We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
240
9
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
9
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water sports marine biologist one of a kind special thanks kids club dining table teppanyaki restaurant personal butler jet skiing other resorts sunset villa water pool villa main restaurant beautiful resorts every evening scuba diving well equipped gym
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 252 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Best location!Beautiful Lagoon!Each Villa has own private beach!Amazing Green Territory! Excellent service!High quality of food!Very professional stuff and therapists from Spa! Well equipped gym!Definitely we are going to come back!Thank you so much Velaa Private Island!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank nurzhanzhangir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
velaaprivateisland, General Manager at Velaa Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Nurzhanzhangir,

We most certainly appreciate your lovely review. Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your stay. We are aiming to provide
a truly unforgettable experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to meet your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us and it will be our privilege to welcome you back to our magical island!

Best wishes,

Michal Smejc
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Great vacation for family or honeymoon. More private than other resorts in the Maldives. The only recommendation we can make is to have additional restaurant. The signature restaurant was good, but required a specific dress code. And the main restaurant had the same menu as room service. The teppanyaki restaurant was absolutely delicious, but quite pricey.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Zulfiya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
velaaprivateisland, General Manager at Velaa Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Zulfiya M,

Thank you very much for finding the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Velaa Private Island and appreciated the privacy that our design concept offers.

I will pass on your comments to the culinary team who will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed our signature restaurant, they would love to be able to have another restaurant to showcase even more gastronomic offerings however as you can appreciate, we do not have the space to accommodate it.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our sunny shores in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Michal Smejc
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2018 via mobile

As we were going to be in India, we were urged to stay here by our daughter who was at Velaa for her honeymoon. She said it was most incredible - and she was not wrong. Velaa is the ultimate in a beautiful, secluded, relaxing, never-want-to-leave, close to perfect vacation spot. It is not easy to get to, nor is it inexpensive, but you do get what you pay for. Imagine a luxuriously gorgeous resort with warm, crystal clear turquoise waters where your every need has been anticipated - look no further, Velaa is that place.

Where to begin? We arrived by private seaplane from Male’ and were met by our butler, Lutefy. He made it very clear that we could and should call him 24/7 if we needed anything; to that end, there was a cell phone in the living room pre-programmed to call him. He promptly whisked us away to our overwater villa. (There are also beachfront villas but we were in a sunset view overwater villa. The resort has 44 residences.)

The villa is layed out so that every room faces the crystal clear turquoise water with full length sliding glass doors to the outside. Furnishings are clean and tasteful, with thick sumptuous towels and wonderful bed linens. Each villa is equipped with a sound system and pumped in music, though you can use the waterproof bluetooth-equipped speaker to listen to your own. The outside deck spans the length of the villa. It’s complete with a daybed with retractible canopy and muslim drapes, padded lounges, dining table, a large vanishing edge pool, and stairs down to the water. You can swim right from your deck, and as a swimmer, I was in heaven. The water and air were both mid-80’s which was heavenly; the Equatorial location provides consistent temperatures year-round.

The breakfast buffet was great, and we enjoyed chatting with our server, Nazriya from Khazackstan. For dinner, we chose to eat “at home” on our deck most evenings and were able to order anything from any of the menus - Lutefy delivered! We did go to “Maldivian Night” buffet. Being a vegetarian, I chose to eat ala carte, but my husband enjoyed the specialties. Food was very good, and the kitchen tried to be accommodating though I would have liked to see more vegetarian dishes on the menu.

We are very active and loved all of the complimentary non-motorized activities. We loved having bicycles and rode them everywhere day (and night) on the smooth white sand (lighted) paths. We also enjoyed the glass-bottomed kayaks and stand up paddleboards. Velaa also has a great, well-equipped fitness center. It was somewhat disappointing that they do not offer complimentary yoga classes as does pretty much every resort and hotel of this calibre.

The snorkeling off the beach at the reef’s edge is very nice, but I wanted to experience “the best,” so we did a private half-day trip to Raafushi Island, 45 minutes by speedboat. (Boat was equipped with wifi!) Along with our crew, we had Tess, one of three marine biologists employed by the resort. Tess did an excellent job guiding us in the water, pointing out marine life of interest. Snorkeling there was incredible - expensive, but worth it!

I especially want to commend the resort for the efforts they’re making to grow coral (currently five coral nurseries) and for the fact that they are trying to educate guests about the environment by employing marine biologists. Tess, Marin, and Freya are well-trained, knowledgeable and personable.

As someone who is deeply involved in conservation and environmental education, I spoke with GM Michael Smejc about what else the resort could do to be more environmentally friendly, and found him to be very receptive, for example, going to bamboo straws rather than plastic. (Might be even better to offer those only on demand.)

I am hopeful that the Maldives will survive long into the future. Velaa is an incredibly beautiful, well-managed resort. We loved our time there!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank LisaB157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
velaaprivateisland, General Manager at Velaa Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Dear Lisa B,

I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and your attention to every detail! 

I am delighted to know about your wonderful experiences during your stay with us. It is my great pleasure to read that you appreciated our facilities and the wide variety of activities on offer.

I have passed on your comments to the Culinary team regarding more vegetarian options and they look forward too you trying new dishes upon your return.

I am proud to hear that our staff and specifically your personal butler Luthfy made such an impact during your stay. We truly appreciate your comments with regards to our service.

Thank you once again for your lovely review. We really look forward to welcoming you back to Velaa one day!

Best regards, 

Michal Smejc
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2018

We went in February with our 10 year old daughter and all had an amazing time. The island is beautifully maintained and has all the facilities that you could wish for. We stayed in a deluxe beach villa which was spotlessly clean, very comfortable with a great layout both inside and out. I was pleased that we went for a villa as they felt more spacious and private than the water villas. Kalzhan, our butler, was extremely efficient and diligent throughout our stay and went above and beyond to help us do as little or as much as we wanted to do. We tried all the restaurants and were never disappointed by the variety, quality or service. We also rented a boat to go snorkeling on a nearby reef one day, tried out a Seabob and other water sports and everything was arranged seamlessly. The service and equipment always excellent. The ladies in the kid’s club were all lovely and took wonderful care of our daughter, keeping her stimulated for a few hours per day with swimming, games and arts & crafts. The spa treatments we tried were truly first class and the overall experience and facilities without doubt the best we have encountered on our numerous trips to the Maldives. The resort is expensive but what differentiates it from the likes of Reethi Rah, is the service, quality of people working there and a lot of little things that most resorts these days compromise on for commercial reasons. It is evident that a lot of money has been spent to try to create one of the finest resorts anywhere and if you are one of those people that want only the best, and are willing to pay for it, then you will no doubt enjoy Velaa as much as we did....

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
velaaprivateisland, General Manager at Velaa Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2018

Dear Nick N,

I would like to sincerely thank you for such a great review! We truly appreciate your comments!

It is my pleasure to read that you enjoyed your luxury villa, which not only met, but exceeded your expectations. We work hard to WOW our beloved Guests and it makes me very proud to know that we have achieved our goal.

I am glad to learn that your personal butler Kalzhan made such an impact during your stay with us, please rest assured that his dedicated and professional service will be rewarded.

It is my delight to know that you tried all of our restaurants and they were up to your liking. Our talented culinary team upgrades the menus regularly so I am sure there will be new gastronomic offerings waiting for you on your next visit. I am also happy to see that you appreciated the variety of our activities, from the spa and water sports to the Kids Club.

Thank you for choosing us and for allowing our dedicated team to delight you during your holidays! It was our privilege to host you!
We all look forward to welcoming you back to Velaa one day!

Best regards,

Michal Smejc
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2018

Excelent location and hotel, superb service. Very nice architecture, perfect privacy. The ideal place for dicng as well as snorkeling. I can recommend the restaurants, the hotel is ideal for quiet family holiday, enjoying sea ańd sun and quiet relax.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JaroslavO16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
velaaprivateisland, General Manager at Velaa Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2018

Dear Jaroslav O,

Thank you for your kind words.
It is very pleasing to know that you appreciated the Velaa concept.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our paradise!


Best regards,

Michal Smejc
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews