We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jorpeland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Preikestolen fjellstue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

The lodge is at the trailhead for the famous and very worthwhile Pulpit Rock trail. Staying here allows you to visit the rock late in the evening or early in the morning, when the crowds are less.
The cheapest rooms are very basic. Two bunk beds and a sink in an area maybe 9 ft by 6 ft. I have seen bigger jail cells. They provide a sheet, duvet cover and pillow case but you have to make up your own bed and strip it in the morning. The price is 520 NOK for one person for bed and breakfast.
The dining room is very nice with great views. The food is excellent but expensive. Fish soup, Chicken breast with cabbage and potatoes, and a bottle of beer came to 325NOK.
But the location IS stunning and maybe the quiet, the fresh clean air, and the view are priceless.
If you don't think so, consider staying in Stavanger or Tau and getting the an early bus up, or plan to leave on the last bus to avoid the crowds.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
Thank JOyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2015

We stayed one night here before walking to Preikestolen and it's a great location and very convenient. The staff at check in were friendly and helpful, and the room (for 5 of us) was OK, small but spotlessly clean. However it's a noisy place, with people outside talking till late and the thin walls mean that you can hear your neighbours very clearly.
We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was quite nice but very expensive and the service was awful. The place seems to be run by students and very disorganised even though there seemed to be lots of staff. They took ages to take our order, then after the starter took ages to bring the main courses, and had not taken the dirty plates way by the time the main courses arrived. Then took ages again to take the plates way and did not ask if we wanted dessert, and then we had to ask twice for the bill.
The breakfast was great though, lots of choice and delicious freshly made bread, and thankfully no table service.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank red101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Stayed here with family on our visit to Norway. I would describe it as a functional hotel / lodge, nothing glamorous about it. The rooms were pretty small - but they managed to put 5 beds in that room including some on an elevated position.
Its the closest thing that one can get to Pulpit Rock. The dinner options are limited especially if you dont eat fish or meat!!!
The surrounding area was pretty good for walks and hiking.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bijayendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

This mountain lodge is in the perfect location for hiking Pulpit Rock.
The path starts in their parking lot.
The breathtaking views are endless from every point in the lodge (reception, dining room, tv room, outside terrace).

The rooms with mountain view are great. (See pic from my room).
Everything from the comfy beds/pillow/comforter to the modern bathroom was wonderfully surprising!

The only reason i did not give a 5 star rating is because of miscommunication between management and the chef.
During my booking months before, i was told to email any special food requests a few weeks in advance. I did just that and specified 4 vegetarian dinners for both nights (several emails went back & forth with mgmt).
My mistake at check-in was not to confirm this request. So at our 8pm dinner reservation, the server told us the chef knew nothing about this request and had omly the side of veggies to offer us.
This not only made my family very upset but also put the chef under stress about giving us a proper meal which we assumed was communicated to him.
End result: the chef was able to take all veg options from lunch & dinner and serve us a delicious and hearty meal.
He also would be prepared for the next nights dinner too.

Overall this place is great. All staff were extremely friendly. Highly recommend this lodge to all who visit the Stavanger region.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank ANPWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015

The facility was old and room was really small, but because it's the closest place from hiking place and great transportation connection. I think it's great. It's clean and offers good breakfast and other meals on reservation. I want to go back again!

Room Tip: It's better to bring your own food because restaurant price is a bit high for us coming from far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhozho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We had booked a room at Preikestolen Vandrerhjem (a part of Preikestolen Fjellstue) for two people for one night, but we didn’t expect it to be so extremely tiny. Once we opened our suitcases there was no more space on the floor. The room had a bunk bed and it was very hard and uncomfortable. The walls were very thin so you heard people talking in the hall outside and it was a bit noisy at times. There was a small sink in the room, which was convenient. But there was only one shower on each floor and a couple more in the basement. The shared toilets were smelling and felt unfresh. Wifi worked well in the room.
Breakfast was included in the price and it was ok. They had a few different types of bread, cheeses, ham, herring, salmon, boiled eggs, a few different types of yoghurt and cereal and some fresh fruit.
Staff at the reception were nice.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

I stayed here with 3 friends after hearing it was a great starting point for the hike to pulpit rock, which it is! Our room was a room of 4 consisting of two sets of bunk beds with a large table, however there was a room of 3 which was only accessible through our room so not 100% private, however everyone is so friendly that it was not remotely a problem and we really enjoyed getting to know our neighbours! There was a shared kitchen and two toilets in our building and showers were in the building next door. Breakfast is included in the price which was great, including cereals, bread with a variety of fruits/ veg, meats and jams. Check in was quick and easy. There are many activities you can do here including canoeing/kayaking, zip wire, absailing and paddleboarding. We did both the canoeing and zip wire, both were great and didn't require prebooking and weren't too expensive (under £15). Transport to and from stavanger was easy, just a ferry and bus both using the same ticket and it brings you straight to the accommodation! We did not eat at the restaurant as we brought our own food knowing that the food in Norway was expensive. There is free wifi which works great at reception however not all the time in our room. Overall great place to stay if you want to try pulpit rock!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preikestolenowner, Daglig leder at Preikestolen fjellstue, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Hi Danielle
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. How fun to hear that you tried the zip wire and canoeing and that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back some other time, to try other hikes and activities. Have a nice summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jorpeland
15.3 km away
Lilland Hotel
Lilland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tau
65 reviews
25.7 km away
Byrkjedalstunet Hotel
Byrkjedalstunet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Byrkjedal
59 reviews
23.7 km away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Verkshotellet
Verkshotellet
#1 of 1 in Jorpeland
79 reviews
22.2 km away
Stavanger Pop Up Hostel
Stavanger Pop Up Hostel
#14 of 24 in Stavanger
24 reviews
10.6 km away
Hostel Ryfylke Vandrerhjem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preikestolen fjellstue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preikestolen fjellstue

Address: Preikestolvegen 521 | Pulpit Rock, Jorpeland 4100, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Strand Municipality > Jorpeland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Jorpeland
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabin lies in the hills of Ryfylke just near the Refsvatn lake, a beautiful, child-friendly area. There are several marked trails in the area, for example, the path to the Pulpit Rock. The new Preikestolen Mountain Lodge was opened in May 2009. The old Preikestol cabin was built in 1949 just beside the old Vatne mountain farm. There is also good fishing and swimming. There is a lot of activities in the area. We have rental of Canoe, kayak and SUP and we also have a 350meter ZIP-line ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing