We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais Louis XI - hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$165
US$160
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Licorne Hotel(Beaugency)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$112
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orleans Parc Hotel(La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin)
US$94
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
hotelF1 Orleans La Chapelle St Mesmin(La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin)
US$40
US$37
hotelF1
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Beaugency(Beaugency)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
67
64
29
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
64
29
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssur loirethe riverrooms are spacioushistoric buildingbreakfast roomlovely hotelbankscourtyardbedroomcenturiesfrancewardrobefurnishingsfrenchcharm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Our room was large and had a view over the river, so lovely view. We took dinner in the hotel restaurant, which had a good menu and was delicious. We would definitely return. There was a buffet breakfast with a good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
didier6po, Responsable réception at Relais Louis XI - hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

We the thank you for your comments
looking forward in receiving you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

This is NOT a Holiday Inn Express.

As an inn dating back centuries with dramatic views of the Loire river tumbling over a small falls, the property exudes charm and uniqueness. The rooms are spacious and each is different. I think they all have views of the river. Most are entered from the courtyard. The steps tend to be narrow, spiral stairs, so you may not want to lug all the bags up. The furnishings are a mix of rustic antiques, old furniture, and some more modern pieces. The bed was soft, but not a problem. The bath was quite modern and stuff worked well.

There is a fan in the wardrobe. The windows have screens, so they can be opened if it gets hot. It is very tranquil with the water flowing.

Breakfast is superb and the staff is very friendly. It's not a Fairfield Inn, either.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dan_Yucaipa_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

This hotel is lovely on the facade with a historic castle-like building and view of the Loire River. However, it had several shortcomings that made it a poor choice, especially given the price. The restaurant was okay, but it took forever, it was extremely hot and stuffy, and the staff was less than eager to please, rudely avoiding eye contact at all costs. The fish was bland and the other portions extremely meager--I could cut up some cucumber and melon too. Sadly, this one of our most expensive meals while in France AND the worst service. We didn't even want to try the plain breakfast at 12euros pp when we saw that you could go for a short lovely walk through town to get a coffee and most delicious pastries for less than half the price of the hotel.
Cleaning was extremely lazy as well. Our plastic cups were not changed once during our 4-day stay. And we returned to the room each day to discover that the pillows from the bed were placed at the table, stuffed inside the chairs by the housekeeper. How strange! The courtyard, which looked so pretty in the photos, was not clean either--unkempt patio chairs and a filthy pond characterized the grounds.
I don't suppose they have much competition in Meung-sur-Loire, which is a darling town, and I feel like it would be an excellent business proposition to start a competing hotel there. I'll add that Meung-sure-Loire is an ok base if you are exploring the Chambord area, but we would've found a place farther west more convenient if we'd known how poorly this would've turned out.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank porkchop1496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Perfect locations good rooms og very good breakfast. The restaurent was a perfect match on er perfect day - we recomend it. We wascon way south and found thi hiddrn pearl. Will be one of our best holiday memories.

Room Tip: Best vieuw - lots of history
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mette363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

If you are interested by the history of the place and if you like old house this is the place for you.
We took a room for 3 people (2 adults and one kid), we had two beds, a set of 3 towels (which is very rare).
Then, the double bed is 140x190cm so very small, the glass in the bathroom are in plastic and everything look to be as cheap as possible.
The breakfast is correct.
At the end, for 3 people with breakfast the cost is very high for the quality you have.
It's a good place if you consider the location and the house but very expensive if you consider the standard.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews