We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Degli Dei... La dolce Vita”
Review of Club Med Napitia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Napitia
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Pizzo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Costa Degli Dei... La dolce Vita”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Just love this place, short drive to Tropea, with all the bells and whistles. The drive down the Coast of the Gods is one you will not soon forget.... La Dolce Vita

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tropheum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    734
    305
    151
    64
See reviews for
1,175
195
57
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Me, my partner and our 6 month old daughter went to this resort on the last week that it was open for the season. We booked specifically for the daycare and baby facility's which started off well. We were greeted by the Go's with cocktails and taken to our rooms, which were very dated! But after reading reviews on here, I fully expected it. They told us there would be a welcome meeting at 7 that night, it was 11am so we decided to go for lunch and have a look around the resort, there was certain things that we could of done with knowing during these 8 hours so why it was left this long I don't know!

In our building we had a great baby room with a steriliser, boiled bottled water on tap, this made life so easy for us so imagine how annoyed I was when 2 days into our holiday they locked it up! No one thought to tell us this was going to happen and I was told I had to go to the other side of the complex and use that baby room (a 10 minute walk) which I needed to use every time my daughter needed milk or water and sometimes in the middle of the night! And what made it worse was that the steriliser didnt work, so i had 2 days of using non sterilised bottles washed in foreign water. After being fed numerous excuses (we're trying to save electricity being my personal favourite) I managed to establish that the steriliser had broken and they didn't want to replace it so close o the end of the season!

After many discussions with probably one of the most irritating, obnoxious individuals I have ever met, going by the name of Gianni, "the chief of the village" and getting no where, I finally agreed with his wing man (as we named in) that we would switch rooms, and to go an pack our bags and they would come fetch is. After running around like lunatics for half an hour, they knocked on the door and said the baby room in our building would be reopened within the hour!

On top of this, they closed 2 out of 3 of the resturaunts, the pool bar (there was another pool but it didn't have a shallow bit to sit with my daughter in) and it always appeared to be closed for cleaning anyway. And all in all I felt that what I actually got was a £300pp teletext holiday with a daycare facility.

On a more positive note, the daycare staff were excellent, however I don't think the ratio's were to our expectations (3 staff, 16 babies), and the food was lovely!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pennypopsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We will never go back to this resort.
Our room had two twin beds despite our requesting a double. Our baby was provided with a travel cot in the corner of the room. Our sheets were stained. The bath room was stained and tatty and outdated. The aircon did not work. The room in general was very run down and needed complete redecoration.
The whole club med ethos was very butlins/hi-di-hi although this may just be a personal preference thing.
Two of the three restaurants were closed as it was towards end of season and the only on left open was like a motorway service station cafeteria. The food was good and so was the wine. Thank god.
There were two pools. One was taken over by the GO's who played incredibly loud music and danced around the pool in the style of 1990's magaluf.
The other pool was lovely but miles away from the bars to get soft drinks during the day. There was supposed to be a bar at this pool but they closed it as it was towards end of season.
The beach bar and restaurant was also closed due to the date!! We were not warned of any of this before we book and paid full price. We complained but nothing was done (except a complimentary bottle of champagne which does not help with the choice of a place to eat when the only restaurant is incredibly noisy and we had a 4 month old baby).
Finally, they closed the baby room!! This was also due apparently to low occupancy but there were 5 babies on our corridor! We complained and then 4 days later they re-opened it - one day before we were due to leave.
The baby club room was nice and clean and well staffed although the girls working there tended to look very bored by looking after babies and the first 3 out of 4 times we went in to pick up our son he was strapped in a bouncy chair screaming his head off and no one was paying the slightest attention. We complained (very politely) and thereafter he was being cuddled and played with every time we went in.
Overall we got to read our books and relax by the nice pool for a couple of hours a day whilst our son was well looked after so we did manage to enjoy this part of the holiday. However, the evenings were very disappointing and we ended up eating in a hurry as early as possible, stashing some wine and heading back to our room to relax in peace on the tiny terrace outside our room.
We will never go back and would warn anyone against going to this resort.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We are a family of a pregnant mum, a dad and a 20 month old. We were at Napitia for the last 10 days of the resort being open this year, My husband has been to other Club Med resorts when he was a teenager but not to another 3 star one.

We were very happy with the accommodation (family bungalow) considering it's only 3 star. The rooms were comfortable, had comfy beds and everything worked well enough for us (air conditioning wasn't great, shower leaked a bit and some of the curtains were stained).

The restaurants were very nice and food absolutely delicious with plenty of choice even for our fussy daughter and pescatarian me.

The bonus was that there were no other resorts on the beach, just Club Med and then only sand and sea in eacgh direction for as long as you can see.

During our visit the resort was full of families with under school age children and older people. it wasn't very busy but I can see how during the high season it would have been too busy for us to be able to relax properly.

Also we were not made aware that for the last week two the three restaurants would close plus one of the pool bars, which was very incovenient since this pool had a shallow bit for children and it was too hot for the kids not to have access to drinks. It was a bit sad too to see small children going up to the bar and not understand why they suddenly couldn't get a drink from there.

the staff were great and very helpful. They were not very informed of what was going on with changes though and only knew about their area of expertise. I.e. receptionist didn't know about mini golf, Baby Club staff didn't know about babysitting (it was organised through Petit Club) etc. and the information boards had the old information for the last week so it took us a couple of days to reliase what was going on (should have read the leaflet that was put under our door...would have been nice to be told about it though for example during the welcome information session only 3 days before the changes).

The baby club (4 - 23 month olds) was great most of the time. Our 20 month old was a bit too old for it though and we think would have enjoyed the next club up even more. But it was fine and she had a good enough time.

All in all, we had a great time, got to relax and eat way too much and came back all tanned and relaxed.

Room Tip: Family bungalow had 2 twin bedrooms with a bathroom in the middle and a terrace. The music in the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We have taken our holidays with Club Med many times and in the past three years we have been to Kamarina, Bodrum (twice) and Albion (twice). Yes, this club is only 3 tridents but it is still a bit disappointing. The whole complex seems old and tired; some of the paths are cracked and uneven, the buildings are old and the rooms are set out dormitory style.
On arrival we were very disappointed but as the week progressed there are several good things too.
If you choose this resort be aware that there are LOTS of children (500 this summer at peak time with 1000 adults) which makes it very noisy. Impossible to have a meal anywhere without tripping over high chairs.
We were there for the last two weeks of the season, but in the second week it was already starting to close down. Although there are lots of negative points we have had a good enough holiday, just not as good as the Club can be at other resorts.
Good Points:
*The walk to the beach is lovely through woods, takes about 10 mins and the beach is wide and spacious. There is a nice relaxed bar and pizza restaurant.
*The Pool Calabria is lovely and clean and a shallow area for children.
*The rooms are kept clean as are all public bathroom areas.
*The food is very nice and generous but quite repetitive.

Negative Points
*No Welcome. GO staff generally couldn't really be bothered.
*In our second week the Terrazza restaurant and the bar restaurant were closed as it was end of season. This meant everybody in the Bouganville restaurant which was more like an office canteen but noisier and more chaotic.
*On changeover day (Monday) with a lot of people in the bar waiting to leave, there were only 2 bar staff working and no-one cleaning tables.
*The beach was not clean, cigarette ends and bits of plastic lying around.
*The main pool was closed for 2 full days and 3 half days for cleaning problems.The water turned green.
*The travel desk staff were not particularly helpful or welcoming.
*The Reception staff were useless : we complained 3 times that our air conditioning in the room wasn't working, they said that Maintenance men had been but then admitted that because the weather had got cooler, they had turned off the air con for all the rooms on the whole site! They just weren't bothered with the organisation of anything.
*Wine with meals was not a good standard, rose was never cool although kept in the frig.
*Our room assigned on arrival smelt of mould and we had to wait till the following day for a change : the cleaners said it always smelt and should not be assigned to guests. The GO who took us to the room said to put our son in there instead as "Young people wouldn't notice the smell"

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I booked this mainly for my husband, as he wanted to have water sports & tennis readily available - & from previous experience tho many years ago! - we were sure Club Med could deliver. In this we were not disappointed - & as I wanted a warm sea to swim in - then that too was fine - except when the sea was too rough to actually get into easily! The food was not quite as good as we remember - but pretty good so long as you weren't too late into the restaurants.
I have 2 complaints - the noise level whenever any entertainment was on, & the huge number of small children - you needed to be careful to avoid being run over by the buggy traffic! I did realise that with all the child facilities on offer, families with tiny ones would be plentiful - its just that there were SO many.

Room Tip: Away from the theatre as its noisy at nights - until nearly 11 pm, although a notice says to be quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwenCOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Well, this is our third club med holiday (after Hammamet and Palmiye) in as many years and yet again ClubMed delivered on all fronts. The resort is beautiful and well designed. There are two swimming pools. The one near the main restaurant/bar does not have a shallow part so we used only at the one near the Terrazza restaurant. It was lovely and there were lots of kids for our daughter to play with.

Before we arrived I was a bit apprehensive about the accommodation but that proved unfounded as we had a lovely triple room in the Russelia building, with a well appointed bathroom and a lovely shaded terrace. Not the Ritz but definitely a good 3* standard. As for the food, well, it was the usual club med very high standards – so we really enjoyed it. We usually had breakfast at the Terrazza and dinner at Bougainville and for lunch would alternate between all three restuarants. There is a wide range of foods for kids to enjoy, from pizza, pasta, fish and vegetables as well as the usual burger and chips.

In terms of activities, we did a lot of sailing and we found the sailing team knowledgeable and helpful. There also archery which is set in the most amazing pine forest between the village and the beach. There are hammocks and classical music playing in the forest which was a nice touch and provides some nice cool shade when it gets hot in the middle of the day.

I found that compared to other club meds, the GOs were not as visible but actually that was not a bad thing and it felt like a quieter resort which we really enjoyed. Being school holidays other customers were mostly families. The first week was mostly French customers and the second week more Italians, but there were always enough English speakers so our daughter would have some friends to play with both in the mini club and in the pool. Talking about mini club, the staff there do a fabulous job with the kids and for the first time our daughter could not get enough of it which was a big difference with previous years when she was not always too keen on going to Petit Club – maybe it’s an age thing.

So all in all we had one of the best family holidays and I can only recommend this resort for people with kids.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DelB_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pizzo
8.4 km away
Piccolo Grand Hotel
Piccolo Grand Hotel
#2 of 11 in Pizzo
206 reviews
37.1 km away
Villaggio Club Baia del Sole
4.4 km away
Hotel Marinella
Hotel Marinella
#8 of 11 in Pizzo
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Porto Ada Village - TH Resorts
23.9 km away
BV Borgo del Principe
BV Borgo del Principe
#1 of 11 in Zambrone
509 reviews
2.0 km away
Valtur Garden Calabria
Valtur Garden Calabria
#2 of 2 in Acconia
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Napitia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Napitia

Property: Club Med Napitia
Address: Contrada Difesa, 89812 Pizzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Pizzo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pizzo
#1 Green Hotel in Pizzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Napitia 3*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calabria, has its own authentic charm and delightful beaches. Embedded in an enclave of bougainvilleas and exotic plants, the hotel and bungalows in the Club Med Village of Napitia are distributed over 20 hectares of luxurious flower gardens bordered by a forest of pine and eucalyptus trees. Follow the path down through the sweet-smelling pine forest to the beach. Inspired by la dolce vita, you can choose to dedicate yourself to sports or to discover the joys of taking it easy the Italian way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Napitia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Napitia Hotel Pizzo
Club Med Pizzo
Napitia Club Med
Club Med Calabria
Calabria Club Med
Club Med Napitia Pizzo, Italy - Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing