We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Palazzuolo
Nearby Hotels
US$104
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albergo Le Terme(Bagno Vignoni)
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$476
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Posta Marcucci(Bagno Vignoni)
US$278
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia(Castiglione D'Orcia)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza(Pienza)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Residence San Gregorio(Pienza)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Chiostro di Pienza(Pienza)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Podre al Salcio(San Quirico d'Orcia)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
110
223
85
24
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
223
85
24
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolsullen waitresshf walkinghappily stay here againsan quiricoolive oilhot wateroff seasontowntuscanyvalleymeatexcellencelandscape
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 446 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I reviewed this establishment 5 years ago and was none too impressed at the time. I returned for a 4-day visit to the Val d'Orcia this spring and am pleased to say things have improved significantly at the Palazzuolo. The staff was friendly and efficient. Breakfast selections were excellent and ample, and the sleeping experience was very good. The hotel could use some TLC on the exterior -- possibly some yard work, paint and other refinements. But all things considered, it's in decent shape and is a pleasant enough home base for your visit to one of the best parts of Italy. I believe they're adjusted their prices a bit, as well -- at least the off-season rates. I believe I was charged less than 60E/day for a single use double during Easter week. Pretty good price/value comparison, I'd say.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BagnoCaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We spent two nights here as part of a walking holiday in the area. The hotel was a fairly standard Italian 3-star, with decent-sized room and bathroom. The afternoon/evening lady spoke good English and was helpful; the girl on duty in the mornings was less forthcoming. Our package included dinner, which was quite good but overwhelming -- five courses plus a salad buffet. It's a 10-min walk into the centre of San Quirico d'Orcia, which is a charming old town. The Palazzuola has a pool but it was closed when we stayed there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meigingtoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for two nights as part of a walking tour of Tuscany. The other hotels we had stayed at were lovely and, really, Hotel Palazzuolo came as a shock to the system and it is difficult to describe our disappointment.
To start at the beginning - our arrival. We were 'greeted' (!) by a person who turned out to be the hotel manager. At first he was reluctant to stop reading his newspaper, eventually he looked at us and raised his eyebrows in question. We immediately christened him Basil but really Basil Fawlty had some charm and charisma this man had none. Check in was accomplished with very little spoken communication, he waved his arm firstly in the direct of where our cases had been left and then in the direction of where our rooms might be found! The rooms - badly decorated and poorly furnished with an extra chair/singlebed taking up much needed space but it was reasonably clean which is more than can be said for the shower room. The public rooms were not much better. The restaurant had all the appeal of a school canteen. The bar was large but only had two sofas so far apart that conversation was difficult. Bar staff were thin on the ground as they doubled up to wait at table, which brings me to THE FOOD. There was some sort of attempt at genuine Tuscan cuisine but I think it was sacrificed to the cost of ingredients. Dinner was a set menu, antipasti, a soup course, first course, second course and dessert. Menu planning was non existent. At one meal we had a pasta course with a beef sauce followed by beef stew. Most courses were served lukewarm and on our second night the pasta was so cold that we sent it back. The re-heated serving was almost inedible. The desserts were definitely from a school canteen menu. Breakfast was slightly better but there was a very large walking group staying in the hotel as well and there wasn't too much left for our small group when we went to breakfast.
The hotel is situated on the edge of a housing estate which made it quite difficult to find .
The swimming pool and surrounding gardens were good but the pool temperature seemed to be kept at sub zero and far too cold to even paddle in the shallow end.
We had walked about 20kms on the day we arrived at this hotel, our longest day's walk, and it is difficult to describe the disappointment we felt about this hotel. 'Basil' was just as uncommunitive at checkout as on our arrival.
Our rep was aware of the deficiencies of this hotel and said the company were trying to find an alternative.
The only thing nice to say about this hotel is that the staff (apart from the manager) were very friendly and helpful and worked hard in what seemed to us very trying circumstances.
...........and finally. To anyone who has stayed there earlier on this year - NO - the air con hasn't been repaired yet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Smithy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2009

We stayed 6 days at this hotel and had a really good time there. The rooms are rather simple but very clean. The swimming pool is also clean and certainly big enough. Breakfast had not great quality, but the supper was really very good and the sight from "la terrazza" was fantastic. From this hotel you can visit a lot of beautifull cities (Siena, Montalcino, Montepulciano, Pienza...)

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank goldflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2006

My wife and I have stayed at the Palazzuolo three times in the last four years. The hotel is well-situated, has clean rooms and a decent restaurant. However, it's hardly a bargain for this area at ~110E for a double. In addition, the front desk staff is aloof and they stand idly by as older English hike/bike tours run roughshod over other guests. On multiple occasions, we've been (alternatively) told by their guides that we needed to vacate our table in the restaurant to make room for tour members (false) and that the breakfast buffet was for the exclusive benefit of the tour (false). We can more or less rely that tour members will bull rush the buffet and subject other guests to some of the rudest most boorish behavior I have witnessed in my 20 years traveling in Central Italy. To make matters worse, tours coalesce in and physically block the lobby between 8-10am. Kind requests to move aside are met with cold stares and non-compliance. We have considerable experience in this area and can attest there are many less expensive and more hospitable establishments. We've been a little hard-headed about the Palazzuolo due to its very central location. This is no longer enough for us, and we won't be back.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BagnoCaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews