We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Glen E
Golden, Canada

Deservedly top rated

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 30, 2023via mobile
Greater warmly by our host, Eileen and shown to our room with a view of Fogo Harbour. Ask for room 2 when you reserve.

Good simple breakfast to start a day of exploring this fascinating corner of the country.

A few stairs to navigate outside and inside the house.

Within very short walking distances of almost everything, especially Bangbelly for supper.
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Be prepared for stairs. Room 2. Lots of adjacent parking.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
35.3 km from Peg's Place - B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Anchor Inn Hotel and Hodge Premises from the Twillingate harbour with the St. Peter's Anglican Church and the Wooden Boat Museum in the background.
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
36.2 km from Peg's Place - B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Stilts on the rocks
7.5 km from Peg's Place - B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
35.8 km from Peg's Place - B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
35.4 km from Peg's Place - B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
37.7 km from Peg's Place - B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
35.2 km from Peg's Place - B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
77.9 km from Peg's Place - B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
35.6 km from Peg's Place - B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Fogo Island
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
50
24
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
50
24
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade bread typical newfoundland each morning beautiful island eileen fogo guests host
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 82 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2022 via mobile

A typical Newfoundland experience: the owner/greeter/chef was warm and charming.
The bedrooms were small but had everything one might need.
Eileen was lovely and ready to answer any questions or provide us with any possible needs.
Breakfast was made to order and served with a smile and delightful conversation.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sreiter2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 20, 2022

My husband and I had the privilege to stay at Peg’s Place on the beautiful Island of Fogo. Each morning we were treated to a tasty hot breakfast of eggs ( cooked our way) with toast from homemade bread, and at least six homemade jams to top it off. We also had the choice of apple or orange juice, coffee or tea. The B&B is very homey, and a great way to meet couples from all across the country.
Eileen and Gerald go out of their way to make your stay a very memorable experience.

Room tip: Request a lower floor if you have trouble with stairs.
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoragV_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 16, 2022 via mobile

The owner is super nice and clean. Her name is Eileen and she makes everything from scratch: fruit jams and bread. The kitchen is clean and accessible for guests. She came to set up coffee machine every evening and started making breakfast at 7:30am. She cooked eggs at your choices: scrambled or boiled…the whole breakfast was wonderful. She has been in the business for 20 years and no wonder she got so many compliments from guests reviews!

Room tip: The location is great for people who are keen to hike in Brimstone, Lion Head etc. We went to Brimstone twice. Sunset is beautiful there!
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sylviazsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 31, 2022

Just as advertised. Great location and a wonderful host who was willing to share her local knowledge. A comfortable, clean, and friendly stay. The breakfasts were particularly good, especially the homemade bread.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulmW2229KQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 7, 2021

Fabulous place to stay in Fogo, Eileen is so friendly and helpful, able to get us into a restaurant on short notice. Room was clean and comfy, fully cooked breakfast in the morning was great, homemade bread and jam, and of course other items ,lol. Will definitely stay here again and recommend to family and friends.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronicahR6947IZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eileen Freake, Owner at Peg's Place - B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2021

Thank you so much for staying with us. We’re glad you enjoyed your time on our beautiful island - hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews