We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely peaceful setting- the wildlife was a bonus” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oban Seil Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oban Seil Farm
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful setting- the wildlife was a bonus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Just returned from a stay at no 2 The Steadings- Isle of Seil. Ours was the middle of a row of three converted cottages within the grounds of the owners property with views from the grounds to Seil Sound. Comfortable accommodation and well equipped kitchen. We made use of the private mooring and pontoon which was a short walk from the property, where we fished and caught mackerel, had barbecues and used our small powered dinghy. We were lucky to see a sea otter, seal, deer, and even a dolphin all within meters of the mooring, the dolphin even swam up to our dinghy whilst we were in it. Lovely walks around the Isle from the door and plenty exploring on the other nearby Isles. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: The steadings are self catering cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue722011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vaccuous
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

Our stay was at No. 3 The Steadings, and our visit could not have been more perfect. Nick and Bette Hunter were completely accommodating but never over-bearing during our stay. They just left us to get on with it for the most part.

The views from the houses are just breathtaking too, with our house looking down on the sound of Seil and the mainland. We quite regularly found ourselves standing for extended periods of time just standing at the patio door looking out.

The house itself is beautifully finished with polished wooden flooring throughout, a very spacious kitchen with everything you could need as well as a large bathroom. There are two upstairs bedrooms (one double and one with two singles) and again these are very well presented.

The lounge has TV, video etc but we actually didn't use these much during our stay. The Hunters also offer Wi-Fi internet access, which was excellent for checking up on emails during our stay.

One major surprise we received on arrival was that pretty much everything by way of cleaning materials, kitchen foil, hand-soap etc were all in the house when we got there. This was another really nice little touch that separates Oban Seil Farm from any of the other self-catering places we've stayed in in this area.

This was one of the most relaxing breaks I or my partner have ever had, and I cannot recommend this accommodation enough. If you're looking for relaxation within easy driving distance of Oban (20 minute drive approx), Oban Seil Farm is absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vaccuous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

We stayed at Oban Seil Farm in No. 2 The Steading for a week just after Easter, and I couldn't recommend it more highly. The owner of the farm, Nick Hunter, managed to accommodate us at short notice (we booked with two days to spare) and he promptly replied to our emails and any questions we had before we arrived.

Before we left for Seil, I had read one review elsewhere on Trip Advisor that painted the cottages at Oban Seil Farm in an unfavourable light, so imagine my delight when we opened the door to our cottage and found everything we needed and more. The location is spectacular and the cottage is cosy, comfortable and homely.

I have stayed in many self-catering properties over the years, but this has been the only one to provide all the basics, such as washing-up liquid, dishwasher tablets, washing powder, loo roll, soap, shower gel, cleaning products, sponges, clothes, binbags etc... Sounds obvious, but so many places expect you to provide your own!

The house was clean, fresh and airy. There are ample heaters, although we were so lucky with the weather that we didn't need them! There's also a dishwasher, washing machine/tumble drier, all kitchen amenities you could wish for, TV and video, CD player, plenty of books, CDs and videos for all age groups, plus a big tub of children's toys. Electricity/heating is included in the price, and if you want the option of a cleaner at the end of your stay, the charge is £35. Otherwise, all the Hunters ask is that you leave the cottage as you found it. This is all clearly stated in the welcome letter.

Our cottage had patio doors opening on to its own self-contained mini-garden, with table and chairs. Although we plumped for the middle cottage without direct views of the Sound of Seil, we could still appreciate amazing views from our patio doors, garden and upstairs bedrooms. I can only imagine that the other cottages are even more breathtaking.

Nick proved to be the perfect host, just the right balance of helpful and leave-you-to-it. He checked we had settled in fine on our first night, left freshly-laid eggs outside our door on our first morning and offered lifts if he passed us on the road.

Being situated on a working farm, there's no shortage of animals - lambs gambolling in the fields, a pony roaming free and chickens galore. At the age of 29, I was enchanted… so kids would be super-excited! And of course, just a short walk in any direction allows you to wildlife-watch – the island is home to many animals.

I had never visited the Isle of Seil before - now I think it's one of my favourite places. Beautiful, quiet, remote yet accessible… it provided the perfect holiday. Oban Seil Farm only added to the island's charm and our great experience. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and will be recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

We were very lucky and, for the West of Scotland, the sun didn't stop shining all week. Oban Seil Farm is a genuinely delightfull location for a family holiday. The property was simply, but tastefully decorated and thankfully not full of dusty nic-nacks. We really enjoyed the pine decor and tiled floors (less dusty). The beds were very comfortable and we slept like logs all week. The kitchen had everything you could ask for and the shower, although not very powerful, produced hot water (what more do you need). Now, if you come to this property the decor (although nice) is not the main event (and why would you come to a self-catering property for the decor anyway?). The views are simply stunning, looking out over the Island towards the Sound of Seil and beyond. A short walk down to the shore gives access to a nice slate beach where lots of Otters had left their crab shells etc. Our daughters loved the farm, on the first morning there was a horse in the garden (or chicken yard as our eldest named it) and they enjoyed feeding them apples and carrots. Mr Hunter was a genial host, willing to chat and gave us some of their hens eggs. On the last morning he produced an abandoned lamb that needed looking after, our 4 year old needed no second invitation and it was the perfect end to the holiday. If you have kids under 12 this is a ideal place to spend a week in some of the finest landscape in the British Isles.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Seil
13.5 km away
Clan Cottages
Clan Cottages
#1 of 1 in Kilmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
10.4 km away
Lagnakeil Highland Lodges
8.2 km away
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Seil Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Seil Farm

Property: Oban Seil Farm
Address: PA34 4TN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Slate Islands > Isle of Seil
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Isle of Seil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oban Seil Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing