We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Chapel Schoolhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Chapel Schoolhouse
The Old Chapel Schoolhouse - help yourself to the herbs in the garden! Across the valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Old Chapel Schoolhouse
The Old Chapel Schoolhouse - help yourself to the herbs in the garden!
Across the valley
View to Stoodley Pike
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Solid Oak Staircase
Bathroom
Bathroom
Double Room
Double Room
Twin Room
Twin Room
Mezzanine chill out space
Utility Room
Secure Bike Store
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Todmorden, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jillandio
Hants
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Although our visit was for a sad occasion, the Old Chapel Schoolhouse was the perfect place and location. Everything was just wonderful for us - Shirley greeted us with a very warm welcome - the house needs to be given an outstanding rating. Everything that was needed ws provided for us and made us feel very comfortable. If there was one thing I was to comment on, it would be to provide internet connection.
Well done to all involved. Thank you Shirley for accommodating my family at your wonderful house. We hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2015
Thank you for the lovely review and your kind words. We strive to ensure guests are made to feel 'well and truly' at home at the cottage. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
idetika
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and cosy cottage”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A perfect place to relax.
We were met by Shirley who made us feel very welcome. The accommodation was immaculate and beautifully decorated, and everything that was needed was supplied. The bedrooms were cosy and characterful, and the mezzanine levels were a big hit with the kids! This house has clearly been restored to a very high standard and is beautifully furnished.
The area had loads to offer, with supermarkets and the station within walking distance.
I would thoroughly recommend this cottage for a stay in this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the property.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
Thrilled you and the kids had such a great time! Thanks for a lovely review, we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie N
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful quaint cottage”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

When we drove into Todmorden we were a bit disappointed and we were apprehensive about where our accommodation would be and what it would be like. We were delighted the old chapel school house was at the end of the town with lovely views over the hills with chickens in the field outside . The welcome we received from the owners was fantastic , so helpful and the cottage had some supplies in which were really welcome bread butter milk and dried goods like pasta rice . The cottage was tastefully decorated in a complimentary modern style . it was peaceful and close by to Hebdon Bridge , lovely walks and the highest beach in England . We drove to the shepherds rest pub and then walked to gaddings dam it was incredible and we would not have known about had Sheila not told us. The old chapel school house is a great base to stay with everything you need to have a relaxing break. Will go again and we recommend you buy your eggs from the farmer opposite , Loved it there thanks for a lovely stay

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
Very pleased you had a wonderful break away, we look forward to seeing you again.

All the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitnurse
Mijas-Costa Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A lovely cottage, with very helpful and friendly owners. Shirley met us at the cottage and recommended places to go and things to do. A great place for a peaceful holiday, and ideal for walkers. Very clean and very well presented.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
Thrilled you had a great holiday, it was a pleasure meeting you both. Hope to see you again soon! Enjoy the rest of your trip and safe travels home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn880
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Loved the warm fire and cosy feel of the home. The property has been fitted to a high standard and Shirley made us feel very welcome. Appreciated having all the kitchen utensils and the modern bathroom.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
Thanks for the great review, it was a pleasure meeting you both. Good luck with all the weddings plans and hope to see you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee O
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely lovely cottage”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A really lovely decorated cottage, clean and welcoming for us and the kids. Shirley the owner was really welcoming and nothing was too much trouble as we could email with any queries and she would reply almost instantly.

As mentioned the cottage was beautifully decorated unlike any other cottage we have stayed in and well worth the money.

The location is lovely and has some lovely towns near by like Todmorden and Hebden Bridge, also close by to other large towns and cities for days out, with plenty to do.

Thank you for a lovely stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Thanks for the lovely review - it was great to meet you and your family and we are glad you had a good break. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomnjo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely house and excellent owners”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a lovely house to stay in. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the owners were extremely helpful and accommodating. We have a small child and they had a cot, highchair, stair gates and some toys for him which was amazing. The house was well equipped and we couldn't have asked for anything more. We would definitely recommend this property to others.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the great review. Hope to welcome you and your family again, it was a pleasure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing