basic necessities at the Golden Star Complex. If you would like to stay active during your stay with us, you can enjoy a game of football, table tennis or beach volleyball with your family or other guests. Your ConnectScout organizes numerous sports activities for the entire family, for example water polo. Besides the hotel has a tennis court and tennis rackets can be rented against a charge. There's also a fitness center for you to keep fit during your holiday (against a charge). For guests seeking relaxation and wellness, our Venus Massage Center has lots of different treatments to offer, which will for sure leave you relaxed and revitalized. Treat yourself with a back massage or enjoy a Thai Massage (against a fee). Alternatively you can relax in the sauna or steam bath (against a fee) or use the indoor swimming pool. Our kids club invites children under 7 for diverse and fun activities like different pool games or creative time. Play games, read books, watch movies and meet new friends! There's also a playground which will for sure be enjoyed by your kids! For kids from 8 years on there are also a lot of water activities like water polo, a pool race or swimming competitions. Or what about a game of football, volleyball or basketball? There's also table tennis, billiard and air hockey - so it's for sure not going to be boring!For teenagers, the ConnectTeenLounge invites to hang out with new friends or play video games. There's a mini disco on several days a week. There are life shows with music every day. The hotel offers family-friendly apartments with one or two bedrooms for up to 4 guests. Those are equipped with air conditioning in the bedroom, TV, kitchenette with cooking rings, microwave or mini oven, fridge, kettle and toaster, a bathroom with bath/shower and WC and a furnished balcony or terrace. Apartments in the Rising Star have a side sea view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rising Star Beach Hotel
Rising Star Beach Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing