We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
48
24
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
24
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade bread typical newfoundland each morning beautiful island eileen fogo guests host
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 80 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2019

We stayed at Peg’s for 4 nights in late August and truly enjoyed our experience. Eileen (the proprietor) gave us all the tips on local sights and activities, and insights into the history and politics of the Island. The B&B was very cute and well maintained, with good wifi. Breakfast was delicious (we couldn’t get enough of her homemade bread and jams!). The location was superb in the town of Fogo, close to great hikes and restaurants, and a short 15min drive from almost everything we wanted to do in nearby towns. Would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

We arrived on a rainy day and stayed 2 nights in this lovely bed and breakfast in the picturesque town of Fogo. The town had more amenities than most towns on Fogo Island and everything worth seeing and experiencing on the island is a short distance away!! We walked the stunningly beautiful Fogo Island trail and stopped for a couple of afternoon drinks at the world renowned Fogo island inn. Had great Chinese food?? An unexpected find!! And the lightest crispiest battered fish and chips at the Beaches bar - unfortunately I too late in the season for the traditional live music!!
Eileen was a wonderful host providing an excellent breakfast with homemade preserves and freshly picked blueberries!! A very memorable visit!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank LizWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 17, 2018

The owners of Peg's Place are very knowledgeable about the area and offered great tips about what to see and do. We were there for the Brimstone Head Folk Festival and they really helped us out in terms of navigating the event. The breakfasts each morning were fantastic with homemade bread and jams. We were treated with patience and kindness from our first hello to our final goodbye. We will never forget our wonderful stay there! Beth J.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 89bethj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

A great spot in Fogo! Eileen is a wonderful host with lots of local knowledge and suggestions. She takes an interest in her guests and obviously enjoys offering warm hospitality. Breakfast was delicious - especially the home-made bread (she baked it daily... the aroma was as delightful as the finished product.) Our room was not large but beds were comfortable and room/ensuite very clean. Lovely time spent on front porch in the evenings.

Room tip: Book early as Peg's Place books up quickly during peak times. Rooms on back or side may be quieter than front.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CindiC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

We had a great stay at Peg’s place. Eileen is very friendly and gave us lots of advice about hikes around the island and visiting the inn with the free tour. She cooked us a great breakfast each morning with eggs, toast, fruit and various jams. The kitchen was available throughout the day (no access to the stove) which was convenient. Our room was small and the washroom was in the closet but very clean and comfortable. The water in the bathroom and tap was a bit muddy but filtered water was always available in the common area. Fogo is a beautiful place and we would love to return and stay here again!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank wanderingET
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews