We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place away from the rat race”
Review of Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Certificate of Excellence
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place away from the rat race”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This was the latest of several stays we have had at The Bridge, although there has a been a too long gap of a few years. The hotel is in a perfect location and makes a great base for many outstanding walks without having to move the car. Haystacks, Red Pike, High Stile are local peaks as well as easy walks around Buttermere or Crummock. The rooms are nice, always clean without being faffy. The food in the main restaurant is superb and the staff are friendly & helpful. Beer & pub grub in the bar is also excellent, although probably pricier than the average pub. The only minor negatives is the loss of free afternoon teas (which were removed a few years ago) and the latest we discovered at check-out was that after-dinner tea & coffee were not included in our DBB rate but charged at £3.25 per person! (Seems a bit steep & a bit of a mickey-take). Still, we'll probably be back but skip the coffee!

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies but overlook the car park, but all rooms we've had have been of a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderers257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    83
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
55
261
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed in one of the lower ground apartments and it was absolutely perfect in every way. Well set out, well equiped, clean and very comfortable. We ate in the bar a couple of times and the food was excellent - as was the friendly and professional service. Could not recommend the Bridge Hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just spent two days in the most fabulous hotel. Great restaurant and bar food. Very clean and lovely bedroom with magnificant views of the Buttermere valley. Bar serves really fine local ales and a fantastic range of single malt whiskies (was I dreaming and in Scotland???).

All the staff were absolutely lovely, very helpful and professional: not in the least overbearing. My they worked hard and so cheerfully.

There is free wi-fi in the public areas.

Another reviewer stated that this is just the sort of hotel that we should be supporting - could not agree more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have stayed at the Bridge hotel on several occasions and have always had a fabulous time, the food is excellent and the rooms are very clean and comfortable.
This time we chose to stay in one of the apartments on a special offer, it was a wonderful stay. After a hard day's walking around the Buttermere and surrounding area it was so relaxing to come back to a clean and well equipped apartment.
The staff are all friendly and helpful, on our last day our car got stuck, Adrian the Manager immediately came to our rescue and obtained a tractor to pull us out.
We would highly recommend both the Hotel and the Apartments and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHILLJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

A recent return visit (February 2012) confirmed what a lovely place this is. Location, rooms, food and friendly, unobtrusive service all remind us that we should support such establishments to ensure their survival. The "bargain breaks" are excellent value when available. We'll be back ... again.

PS Why go to Scotland?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magenta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Happened to stumble on The Bridge in a days travels. The staff were very friendly and helpful while not being overbearing. The room was right for us, clean and comfortable without the sterility of a modern hotel. The evening meal was the best I've had in England hands down. Every course was a pleasure and we lingered 'til after 10:00 savoring the scenery and coffee. We have since been back to have tea in the bar out back and I know will be there again for a nights stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Buttermere is a wonderful place, I travel there constantly, living only an hour and a half away. There is next to nothing in Buttermere (except some of the most stunning countryside in the world)! Very few resisdents,only 2 little cafes both linked to farms - with staff who sometimes are resentful of tourists ... which is an odd attitude for a buisiness. Typical example ... 'it must be wonderful living here ................. 'it would be if it wasn't for you visitors'! However, the place is so wonderful it transends such mean comments. The Bridge is very friendly, a lovely hotel. I have stayed in the hotel itself in the recent past and the rooms are lovely ... but perfer to use it for bar meals. Every meal i have eaten at the Bridge has been superb, excellent quality, great selection of wines and spirits. A lovely atmosphere in the bars, great for walkers and families wanting to enjoy a gorgeous meal in a friendly, cosy enviroment. Great value - great service - great quality! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
8.4 km away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
7.6 km away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
396 reviews
9.1 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
11.9 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
622 reviews
13.5 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Hotel

Property: Bridge Hotel
Address: Buttermere CA13 9UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set between two lakes and surrounded by Fells in an area of outstanding natural beauty, the Bridge Hotel is situated on a site which has been occupied for over a 1000 years. Licensed as a Coaching Inn in1735 it has evolved into a luxury traditional Lakeland hotel offering a warm welcome, comfort and attentive service. Innovative chefs provide excellent, freshly prepared, locally sourced, quality food both in the dining room and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Buttermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing