We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Luxury bespoke charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Usha Kiran Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Usha Kiran Palace
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Gwalior
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxury bespoke charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our stay here was one of the highlights of my time in India. As I live in India, that's saying a lot. The service was excellent, and this is a wonderful weekend getaway. The pool was relaxing and offered excellent service, the spa had well priced services and trained staff, the rooms were large and airy, and the food good as well. Also excellent for families, as the pool is great for the kids and the staff very attentive. After seeing the fort, we chilled out for the rest of the day at the pool. The hotel is almost a mini resort. Well priced as well. An excellent value and real hidden gem. Will go there again on a long weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarletPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    165
    36
    12
    11
See reviews for
137
162
33
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Our driver had some difficulty finding this hotel, but when we did what a lovely surprise.
On entry we were greeted by staff with flowers and the news were to be upgraded to a suite.
The room was huge and very comfortable, with a terrace overlooking the gardens.
The was a big Indian wedding in the gardens the night we stayed and we were invited to attend. It was a lovely experiance. Colour and movement.
We ate in the restaurant which was very nice and there was a 2 year old boys birthday which was a nice distraction.
The staff were lovely and and attentive.
A ovely quite spot away from the hustle and bustle of the town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Taj once again exceeds expectations. The staff as well as the hotel were wonderful. The rooms are very big and comfortable, it is a former palace. The only issue I had was I was only able to spend one night at this hotel.

The staff was very eager to make my stay as comfortable as possible. They were very friendly and enjoyed sharing information about the history of the palace and some former celebrities that stayed.

The dinning room was open, clean and comfortable. Chef even spent time out of the kitchen talking to me once my dinner was served. A very good chef and proud to talk about the hotel, his country and his food.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Gwalior

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

we stayed in this palace for 2 nights 3 days,never felt like we are away from home,it will be in-appropriate to say it is a hotel,extremely courteous staff,very helpful.The rooms beautifully designed/restored to give a very old world charm, yet with all latest gadgets within your reach for that extra comfort one would desire. I am sure to visit this place once again...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zeuspra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

As the name says, this is a true palace.
We had an excellent memorable new years eve (2010) in this amazing place with a big music celebration party and endless buffet at the garden. Not to mention the very large rooms that make you feel like a real maharaja. Our best stay in India.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandros_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed the hotel for 2 night. Our room was really beautiful, we had a roya suite room, chand niwas. The room was well-decorated and beautiful surrounding. I love the bathroom and living area. We had a big terrace for only two suites rooms.

Our deal included breakfast and one meal, transport which I found very reasonable. Hotel has a beautiful swimming pool, garden. I also love the decorations and architecture of the hotel. They maintained well.

However, the service is not impressive. We ordered the drinks at the restaurant. Although there were nobody when we arrived, it took over 30 mins to bring us the drinks. If you want to have one thing in the restaurant, you have to ask 2-3 times till they get it right. Also housekeeping is talking to me too much. It was very clear that he wanted to have tips. I wish they left me alone and peace. They should manage their staff training better. It is really a shame for such a beautiful hotel. If they have well-trained staffs, this hotel worths much better.

This season has many mosquitoes. If you are going now, you should bring some mosquito cream etc. Someone recommended to eat outside, however, it is too cold to eat when I was there. Maybe nice for lunch and breakfast.

Also for the palace museum time is 10am-5pm. And the fort is closing around 5pm and it takes quite long time to see all. So it is better to go early in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank churachura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goucestershire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

From the fantastic welcome we received by the manager through to the room which needed sat nav to negotiate, this hotel is definitely worth a visit.
In the middle of the city, the hotel sits like a little oasis and for the night we spent, we had a taste of what it might have felt like to be a member of the royal family. For, as the manager informed us, the hotel was constructed especially for a visit by a member of the British monarchy who unfortunately never stayed.
Anyone looking for a high tech identikit hotel room stay away, for what you will get is idiosyncratic with loads of character and a real sense of history.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queensquitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gwalior hotels
1.3 km away
Neemrana's Deo Bagh
Neemrana's Deo Bagh
#2 of 19 in Gwalior
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Grace
Hotel Grace
#3 of 19 in Gwalior
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.6 km away
Ambience Gwalior
Ambience Gwalior
#5 of 19 in Gwalior
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Central Park
The Central Park
#16 of 19 in Gwalior
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Surbhi
Hotel Surbhi
#8 of 19 in Gwalior
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
9.9 km away
Hotel Adityaz
Hotel Adityaz
#13 of 19 in Gwalior
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Usha Kiran Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Usha Kiran Palace

Property: Usha Kiran Palace
Address: Jayendraganj Lashkar, Gwalior 474009, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Gwalior
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Gwalior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Usha Kiran Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Usha Kiran Palace has played host to the King of England and is now a heritage hotel. Set amidst 9 acres of beautifully landscaped lawns, this 120 year old regal palace, rich in history, is outfitted with artistic stone carvings and delicate filigree work. Conveniently located, the hotel has 40 beautiful rooms including Villas with private pool and suites, a dining room truly reminiscent of royalty, a Bar and the award winning Jiva Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Usha Kiran Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usha Kiran Palace Gwalior
Usha Kiran Palace Hotel Gwalior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing