We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hideaway Beach Resort & Spa(Dhonakulhi Island)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$658
US$628
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vashafaru Inn(Vashafaru Island)
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Waadhee Inn Vashafaru(Vashafaru Island)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Holiday Home Kelaa(Haa Alif Atoll)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Book now, pay at stay
US$39
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$206
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (1,095)
Filter reviews
1,095 results
Traveller rating
1,011
69
13
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,011
69
13
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla hostsunset water villasea planeour honeymooninfinity poolhead chefmale airportfishall inclusive packageseaplane ridegolf buggyevery mealrecommend this resortour favouritemanagement teamout of this worldfood and beverage
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,095 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Where do I start....

I received excellent communication from the JA team before I even left UK.
As soon as we landed in Male, we were met by a JA rep who took care of everything. Checked in and got our boarding pass for us for the seaplane. We were then transferred in a 4x4 car to the private JA lounge to wait for the seaplane. The lounge was amazing with shower facilities, breakfast and drinks. They supply you with a tablet, ear plugs and a fan for the journey ahead.

The Seaplane was an experience with beautiful views. JA is at the north end of Maldives 30 mins from the Sri Lankan border. Because of it's location, this is a very private resort with no ocean traffic. 70mins seaplane journey. Managed fine with my wife and 11 months old daughter.

When we landed at the resort jetty, we were greeted by the management team. Very nice touch.

Rameez our experience host was great and looked after us throughout the trip. Sorted everything out for us, making our trip hassle free. He took us to our water villa (buggies are driven throughout the island taking people around when required). He was so kind, he gave my daughter a leaving gift...truly unexpected.

We checked-in in the room and only saw the hotel reception at check out! The staff really do go out of their way to make your stay magical.

We stayed in a sunset water villa. I cannot recommend these more. Made the trip even more special. The room is gorgeous. Would recommend a sunset over a sunrise villa as you get most of the sun. The villas near the infinity pool are the best (200s). I can't begin to describe the room, it is simply wow. Was absolutely fine with our daughter. JA is one of a kind as many resorts would not allow babies on the water villa. She was absolutely fine. Plus JA provided us with a pushchair so we did not have to fly with one. True service in my eyes. Amazing bed, amazing hot tub with a view, amazing rain shower, amazing private infinity pool. Room even had a pillow menu!!

The room has a full mini-bar which is replenished daily - alcoholic drinks included. We had AI - though even with the expensive Maldives resort prices, I reckon half board would have been cheaper (the wife didn't drink as much). There is a breakfast buffet, with lunch and dinner as a 3 course meal chosen from an Al a carte menu. Food is impressive. I think 4 restaurants to choose from so not too repetitive.

As first time divers and not big swimmers, the house reef and sea life was a great beginners experience. if you are looking for sea world type creatures, you won't find it here, but I don't think a resort can have everything.

Wifi works a treat throughout the island.

Departure, again was effortless. We had a leaving party. Again, private transfer to the airport from the seaplane terminal and the JA rep left us at the security gates, after ensuring we were checked in.

The resort is absolutely beautiful. It is a paradise. The staff are absolutely lovely. I can't name all but a few include Rowyne who rocked our baby to sleep so that we could eat our lunch, Yasin, Shiyam and Buddika for giving us and my daughter endless entertainment (and cocktails), the scuba diving team and Pasha for his dive experience, Aazim for looking after us at breakfast, Sri at Andiamo for making us feel like VIPs, pradeep for his amazing culinary skills. The Head chef was a true gent and made sure we and in particular my daughter were looked after. Preetam is a masterful chef and always prepared freshly cooked food for my daughter throughout the week. Thank you so much.

There are not enough words to describe our experience with JA. When we booked our Maldives holiday, we said we would likely never go back. JA has definitely changed our minds and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: sunset water villa near resort infinity pool (200s)
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, General Manager at JA Manafaru, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear Amit S,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us at JA Manafaru.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the spaciousness and comfort of our Sunset Water Villa with views over the iconic Indian Ocean but also that you had the opportunity to try our different restaurants, where you can find a superb food quality with a wide range of options.
Thank you also for your compliments about the service provided throughout the resort, which makes us feeling very proud of our day to day job. Our associates strive everyday to ensure our guests an unforgettable stay.
The Experience Host Rameez, the Food & Beverage team, Rowyne, Yasin, Shiyam, Buddika, Aazim, Pradeep and Preetam, the diving instructor Pasha they have been very proud to be nominated in your beautiful review.
Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. The entire team is looking forward to welcome you again at JA Manafaru whenever your travels bring you back to the Maldives.

Yours sincerely,

William Harley-Fleming
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

The overall experience of my stay in JA Manafaru was excellent in its all dimensions ( the service, water activities, food quality and so on) except the location from the main Island and expensiveness.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank russom2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, General Manager at JA Manafaru, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear russom2018,
Thank you so much for sharing such a glowing review about your recent stay at JA Manafaru.

We are pleased to read that you felt unique thanks to the high level of personalized service our entire team provided you during your stay. We pride ourselves on creating memorable experiences for our guests. We are also delighted to read that you were charmed with the food quality and the water activities.
Thank you. We deeply hope that we will have the chance to welcome you once again at JA Manafaru, in our “corner of Paradise”.
Your sincerely,

William Harley-Fleming
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights in the sunset water villa.
Ja Manafaru excedeed our already high expectations! From the early pre-arrival emails till the very final farewell at the airport gates, manafaru staff got it all covered.
It was our first visit to Maldives and we were so happy for having chosen Ja Manafaru among so many top tier resort options. Why?
- Island landscape: perfect size, not too big, not too small, nice sands all around, away from Male.
- Hotel quality: goes without saying, everything top tier (architecture, rooms, pools, restaurants, gym, water aports, gardening, bikes, all facilities).
- Staff: maybe the priority at Ja is client satisfaction and “here now” feedback. Any issues resolved efficiently and quickly. Everyone greets you with a warm smile. Special thanks to our experience host/water vila butler Mangal, who was always readily available to book and resolve every request; reservations staff who made it possible to book a very nice sunset vila; photographer @schunna (take a look at his insta) who made an outstanding job, going beyond the “contractual” package and focusing on such a memorable photo and video experience - would highly recommend that since Maldives is so unique and pricey!; cleaning staff Hussain (very sweet to us, rooms cleaned twice a day!) and Shyju (resolved a leaking problem immediately); restaurant/bar staff Simhaz, Netra, Amhal, Wadi, and others which we could not recall the names, congrats for such a warm and efficient treatment; Spa massagist Yona, best massagist I’ve ever experienced, look for her when booking at Calm spa (the Spa itself is an attraction, very beautiful entrance); Bea at the diving center; Ahulam at the airport; and all the management staff who constantly asked us about feedback.
- Thoroughness: one of my favorites...they’ve got all covered. No need to worry about any loose gaps!! Congrats to management. Examples: Arriving in Male a JM staff welcomes you and takes care of everything. Before taking the seaplane you are taken to the exclusive JM lounge at the airport, with a/c, wifi, tv, showers, buffet, cold refreshing towels...you are given a welcome pack with an ipad informing everything about the resort. Gym: with a/c, small towels, apples (loved that), high quality equipments, bar with wey, power juices, etc...Ice bucket filled twice a day by room service; golf cars take you to and from anywhere (bikes are great quality too). I could write forever here, but the bottom line is: end to end 1st class service in every aspect of the experience.
>> What could be improved: almost nothing, probably because we harvested many previous feedbacks :). Details here only: dinner couvert breads at White Orchid and Andiamo could be improved. Aim Ocean Grill bread which was deliciously fresh and hot. Tennis court floor is carpeted, Im sure any tennis player guest would prefer a hard or clay surface (good news though are: good shade, night lights, rackets and head atp balls provided (but we took our own gear), cold water bottles and towels also!). Pricey bars and restaurants but quality goes accordingly. Budget travellers should look for other resorts.

Bottom-line: Ja Manafaru deserves its reputation, if it fits your budget, book it and forget! Thanks so much JM staff for giving us the best vacations ever!! Worth every $.



Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mauhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, General Manager at JA Manafaru, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear mauhara,
Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at JA Manafarui. We are so happy to receive such a great review as your satisfaction is our motivation. We are glad to read you enjoyed our Restaurant options, our Spa, all our activities and our genuine kindness towards our guests.
I will pass your kind comments to Mangal, Shunna, Shyju, Simhaz, Netra, Amhal, Wadi, Yoni Ahulam and the whole team and I am sure they will be thrilled to know that they were able to make a difference.

We look forward having the pleasure welcoming you back,
Sunny Regards

William Harley-Fleming
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Very good on-site service with JA marafaru. But the sale service is so poor that I really doubt about our happy time on the island. When we found we lost two hundred USD after we were back in SG and my son left his jacket in the room, we wrote to our service host and received no reply! Thiree weeks passd. We can understand that the money lost maybe not able to be verified, but we simplly cannot accept the way they deal with complaints.

Room Tip: Take good care of you wallet and maybe you can never expect that you can get after-sale service.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank liutielei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, General Manager at JA Manafaru, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Dear liutielei,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at JA Manafaru, and I am indeed delighted to read that you enjoyed the services on the island.
I am very sad to hear your concerns about our guest service after your departure. As per our records, our Assistant Front Office Manager did reply to your son’s email on March 18th and I am sorry to hear that this was not communicated to you. Furthermore, we have also proposed to replace the jacket but the offer has been declined.
With regards to the lost money after an intense investigation, we could not find any ground for your claim. Reason why we always advise all our guests to use the in-villa safe box.
Once again, thank you for your observations and I sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back in order to amend your latest views.
We look forward to such in the not too distant future.

With kind regards,

William Harley-Fleming
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

This was our first trip to the Maldives as a family of 4. We stayed in a Sunset Water villa. Highly recommended.

The place is amazing and although it was almost full, we never felt it was crowded and always felt we had the island to our selves.
The staff of JA Manafaru make all the difference. Of course the place, location, marine life, hotel services are amazing. The management are there to greet you when you arrive and again when you are leaving.
What made our trip even more special are two people who always gave us attention and care like no one else.
Our experience Manager, Mourad, had always been there for us making sure we are enjoying every minute of the vacation and always giving us ideas where to go and what to do so we make the best out of our stay.
Equally the restaurants manager, Romani, seems to be everywhere all the time taking care of everyone with a pleasant smile and no matter which restaurant we decide to have dinner at he is there checking that all is great and takes the time to stand with every table to ensure the guests are well taken care of.
These examples show how committed the staff are to ensure you have the most amazing stay.
The villa attendant, Falaah, also did a great job keeping our room tidy at all times.
The food was always tasty and the food presentation is as luxurious as it gets. Great job chef Moussa.

The staff play football daily and guests are welcomed to join. This was amazing for my son who loves football.

Here are few quick tips for travelers:
* Sunset villa was better for us as sun doesn't wake you up early and it stays for longer.
* We went for the half board which worked best for us.
* Calm SPA treatment is highly recommended.
* Seaplanes fly only from 6 am to 6 pm so plan your trip well so you have enough time to reach the island in day light.

A big thank you to everyone at JA Manafaru Maldives who helped us enjoy such an amazing vacation.

Room Tip: Sunset water villa is much better as sun doesn't wake you up in the morning and stays longer.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ossama E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, General Manager at JA Manafaru, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Dear Ossama E,
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, we were pleased to welcome you to JA Manafaru.
We are happy to read that you had an amazing time at our resort enjoying the overwater experience in your villa.
The whole team is delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, very touched and happy that you enjoyed their service, which comes from the heart. Romany, Murad & Falaah thanks you particularly.
We are delighted that you found your part of paradise at JA Manafaru.

Once again thank you for your comment that goes straight to the heart and we hope to see you very soon in our enchanted island.


Warm regards,

William Harley-Fleming
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews